rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Barcus Berry 4000: Planar Wave System Reviews

3.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Barcus Berry 4000: Planar Wave System?

Questions about the Barcus Berry 4000: Planar Wave System?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • rudy hopkins
    from florida September 16, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/chhurch musician

    Planar Wave mic

    the planar wave system for our church Grand Piano, is everything I expected. It gives us the depth of tone we needed. Thanks guys.

  • Customer
    from March 5, 2013

    Great for Sound Effects

    Bought for recording sound effects. It sounds unlike any other contact microphone I have ever heard. Quieter than the trance audio mics to my ears.

  • Jeff TIlden
    from Bettendorf, IA April 29, 2015

    Easy to install and delivers the goods!

    I was in need of a method to mic a grand piano for use in a monitor feed for a choir. Due to the physical layout of the area, it was not possible to orient the piano to direct the sound towards them nor was it possible to open the lid wider becuase of sound managment within the sanctuary. While I would not classisfy the Barcus Bery pickup as translating the richness of the piano as well as a set of carefully placed condenser micrphones, I would emphaisze it is quick and easy to atttach to the soundboard. The resulting tone is crisp which places well in a mix.. I have used the BB pickup in the past for FOH reinforcement with excellent results. Very easy to get an acoustic piano to set in the mix with this setup.

  • Tim Nicholson
    from Columbia, SC October 31, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Barcus Berry 4000 on Yamaha C7

    Clarity is much better than the mic we had. Overall good sound ... it's going to take some more time from sound engineers to balance the pickup to the room to combat some of the tinniness. Overall, we're happy though.

  • John Deards
    from California September 20, 2006Music Background:
    Live Audio Engineer

    bbe

    I like using the BBE on Piano because I can use it to feed the pianist monitor and not have a feedback issue. Sometimes the piano needs to be shut, using a couple SM91 and the BBE I can acheive a very warm not electric sounding Grand Piano.

  • hbavguy
    from Silver Spring, MD USA April 28, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, musician

    Great as isolated pickup, but very thin sound

    Great way for micing piano without any bleed from other sources, but as others have noted the sound is very thin and tinny even on our fairly nice Yamaha grand piano. Tried different pickup locations on the sound board closer to the bass strings, but didn't help at all. Massive EQ on the console helps a bit, but just not the same as a good full-spectrum mic.

  • Ryan Clark
    from United States May 6, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Difficult to EQ...

    I ordered this with the impression that I could effectively fine tune the mic-ing situation with my piano in my Worship Center. My sound tech, Media/IT guy (with previous sound experience), and I have tried just about everything we know and cannot get a good mix with this mic. Just not what I expected.

  • Customer
    from September 27, 2015

    Very Tinny Sound

    Bought the 4000XL system for our church piano and am very unhappy with it. We have tried many different positions and have severely utilized the EQ on our board, but can not get rid of the VERY tinny sound.

  • Customer
    from March 1, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    too bright and thin

    I was looking for something to mount inside a grand piano so that when we moved it we wouldn't have to worry about repositioning the mic. I followed the installation instructions and the tone was very thin and bright with little to no low end. Tried placing the mic in different spots and doing some dramatic eq-ing on the board to no avail.

    I quickly returned it and will take a look at mounting a boundary mic or using a small diaphragm condenser since that's what we were using in the past and it sounded much better.

  • Richard Riley
    from Sacramento, CA November 1, 2005

    This is a great product for the price. Hi output and lo noise. You can just leave it attached, very handy. It sounds excellent, I'm having trouble deciding whether I like it better than my large diaphram condenser or not. I also have an amt m-40.
    I like this mic better.

Questions about the Barcus Berry 4000: Planar Wave System?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway