0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Grover 406C Mini Locking Rotomatic Tuners - 3+3 - Chrome Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Grover 406C Mini Locking Rotomatic Tuners - 3+3 - Chrome?

Questions about the Grover 406C Mini Locking Rotomatic Tuners - 3+3 - Chrome?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Georgia December 9, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Excellent tuners

    I dropped these into my older, Peerless built Gretsch 5129. The string holes accommodated my thickest string, .052, without a problem. Others have said that nothing thicker than .046 will fit through. Grover must have recognized this problem and solved it. Also, others have had their high E strings break. Mine hasn't broken yet. It's a .10 gauge E. The tuners feel great and work as advertised. Tuning stability is much improved but it's not perfect. The usual culprits, the nut and the bridge, are not the problem. It must be the Bigsby itself - no surprise. Overall, adding these tuners was an excellent and inexpensive upgrade

  • from Geneseo, IL September 12, 2016Music Background:
    home recordist, gigging musician

    Just What It Needed

    Arrived on time. I was frustrated as the tuners on my main gigging guitar had started to slip even after adjustment. Ordered these on a Wednesday got them Thursday, had guitar ready for gig on Friday night. Had removed one of the old tuners and gotten all dimensions previous to ordering. These dropped right in and lined up perfectly. Had no experience with these automatic locking tuners. But they work and work great. No more having to re-tune every other song during a gig. Will consider using them as replacements on some of my other guitars when needed.

  • from Denver April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Embarrassed to say 40+ years and still gigging

    Great Tuners!

    Another GREAT recommendation from my long time sales representative Chris McCown. Recently purchased a PRS SE 24 30th Anniversary model. Stock tuners were "OK". Chris recommended the Grovers as a do it yourself project. I am not a DIY kind of guy, and normally take these types of mods to my local luthier. But I was amazed and surprised, PERFECT drop in fit, easy to install, completed this myself with string change in under 1.5 hours! Makes changing strings a breeze. Best of all - they hold great tuning... This is my first set of locking tuners. Could not be happier!

  • from Myrtle Beach March 4, 2016

    Certainly works as advertised

    Changed the tuners on a used PRS Custom 22. It was already 2 years old when I got it from a friend. The tuners on the PRS wasn't bad at all but I wanted something that would lock the strings in place without changing the nut to a locking type. While not the best Grover has to offer, these babies worked great on this guitar! Very happy. And install was very easy since these are made to match up with most guitars and fit perfect on the PRS. Plus, buying online from Sweetwater makes it easy and painless as it was with every purchase from them!

  • from Sarasota Fl January 31, 2016

    great tuners

    installed on my PRS SE C24 perfect fit and work great

  • from January 21, 2016

    Perfect fit

    Fits perfectly in my PRS. Great improvement over stock tuners.

  • from Texas October 31, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar

    Great tuners!

    These are great tuners. They do their job flawlessly. Also, these are a direct replacement for PRS SE models, no drilling new holes in the headstock. They hold tuning very well and do not slip. One thing I did find out through research is the holes on these will not accept anything larger than a .046 gauge string without modification. I was okay with this because I run .009-.042 strings.

  • from seneca, sc. July 19, 2014Music Background:
    been playing for 45 yrs.

    best locking tuner today

    I put a set of 406c mini..on my prs singlecut se, prs and no drilling, just replacing factory tuners.easy, easy, easy. And no returning..joe

  • from lowell, indisna August 13, 2016Music Background:
    professional musician

    good tuners

    as always grover tuners work well i had to drill pilot holes bcuz i bought the wrong ones. All work fine except the low e and i think it might be because it's new strings.

  • from February 24, 2016

    Great Replacement for PRS SE Custom24

    Great tuners. No drilling needed for PRS SE. Stay in tune well. These are a must have for this series of PRS guitars.

  • from February 8, 2016

    Great Fit and Function

    I bought these to replace the tuners on my PRS-SE245. Perfect fit; even the screw holes all lined up. I don't really like the mini knobs, so I just swapped the knobs off of the PRS factory tuners and put them on these and they fit perfect as well.

  • from SW Fla August 1, 2015Music Background:
    Lifetime player

    Love 'em

    Bought these for my Jackson JS-30KE Kelly. They are a close fit due to Jackson's thick headstock, but considering you don't wind the string with these it's no problem. String changes are a breeze now even with the crazy angle at the nut and tuning is much more stable even with lots of deep bends (this guitar is a hard tail).

  • from Oak Ridge, TN March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Easy drop in replacement

    Purchased a set of these grovers to replace the tuners in my PRS SE Korina. I was very pleased with the ease of installation and locking mechanism.

  • from El Paso Tx December 25, 2013Music Background:
    Musician for 27 Yrs.

    The Grover 406C Mini Locking Rotomatic Tuners - 3+3 - Chrome

    Great locking tuners ,they really do work. Just drop them in place of the PRS Paul Allender SE or any SE guitar.

  • from January 4, 2017

    Quality Stuff

    Easy to install, pay attention to location of screw hole when ordering. Work pretty well but not flawless. Didn't achieve my goal which was keping my PRS in tune for more than 10 minutes as others had success with these. I think the Problem is that PRS SE uses very light weight wood that is more susceptible to temperature changes beyond that its a mystery. My Ibanez stays in tune for literally months. These are nice although i would prefer a larger knob.

  • from January 28, 2016

    Grover 406C tuners

    At first, I had difficulty getting the strings in the tuners.(My fault) Once I got it started ....it went well. I still find that 2nd,and 3rd strings "seem" to still slip a little. I think it is old strings that I will change out.
    Otherwise...I am well pleased and Sweetwater and my rep was excellent as usual and expected.
    Thanks

  • from New jersey December 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Easy tuning

    Installed these tuners on my PRS se model and they are working great. Makes string change really easy all you need is a coin to loosen the thing but tighten a string is a breeze as the mechanism auto locks some how. My only complaint is that the bushing snap while installing and I'm certain I wasnt applying excessive force so be careful that worried me but they are working for now

  • from Bexley, OH May 10, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Misleading

    got this for my PRS so i can lock the strings especially in my lower tunings. The tuners don't even fit a string bigger than 46. don't waste your time or money find a better kind

Questions about the Grover 406C Mini Locking Rotomatic Tuners - 3+3 - Chrome?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway