rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Mackie 402-VLZ3 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Perfect for a small amount of inputs and outputs. Mackie mixers are rugged and they sound great. The Mackie 402-VLZ3 is perfect for your desktop music or video system, or for the live musician who does not need a massive mixer. You can't go wrong with this little guy.

  • from June 20, 2013

    Perfect for minimul needs

    Works great. Very compact. Easy to use.

  • from Fort Worth, TX April 11, 2013Music Background:
    DJ, sometimes Audio engineer

    Superb, quiet clean little mixer

    This is part of my small rig for small DJ gigs. So simple yet sounds clean without adding noise. I have two of these and like them both.

  • from Rapid City, SD USA January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist,

    Good use for mackie 402VLZ3 mixer.

    I got a Mackie mixer 402VLZ3 for my Event Speakers so I Can use the level of the sound. Coming from my Apple Airport Express in my bed room. Works good sound very nice.

  • from San Antonio Texas May 3, 2012Music Background:
    piano/keyboard musician

    mackie 402- VLZ# mixer

    Just the ticket if you need just a couple of mics from one source and won't to record and be able to monitor with head phones just what I needed for my Yamaha Tryos and PA system.

  • from Long Island NY March 15, 2012Music Background:
    Musician over 45 years. Active church worship guitarist since for 35 years

    Great little Mixer

    I needed a new mixer for my recording setup. I only need a few channels to keep some stuff connected without plugging and unplugging all the time. This guy is perfect. It's quiet and simple. You can't go wrong with it.
    One bit of advice.Learn a lesson from me. If you're trying to decide between this and a Behringer, like I was, don't waste your money. Get the Mackie. They have the best track record.

  • from Decatur, IL April 26, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good mixer,Great price

    I use my 402-vlz3 as an interface for emu soundcard in computer.
    I have to say that mixer is quiet. preamps are warm, and live up to the claim "studio grade" as mentioned in product description. great mixer for the price. i like the on/off switch also.

  • from Toms River,N.J. October 18, 2008Music Background:
    Veteran keyboardist,workstation programmer,recording fanatic & vocalist.

    A small wonder of a mixer

    I bought this mixer as a signal splitter to run audio from my Zoom 8HD to both my secondary monitors & my cd burner & the preservation of the audio signal is remarkable for a mixer of this size!

    This tiny wonder has all of the build quality of it's bigger brothers & the level of fidelity for a mixer of this size & price point is staggering!

    In my opinion,Mackie reigns supreme amongst all value-priced mixers in this range,due to the level of quality & features....Mackie is a trusted name without question,& that's a beautiful thing!

  • from May 21, 2013

    Mackie 402-VLZ3

    Bought this to play bass along with practice tracks, metronome, drum machine, etc. Works great, operates quietly, and quality construction - Hey it's a Mackie !
    The built in Instrument preamp sounds very good, no need for a DI. Love the seperate volume for headphones. Excellent practice setup for the bassist that needs to practice through headphones and have control over various types of musical sources.

  • from May 3, 2013Music Background:
    As above

    Horses for courses, as they say.

    I play guitar, keyboards and sing to my own backing tracks so for me or anyone doing what i do this little mixer is perfect.
    Add on a Mic Mechanic for vocals and a quality powered speaker and it's difficult to see where you could make improvement..

  • from Bronx, NYC January 9, 2013Music Background:
    DJ, Prod. Sound Mixer, Port. Recording Engineer

    Solid and Basic

    As a DJ, sometimes you need to add an extra mic or a bit of gain to boost an underpowered output and this little mixer is perfect for it. As DJ rigs get smaller, I can just toss this in my bag and be prepared for any connection situations. I wish it had a LF EQ on the stereo 3/4 track, but other than that, this this is great. Great clean ins, super clean and punchy outs. For 100 bucks, it's the best little budget mixer to get if you are trying to pair it with any 2 channel recorder or interface.

  • from hawaii November 28, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    really worth the money.

    This is a great buy works as promised and cheap pricemakes it affordable. I like its simplicity and size.

  • from hoguitars@comcast.net August 25, 2009Music Background:
    Performance, recording, live sound. sales, service

    Long overdue equipment

    This piece is a near perfect addition to my gear closet. The pre-amps
    make all my active and passive instruments a perfect match for recording.
    The only improvement, would have been some insert point for effects,
    for live performance. Overall, a very efficient piece of equipt.

  • from Houston July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 30 years

    Excellent for its purpose

    Clean, quiet and efficient. 4 input channels plus stereo RCA inputs makes it 6 channels in my book. The preamps sound nice and clean. My only suggestion for improvement would be mute buttons. I use the mixer live for vocals and acoustic guitar and i wish i could mute the mic channel when playing acoustic instrumentals.

  • from Portland, OR USA April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Decent Mini Line Mixer

    Good quality. Solid. Plenty of gain and strong quiet output. Simple. Lacks channel mute buttons and -20 dB input level indicators found on most other Mackie models. Unit ;as received, had no output on Ring conductor for balanced output, so I had to use unbalanced putput.

  • from Chicago, IL July 29, 2011Music Background:
    Profession DJ

    AWESOME!

    Great piece of gear for mobile deejays! Clean sound! Does the job!

  • from Minneapolis October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, audio engineer

    Works for me

    This product does what I needed it to do; clean headphone mixer for practicing bass through headphones along with audio from my computer.
    The instrument switch, on channels 1 & 2 are useful in this application, eliminating any need for a DI or pre-amp for my bass, plugging straight into the channel. The switch changes the impedance of the input, matching it to the output of my bass. I think for the price point, Mackie has a fine product. I've tried cheaper brand mixers with less than acceptable results.

  • from Fl December 7, 2010Music Background:
    Pro musician,recording production.

    one little detail

    Been using small Mckie mixers for years. This little one could solve some gig problems. Only one problem.... no insert or loop for effects or outboard gear. Can't imagine anyone wanting their vocals totally dry. Or for my use as a submixer,adding compression or more detailed EQ. With this corrected I would grab one without hesitation.

Questions about the Mackie 402-VLZ3?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway