0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Mackie 402VLZ4 Mixer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie 402VLZ4 Mixer?

Questions about the Mackie 402VLZ4 Mixer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from PA May 31, 2017

    Great addition

    I needed to expand my present mixer/amp to add two more Microphones. I work at a church with an old Bogen amp that only had a total six mic inputs. We wanted to add two more mics, but didn't want to purchase another amp at the present time. This amp worked great because I was able to add the two mics by using the playback/Aux input. I have two mics and the CD playback running through this Mixer into the Bogen's Aux input. Everything works great at an economical price.

  • from Birmingham, Ala. April 27, 2016

    4 Channel Mackie Mixer

    Out the Box into the Setup, Used for Phantom Power to Ambient condenser Crowed Mics and
    Yes were Blow away by the immediate results.

    Also has line level RCA outputs and Adjustable headphone for monitoring.

    Must say quite a lot in a solid package, for a small amount of money.

    Thanks SweetWater your team did it again!

  • from January 24, 2016

    Mackie Still Delivers

    I've been buying and using Mackie gear since their old "TAPCO" days, and have always been impressed by the quality and reliability they offer.

    When I needed a basic 4x2 mixer for monitoring my DAW, I didn't have to look any further than the little 402VLZ4. It's like a "Swiss Army Knife" when it comes to usability, with two great mic pres, basic EQ for two channels, and a punchy headphone amp. I also have an older 1202-VLZ unit which I've had for many years, and it's never given me a bit of trouble.

    While other companies continue to cut corners, I feel that Mackie products still represent quality and reliability. I don't think you'll regret buying anything in their VLZ series.

  • from Illinois June 25, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur audiophile.

    Mackie 402VLZ4

    This is a simple mixer but of very good quality. Inputs 1 and 2 can be mic or line and have low-cut and 2 band equilization before either being added to the stereo bus as stereo (1 to left, 2 to right) or panned (both mixed into left and right). Inputs 3 and 4 are line inputs with 3 to the left bus and 4 to the right bus. It is high quality for these features and works well for mixing two mono inputs into a stereo input, with a very quiet stereo output.

  • from Marietta, GA, USA May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Musician with a day job

    Mackie 402VLZ4

    Great product! I put this to work immediately after getting it in the home studio and at our first gig. Very handy for routing my mics and guitars thru to the main mix.
    Still waking up at night with new ideas of how I can use it.

  • from Detroit, Michigan area March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Voice talent and engineer/producer

    Mackie (And Sweetwater) Makes It Work!

    I had to replace an older Mackie 12 channel mixer when one of the mic channels stopped working. As always Sweetwater came to my rescue and Dave Brow had one at my door in the blink of an eye. I love the Onyx mic pre's and Mackie quality speaks for itself. Just another reason why Sweetwater is the best!

  • from acton, ma January 24, 2014Music Background:
    obsessive hobbyist

    primo

    rough & ruggid - proper components - prim

  • from United States January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Does Everything I Thought it Would

    A great mixer with super pres. Better than my Roland interface by far. Just upped the sound in my little studio with this easy addition.

  • from Broomfield, CO October 30, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician and recording engineer.

    Solid value and functionality

    Pros:
    Extremely high build quality
    Heavy steel construction
    Smooth controls
    High quality jacks
    Mini-XLR power connector
    Wonderful sound
    Low price
    Cons: at this price, can't think of any!

  • from CA October 25, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Very nice little piece of gear !

    Built to last, all the quality expected from a Mackie in a little package.

  • from Springfield, IL October 7, 2013Music Background:
    Live Radio DJ and Party DJ/MC

    A+

    This is a GREAT little mixer perfect for the traveling Dj. I needed a way to hook up two wireless miss and this was it!! It's perfect! Service and shipping was AWESOME!

  • from February 10, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar/Production

    Nice

    Very clean and transparent

  • from January 2, 2015Music Background:
    Home recording studio owner

    It's good!

    The last tiny mixer I had was a not-so-great Behringer. This one feels much more solid and the audio quality is excellent.

  • from United States August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Great mixer for keyboards

    I'm very happy so far with the Makie 402VLZ4 mixer. While it's less mixer than one would need for even a trio, I use it as a "submixer" it and has solved an immediate problem for me, allowing me boost the signal from my Nord Electro keyboard. (The Nord has a notoriously low output signal and I was getting swamped on gigs even with Nord and my QSC K10 cranked). The gain knobs allows you to boost or attenuate each of the two mono channels (1 & 2), while the Level and Main mix knobs control the relative mix of the channels and overall level of the signal out to your powered speakers. As a multi-instrumentalist, If I want to add an additional keyboard or acoustic guitar, I can do that within my own submix and send the signal to my personal powered monitor and from there to the house board if I need to do that. While I don't generally use it, the 402VLZ4 has a single stereo channel (3 & 4), which is great for sending a stereo keyboard to a pair of powered speakers or to the house PA if desired. Unfortunately, there is no gain knob on that channel, so if you need that, you can send R & L to 1 & 2, engage the pan button on each channel and pan hard left and hard right to give you stereo from a pair of mono channels. My one complaint about this line from Mackie (and just about everyone else marketing mixers) is that they oversell on the number of channels. This is essentially 3 channel mixer (not a four) and one of the channels is stereo, thus limiting you to two mono channels.

  • from Amarillo, TX USA August 22, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    The perfect little workhorse

    I mostly needed a small mixer for vocal support at my band's rehearsals. I was previously routing through a cheap interface into computer speakers for this, but recently got my hands on nice powered loudspeakers.

    So, I needed a little mixer to run things. The 402 was perfect. It was much quieter than my previous setup and is extremely easy to use.

    The EQ is helpful as is the ability to hook up an iPhone to listen to previous rehearsals or a cover tune we are working on.

    Plus, this guy is stocky and tough, which is sure to pay off!

  • from CO June 30, 2016Music Background:
    None

    Not for Dummies

    I needed a simple mixer and thought this one would be rugged and reliable. Unfortunately I couldn't tell what the buttons did, everything still worked no matter what position I put them in, so when I thought I was shutting off an input, nothing changed. The documentation is worthless. The hieroglyphics printed on the face of the unit are not described anywhere. The unit does mix well and the outputs are clear. The tape-in inputs switch on and off as expected, and music is mixed without distortion. I'm not an audio engineer so I really don't know much, but this mixer did little for my education.

  • from April 29, 2016

    Rugged

    Wish it had 4 real channels.3&4 are grouped together.No audio out feature--

  • from Ohio August 5, 2016Music Background:
    Performer. Many years, many bands, many gear experiments.

    Mackie 402 VLZ4

    I wanted a tiny mixer to run my own monitor mix for my instruments and voice on stage. The 402VLZ4 is a cute little unit. But the wall-wart style power supply failed after two short gigs. Mackie skimped on that essential component. Even though I only need two channels , I'm going to switch to a larger mixer (Mackie or other manufacturer) with a more substantial built-in power supply instead of a wall wart.

Questions about the Mackie 402VLZ4 Mixer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway