0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Alesis 3630 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Provo, Utah March 13, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    AWSOME UNIT

    This compressor sounds great - better than compressors cost 3x as much. It's easy to use without sacrificing control, and the price is fantastic. I use it on speech all the time in recording situations, and it virtually eliminates red-lining problems. It even makes a decent mastering compressor, if you cant afford a tube based unit. The only way it sounds boxy is if it is set wrong or if the acoustics of the room are bad.

  • from pittsburgh pa November 7, 2008Music Background:
    artis/producer

    i luv it

    works great easy to use

  • from Toronto, Ontario, Canada November 23, 2010Music Background:
    keyboards in classic rock/DOORS bands - part time.

    The Sky's the "limit(er)"

    In our classic rock band, I often use a Yorkville powered mixer with 2 Peavey SP 5 Mains (just purchased) and 2 Yorkville 12" woofer / horn monitors. A friend sold me his new Alesis 3630 for a steal, and although I knew very little about compression functionality and settings, I decided to integrate it with my system. The 2 channel functions are perfect for adjusting the mains (mono) and monitors (mono) seperately.
    At our next gig, I wasn't too happy with the sound, I had used the -10 DB setting since the manual recommends that for most applications. However, as soon as I switched to + 4 DB, I had to reduce volumes and gains, since my system sounded like the 1812 Overture! Feedback occurrence was substantially reduced, even when the vocalist grabs his mike at the top, and the vocals now sound full and ballsy for both monitors and mains. I can even hear the mains in addition to the monitor!
    I'm still fine tuning some of the settings, and our lead vocalist is now adamant that we use the compressor, since his vocal style now depends on it - he can growl, scream, sing all he wants, the compression both gives him the freedom, yet also keeps any peaks in line.

    Great product, especially for PA applications!

  • from illinois July 13, 2010Music Background:
    studio cat

    16 years

    One of the fist pieces of gear i bought for the studio. 16 years later, after constant use, it finally fizzled. Imma buy me another one. set it on "peak" and "soft knee" and it stays out of the way. can't get a better bargain.

  • from Indiana January 11, 2009Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer / Bassist

    Simple & transparent

    I love this unit...it gives you an easy to use format while still giving you full control to shape the compression however you like. It doesn't really color the sound at all either. Two thumbs up!

  • from Byfield, MA October 2, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Live & Recorded Sound

    The Live Gig Compressor

    Go to a local club and look in their rack (OK find a live music club still in existence first!) - your bound to see at least one if not four of these pumping away in it. Why? Economical, pragmatic, useful. Their solidly built and simple to use. Would I use it to record? ...well a local live gig maybe - and if you WANT to actually get an overly compressed sound on something (which is nearly everything nowadays anyway, right?) then why the heck not! But admittedly not my "go-to" studio compressor.

  • from VEGA ALTA, PR September 14, 2008Music Background:
    STUDENT

    AMAZING!!!

    WELL WORTH ITS PRICE. BOUGHT THIS COMPRESSOR ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND FIND IT TO BE A PROFESSIONAL PIECE OF EQUIPMENT. EASY TO USE, AND IT EVEN BRINGS SOME VERY DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS THAT CLEAR THE WAY FOR THE USAGE OF A COMPRESSOR... I WOULD RECOMMEND IT EVEN TO THE MOST NOVICE OF ENGINEERS OUT THERE, AS I AM ONE OF YOU GUYS TOO. IN CONCLUSION, COMPARED TO THE PRESONUS THAT I ALMOST BOUGHT BECAUSE OF THE PRESETS (NO KNOBS)... THIS ONE IS FAR MORE VERSATILE IN WHAT YOU CAN DO WITH IT IN THE STUDIO... OHH, AND IT EVEN HAS GATE... A PLUS...

  • from Cleveland, TN September 19, 2008Music Background:
    Professional engineer

    Colors sound

    I installed this in a church just before their CD recorder to maximize the volume during spoken passages. Functionally, it's perfect for the job, it keeps the music from clipping, but also boosts the spoken parts to be intelligible all the time. But I give it low rankings for its sound, which is boxy, and very colored. It takes the crispness out of the top end, and sounds very similar to the PreSonus ACP-88. All in all, it's great for features, but if you're picky about sound, there may be another brand you'll like better.

Questions about the Alesis 3630?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway