rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Dunlop 418P.88 Tortex Standard .88mm Green Guitar Picks 12-Pack Reviews

5.0 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop 418P.88 Tortex Standard .88mm Green Guitar Picks 12-Pack?

Questions about the Dunlop 418P.88 Tortex Standard .88mm Green Guitar Picks 12-Pack?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Maryland, USA January 30, 2017Music Background:
    30+ years in the musical hobby

    Perfect for a Thicker Pick Feel

    These green Tortex picks are just the right thickness for that thicker pick feel. Not too thick but just right for the right tone with a "thick" pick gauge.

  • from Skunk Stink Holler, KY February 8, 2016Music Background:
    Y'all don't need to be askin' me 'bout my particulars, ok?

    Y'All's Service is Downright Inspirational

    Howdy, folks,

    I ordered a bunch of them Dunlop 418P Turtlex guitar picks--they work real good when I'm playing the bass mandolincello, which, as you all must surely know, has 8 pretty high-tension strings. Anyway, right 'bout two weeks ago I broke one durin' a solo version of Foggy Mountain Breakdown at a revival meeting. Mighty embarassin'. So I had this busted pick, and I right quick remembered the Sweetwater two-year guarantee. I called my own Sales Engineer, Matt Kreager, and told him of my trials and tribulations. He offered to set me up with a replacement pick, but I said, No, sir, that pick has been with me for almost eight months. It has my palm grease, my sweat and maybe even some tears worked deep into it. It's like an extension of my fingers and my soul, I said. I can't put it out of its misery just 'cause it's broke.

    Matt, bless his heart, understood. I sent him the broken pick and by gum if he didn't have it back to me in one piece in three days! And he did such a good job of fixin' it that I can't even see where it was originally busted. Now that's what I call All-American workmanship and Service!

    Sweetwater will always be my go-to place to pick up musical stuff for my original music Applachia bluegrass band: The Cottonwood Quintet Minus One. (We had ta' add "Minus One" cause Cletus got caught by the feds making 'shine out in the woods. He'll be back with the band in about 120 days.) Way to go, Sweetwater! And way to go, Matt!

  • from January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby

    Awesome

    These picks for me are great. I have tried others and they where to soft or to hard. I like how they feel overall

  • from Mishawaka Indiana May 28, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Just Right

    These picks are perfect for me. They are thick enough for palm muting, but not too thick that they distort the sound when strumming

  • from Albuquerque, NM May 13, 2014Music Background:
    Former Pro Musician, Current Hobbyist

    Best Picks Out There

    For years I used celluloid picks--often Fender--and they certainly did an adequate job. But then someone introduced me to Tortex picks and I knew right away that I'd never go back to celluloid.

    Of course, picks influence the sound in various ways, depending upon the material they are made of. Tortex picks glide over the strings smoothly, less percussively than celluloid picks. Consequently, they yield a more natural string sound. (Those who prefer a very bright sound, may be disappointed.) In addition, in a way that's hard to describe, they just feel right as you hold them. They are also less slick, so it's easy to keep a grip on them. These things are incredibly durable, too.

    I initially experimented with several different Tortex picks. I liked the 0.73 mm (yellow), and to my surprise, for some things I also liked the 1.0 mm (blue)--a heavier pick than I would usually go for. But the best all-around compromise for me turned out to be right in the middle--the 0.88 mm green picks. Nice balance between flexibility and stiffness for both rhythm and lead. Sometimes I will go with the slimmer yellows for strictly rhythm playing, however.

    Note that I've only used these on electric guitars, as I generally play purely with the fingers on an acoustic, so this review pertains to their usage in that regard.

  • from Show Low, AZ October 8, 2013Music Background:
    Former weekend gig player. Now a hobbyist.

    Tortex Mean Green

    I've been using these picks for about 30 years! I tried others before I found these mean greenies, but nothing else lasted or had the response that the Tortex's do. They're flexible enough for rhythm and stiff enough for lead. And like I said, they wear like steel!!! They have a great feel and grip. I don't plan on ever changing!!!

  • from Niota, TN June 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist player and engineer

    The perfect pick!

    30 years and hundreds of picks later, I've finally realized Tortex picks are the best picks on the planet. Perfect tone, perfect grip, perfect feel... they can't be beat. The only question is-- which is the right gauge for you?

    For my money, the .88s can't be beat. Thick enough to give you a full tone, yet thin enough to still be flexible and reactive to your picking style.

    Easy to keep your grip and will last forever, there is a reason so many guitar greats play Tortex.

Questions about the Dunlop 418P.88 Tortex Standard .88mm Green Guitar Picks 12-Pack?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway