0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Dunlop 418P.73 Tortex Standard .73mm Yellow Guitar Picks 12-Pack Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop 418P.73 Tortex Standard .73mm Yellow Guitar Picks 12-Pack?

Questions about the Dunlop 418P.73 Tortex Standard .73mm Yellow Guitar Picks 12-Pack?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Los Angeles February 14, 2016Music Background:
    Musician

    Yellow Tortex

    My favorites for Bass and Guitar. I mainly play bass and these picks have the right amount of stiffness and the right amount of flexibility to get that great sound. Duff Mckagen also uses these!

  • from San Diego,CA U.S.A February 6, 2016Music Background:
    wherever tasty loud guitar is needed!

    awesome product!

    Ah yes! opinions of the best guitar pick,right? The Tortex .73mm yellow is my all season all terrain
    right hand trigger, that feels right for my style of rhythm and lead playing from all styles of live gig situations that I've been thrown into. if your reading this,your bound to find your trigger sooner or later. Dunlop is an awesome company with an arrays of selection. Give this .73mm trigger a shot, it might end up being yours as well. The plus side of this is,its easy to find in dark a stage if accidental drop happens cause its yellow...

  • from California March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro guitarist, playing for 41 years

    Excellent picks

    Buying into the conventional wisdom that thick, unbendable picks are ideal for fast, technical playing, I've been using thicker picks (.88 - 1.5mm) for years. I recently started experimenting with thinner picks and found the tone to be much better with a pick that gives a little. I tried a lot of medium and light gauge picks, and found that these yellow tortex Dunlops sound and feel the best. Highly recommended.

  • from Florida June 4, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist for 14 years.

    My go-to pick

    Tortex lasts much longer than celluloid, and .73 is the perfect thickness for me. Great for rhythm and good for solos. I use the Dunlop .88mm Tortex Jazz Picks when I want to play my fastest solos. I'd recommend trying a few different thicknesses to decide which is most comfortable for your style of playing.

  • from vancouver WA December 16, 2010Music Background:
    play for church

    grate picks

    about 6 years ago i started useing this pick i love them so much i will not use any othere guitar pick ill find a place to bye one befor ill use a friends thin pick i do play hard so i have messed alot of them up but there amazing picks the print will come off the first time you use it... i really would like to see the print raised up...as maybe some grip idk just a thought but over all amazing i will never use any othere guitar pick!!!!!

  • from Las Vegas January 12, 2017Music Background:
    Beginner Guitar

    I love these

    Perfect thickness and texture. Definitely try them, I still can't decide if I like these or the orange better.

  • from san diego, Ca October 15, 2014Music Background:
    semi-professional musician

    My old standby

    I have been playing this particular gauge of dunlops for years. I recently lost all my picks at a show and had to pick up a set of the fender purple celluloid ones. BIG mistake. I would play a few songs with the band and they'd break.

    I just ordered these again. i love these.

  • from Michigan August 20, 2014Music Background:
    In a band and have been playing for about 7 years.

    Best Pick to use.

    These picks have always been my favorite to use, whether I'm playing electric, acoustic, or bass guitar. They are the exact thickness I would need for lead or rhythm kind of playing. For bass these picks allow me to move fast and yet still have a gritty punch to my bass tone, plus they don't break like other wimpy and thinner picks. This thickness is also not thick enough to just sound like I'm thumping the string with like a "rock" hard thick pick, which anything above this thickness I tend to really really hate. So, all in all this is the best pick I'd say to use for acoustic, electric, and bass guitar. Reliability, sturdiness, and inexpensiveness are the 3 qualities these picks have.

  • from Wisconsin April 15, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The Standard

    These have just the right balance of stiffness and flexibility. I use them on electric and acoustic guitar, for rhythm and lead, and on bass guitar. I don't have any problem hanging onto them either, no matter how sweaty my hand gets. My only complaint is I can wear the tip down flat in a set of high tempo songs.

  • from July 9, 2015

    My Go-To Pick

    I play a handful of different styles on guitar, but I spend the most time playing anything in the "rock" category ranging anywhere from classic rock to metal. A lot of people who play similarly will use picks that are thicker (1.0 - 2.0mm) but I find that the Tortex material in .73mm makes for a very close equivalent in feel to a 1.0mm standard plastic Dunlop pick. What it lacks in mass, it makes up for in grip. The material itself has a very good grip and I have rarely ever dropped one of these picks.

    Another positive thing about the material is that it has a somewhat versatile attack, although it mostly stays within the range of what I would consider "medium attack" as far as sound goes. The material is slightly soft and grippy with some give under hard, fast picking.

    It starts to fall behind under really heavy, full, fast strumming. Most songs don't call for the type of strumming I'm talking about, but if you play one that does, you'll notice your fingernails taking some of the brunt of what your pick should be taking.

    Another drawback of this pick is that the tip wears down relatively fast. If you play a lot, you won't keep one of these for a super long time. Personally, I think the feel of this pick is worth the wear so I continue to buy them.

    I have used and will continue to use other picks as I discover them, but this one has been my go-to for years now and probably will not be upstaged any time soon.

  • from Riverside, CA June 11, 2012Music Background:
    simi pro musician Project studio recording

    Tortex brand picks

    Theres not a whole lot one can say about picks but, I can always grip these no matter how long or hard I'm playing. While some manufacturers are starting to sell picks only in 144 gross, you cans still by dunlops in a12 pack which is great.

  • from Portage, IN February 10, 2012Music Background:
    guitarist for Church Worship Team

    excellent picks !

    I had been a celluloid pick user for years until I tried these tortex picks. Great picks! My only complaint is they are not very easy to hold on to compared to celluloid, but I made my own grips using self adhesive, fine sandpaper, and now are much easier & comfortable to hold on to. I've tried Dunlop gel picks also, but prefer these over them.I may never go back to celluloid again. You gotta try these picks !!

Questions about the Dunlop 418P.73 Tortex Standard .73mm Yellow Guitar Picks 12-Pack?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway