0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Great River 32EQ Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Great River 32EQ?

Questions about the Great River 32EQ?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Chicago July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer

    Excellent EQ

    First let me say that this piece is built like a mini-tank! It's by far the heaviest 500 module of all that I have. Solid, needless to say. Love this EQ for tracking vocals. Once you get the sound you want and record it, I found I barely do any other EQ to the vocal unless its subtractive. The filters on this unit are excellent!

    I've A/B the EQ 32 to the UAD Harrison EQ and matched settings as close as possible and the EQ 32 BLOWS it out of the water! Its most evident when you compare the filters! It's not even close. Great unit, great price, great addition to my lunchbox. I think you'd enjoy it as well.

  • from Austin TX October 29, 2013Music Background:
    Producer

    Great tool universally

    Hi audio heads,
    I've recently purchased the Great River Harrison eq in the 500 series format.
    I'm finding it quite useful globally.
    It plays well with my other stand out pieces.
    (BAE 10 series modules, API pres and EQ's, and my SSL 500 series eq)
    The Harrison style eq fits well between the intense nature of the SSL and the impact flu API EQ's.
    It shines on vocals where I've been missing a subtle helper.
    Additive hi end still stays mellow on vocals, and the reduction of upper to low mids is very strong.
    A great addition to anyone who's printing treated sounds to tape or hard disk.
    The variable hp/lp function is amazing on snare.
    Dime 80hz(shelving) on an eq patched before the GR Harrison and filter out the rumble as you wish with the HP filter, yet retaining a fat snare with a tight leash!
    Good stuff, good price

  • from Missoula, MT USA October 28, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and Project Studio Operator

    True Believer

    It took me a while to integrate these into my workflow. The most significant thing about them is that when I do incorporate them into a mix, the clarity of the track and the ability to isolate each track's sweet spot in the mix is superbly easy and audible. Through my own laziness, I generally have relied on my DAW's EQs due to the ease in which they can be added. Using these EQs, I have to patch them in. I only have two of them, thus I also have to re-record a track back into the project. This is why I tend to get lazy. But, when I go through the effort, the sonic difference between these and the "in-the-box" EQs is amazing.

  • from long island, ny April 30, 2012Music Background:
    recording engineer, A/V/L tech

    quick review

    good sound. great eq for helping shape a tone. the filters do a lot but they are touchy.

  • from Hagerstown, MD April 11, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Musician

    A "No Brainer"

    Having never heard this product prior to purchasing it made me very nervous. My Sweetwater sales rep, did a great job explaining the charactoristics of this and other 500 series EQ's, which prompted me to purchase this one, and I am extremely glad that I did!

    I am in the middle of tracking and mixing a CD for a local band and decided to go back to some of the tracks that had already been mixed and try out this EQ. First up, kick drum... I already had a nice, tight kick sound with plenty of low end and definition, but I wanted to see if the Great River 32EQ could do the same. I patched it in, and with a little tweaking, voila, the kick sound was even better!

    Next, I tried it on bass guitar, and again, I heard an improvement in the sound.

    Vocals were a bit trickier, and I found myself using the Great River 32EQ on many of the tracks, but not all. It didn't make any track sound worse, but there were instances where it didn't make any marked improvements either. In all fairness to Great River, my signal chain for the vocals was through premium equipment and the original tracks don't need much (if any) work to make them sit well in the mix.

    The Great River handled both clean and distorted guitars very well, allowing me to dial in different sounds as needed.

    In general, this is a "great" EQ and I will be adding another one soon. It seems to be much smoother sounding than other EQ's, and does add some sublte (very pleasant) coloration of it's own. I am now in the process of remixing several tracks using this EQ. I wish I would have purchased it sooner, but that's water under the bridge.

    One word of caution... even though this is marketed as a "parametric" EQ, be aware that it is not fully parametric. The user is not able to adjust the "Q" for any of the bands. This is not necessarily bad, because Great River did a fine job of picking an appropriate Q.

    All I can say is, "Buy it!" It is a great addition to any rack.

  • from OKC, OK March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Artist, Music Producer, Pro Musician, etc.

    GOOD LORD!

    I write this as I swallow my pride with these EQ processors. I had tried going towards other brands (i.e. Maag, API) folks this EQ processor allows the user to easily access the low/mid/high frequencies and its really great once you get that EQ setting just right. Well I've been testing various EQ's for vocals on ribbon microphones and without a doubt I can say for certain that the Great River Harrison EQ's are the best hands down. There are others I'd like to try but the moral of the story stick with what you bought first instead of going on some wild goose chase trying to find that ever allusive sound as it were. Face it chances are if it doesn't sound right its probably something you or me are doing. That being said, I highly recommend these EQ's and I will cherish them.

  • from New york January 15, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    so good I bought another one

    I love this eq. The feature set is amazing for a 500 series eq with hi/low pass, 4 bands and q or shelf on the top and bottom bands. This eq has performed stellar for me on everything. Great for cleaning up a vocal, adding a little umph to drums, or sweetening program material. When I looked to get another eq for my lunchbox I found the one I had so versatile I ended up just getting another and will probably continue till I have 6 to 8 of these bad boy's.

  • from san francisco, ca September 26, 2011Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Awesome EQ!

    This EQ does everything - transparent hi/lo pass filters (can be bypassed separately from the eq), 2 controls for the mids, and hi/lo shelving/peaks makes it so versatile that I don't think there's much this unit can't do. The word surgical is overused by appropriate here.

    It took me a while to realize what I had until I started cutting the highs with the lowpass filter and dialing in a peak with the high control... Icepick in butter! Same with the low end - just cut below 30k and shelf around 150K - your bass sounds huge and tight at once! And with your 2 mids you can effectively cut 400k and add some low attack at 1k, while still having control of your highs and lows, too.

    The unit comes in stock "vintage" mode which is warm and definitely imparts character. If you open it up you can switch to a "modern" sound that is transparent, but I am really liking the color this imparts and have plenty of plugin eq's for the latter sound. You can't go wrong with this baby!

  • from europe June 26, 2011Music Background:
    producer

    an incredibly good eq

    so I was on the lookout for a VPR EQ that had: atleast 3 bands, both fixed LP and HP and in/out buttons. this is it. really, look no further, grab this and you will be happy. its as creamy as the best icecream.

  • from Lexington Park, MD January 7, 2010Music Background:
    Studio Owner (D2C Studios), Musician (Odin's Court)

    Very Smooth EQ!

    I just got a 500 series lunchbox, and after many hours of discussion with my sales engineer Stuart Niven - and a constantly running inner dialogue - I decide that my first card would be the Great River 32EQ. Great decision!

    So far, I've only tested it out on a kick drum and the electric bass guitar. It was easy to dial in the perfect kick tone to fit in the mix, and it sounded so natural! The bass was no different - I could carve out the frequencies getting in the way of the other instruments and beef up the bass to hold sub sonics and beef up the bottom end. Very smooth! I can't wait to try it on guitars and vocals.

    It's also very easy to use. 4 parametric frequencies (low, lo-mid, hi-mid, and hi) plus low and hi pass filters are a perfect combination to shape or even do some crazy things to get a track to fit or stand out in a mix. You can variably dial in the frequency and the boost/cut. You can turn on/off the pass filters independent of the 4 parametric settings. The lo and hi-mid can each be switched between a shelf or peak. So I find it to be very flexible as well.

    One thing to note - it doesn't come with anything - just the card and some screws to mount it in the 500 rack. I couldn't find a manual on their website either (the 32EQ isn't integrated into their product line menu yet). Though I emailed Great River, and Dan replied within a couple of hours directing me to a one page operating sheet on their website in the news section (he said they are doing a more extensive manual for the future).

    I know what my next purchase will be - another Great River 32EQ! I wouldn’t mind filling up my 500 series lunchbox with them! Thanks Stuart! And thanks Dan / Great River!

    - Matt
    Odin's Court
    D2C Studios

Questions about the Great River 32EQ?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway