0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Taylor 314ce Grand Auditorium - Natural with Cutaway and ES Pickup Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
  • from midwest May 4, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro

    Value can't be beaten

    Great gigging guitar. Stays in tune, almost zero intonation issues. Dependable. I can found on this guitar to come through, and while certainly expensive, it is nice not to have a 3k guitar at a gig, this is the perfect middle ground. Dollar for dollar this guitar is hard to beat.

  • from Las Cruces, NM March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Amazing quality and sound!

    Nothing bad to say about this guitar. Amazing craftsmanship, quality, and tone woods combine to make a phenomenal guitar. My sales rep steered me towards this model, and I'm completely satisfied and sold on Taylor guitars. Thanks David! It looks great, it sounds great, and it just really is a great guitar all around.

  • from Indianapolis, IN December 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor 314ce

    Totally satisfied with this instrument because of its playability, sound and workmanship. Great shopping experience with Sweetwater personnel.

  • from Culver, IN USA November 7, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Novice. Intermediate skills, great appreciation for music.

    What a Difference !!!!!!

    I had played guitar from the time I was 12 to about 22 yo. Then job took it's toll. Decided to pick up guitar again 25 yrs later. So I decided time for a new guitar. Went to a music shop and picked out a Washburn WCD18ce. Decent guitar, restrung it with Elixir light Nanoweb strings. Really liked it. My good friend from Dental School who is an excellent guitarist came out from Montana and wanted to visit Sweetwater. We drove over. Sat down in the showroom and played some guitars. Mostly lower end models. He then said try this Taylor 314ce and see if you can tell the difference. WOW!! Great action, fast neck, solid construction and the sound was incredible. He laughed and said now you know the difference between a good guitar and a great guitar. From that point on I was determined to have a Taylor. Worked with Will Gooding online and he helped me decide on the 314ce. He even talked me out of a more expensive Guitar because he thought this one was more of what I was looking for sound wise. That's integrity. Great service, guitar set up was awesome right out of the box. Can't put it down. Renewed my love for the guitar. Trying to save up for a Taylor 456ce 12 string. Never have played a guitar as sweet as this one. Barre chords are a breeze to play up and down the neck. Can only imagine the sound from the higher end Taylors, but as a Novice this guitar is perfect for me. Thanks to Sweetwater and Will for all the help in finding the great guitar I have always wanted. You have a lifetime customer.

  • from Atascadero, CA September 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wonderful Guitar and service

    Got my Taylor 314 CE a few weeks ago and haven't been able to put it down. The tonality is clear and pure. The guitar arrived set up perfectly. My service agent, Will, made sure everything was OK when I received the guitar and it was delivered in just 5 days! As if the guitar itself isn't great enough, the service at Sweetwater can't be beat. I will definitely recommend Sweetwater to anyone looking to buy a guitar, and the Taylor 314 CE to anyone looking for a quality instrument.

  • from Napa, calif April 27, 2013Music Background:
    41 years playing Guitar

    Taylor Delivers Impressive sounding Guitars!!!

    This Guitar has all the Great sound that Taylor is known for. The vary first time I played one was in a vary small local guitar store that had maybe 35 Guitars, Most were Low end entry level guitars for beginners. They did have Two nice guitars there, one was a martin (OM-21) and a Taylor (714) . I Played the martin first, What can I say about a martin...... They are Awesome Guitars, I really love the sound they put out. Then I pulled the Taylor off the wall, It was a 2001 model and it had been well (used) Scratches, dings, Belt buckle marks. This 714 played like a dream! The neck was so easy to play on, With just very light pressure on the strings it was so easy to play. The tone was Amazing, Its That Taylor signature sound, It sounded as good as the Martin. After playing the ( 714) I wanted to get a Taylor. So after many months of comparing other Great Guitars, Martins, Guilds, Gibson's, Just to name a few, I always came back to the Taylor. So I Tried all the different models Taylor makes. They all sounded great, Although The 114ce and the 214ce) did not have the same sound as the 314ce and on up models have. Those 2 Models are entry level at best.
    After comparing the 314 , 414 , 514, 614 , 714 , 814ce, The sound was vary close in each model so for the money the 314ce made more sense to me. Although the 314ce does not have all the nicer inlays and maple bindings and the rosewood back and sides, It sounds almost as good as the higher end models and its almost half the price of the 814ce. I was surprised at how good the sapele wood sounds. I decided to give sweetwater a try after reading lots of great reviews, and then talking to Ben Porter (sales person) at sweetwater, It was refreshing to talk to someone who knows Guitars and wants you to find the right Guitar for you. After Deciding on the 314ce , It was sent out right away and arrived at my door within 7 days. It was Packaged very good, and was in perfect tune. Sweetwater followed up 2 days later to see if I had any Questions and to see if I was happy with my Purchase, and to let me know that if I have any problems they would be there to take care of it. Its nice to still find a company that cares about customer service, Im very satisfied with my Purchase, The Taylor 314ce was the right choice.

  • from Winnsboro, TX December 6, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Team Member/Worship Leader

    Taylor 314ce Acoustic

    Fantastic guitar, made me switch from being a Martin man...and that's saying something. Wonderful guitar, rich overtones and wonderfully balanced highs and lows...LOVE IT!!! One day I'd like a 914ce, but for 1/3 the price, you really can't get better, and this one is a tone monster itself. Have 3 Taylors (this one, Classic Solidbody, and a T5-S1) and an American PRS Custom 24, I love Taylor more and more and more as time goes on. They are truly innovative and make the finest instruments on the planet in my opinion, right alongside PRS...in fact, Taylor is the only company giving PRS a run for their money, and that is saying something. These are great, affordable, and made in America. Can't go wrong, HIGHLY recommended!

  • from Woodbury, MN USA November 3, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician turned Hobbyist :)

    Love my Taylor 314ce!

    I have owned a Taylor 310 for 10 years now, so when I purchased the 314ce I was expecting the same Taylor quality, sound and workmanship. My 314ce arrived just the other day in perfect shape. I was surprised it was even in tune! Needless to say I am very pleased with my purchase. The guitar looks, plays and sounds great.
    A word about Sweetwater: I normally will not buy a stringed instrument over the internet as I prefer to see, feel and play before I buy. My local music store didnít have a 314ce in stock and told me they could order one for me. But Sweetwater provides photos of every guitar in stock so you can select the one you want. I love this feature! The guitar was set up perfectly when it arrived. So I am giving 5 stars not only to this guitar, but also to Sweetwater. In the future, I will never worry about buying a stringed instrument from Sweetwater over the internet. Thanks to Taylor and Sweetwater for doing business the way it should be done!

  • from ohio September 9, 2012Music Background:
    semi pro

    awesome

    I played alot of high dollar guitars and kept comming back to the 314. short and to the point. The only thing better than a taylor would be 2 Taylors. I will treasure this guitar forever.

  • from Oxbow, ME USA September 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Taylor 314ce

    I received my 314ce about 2 weeks ago. It was almost ready to go right out of the box. (The low E string was very slightly out of tune!)
    We just returned from a 4 day bluegrass festival. The 314ce got a real workout because everyone wanted to try it. I couldn't be happier with this instrument and would highly recommend it.
    The folks at Sweetwater have followed up my purchase with both emails and a personal call to be sure I was satisfied. You can't beat that!

  • from Edinburg, TX July 4, 2012Music Background:
    pro...yeah people have given me money to play a guitar for them...

    Good Wood!

    First thing I noticed about this guitar...playability...i have a Martin DX1 and this guitar plays easier. I was turned onto Taylor by my wife's cousin and his 616(?)...i made the leap also because i started playing for a church band and didnt like my Martin's sound with an LR Baggs passive transducer...way under achiever versus the Taylors that were being strummed with the ES pickup system. Way more natural and controlable. The Addition of the Fishman Loudbox Mini gives me the ability to have a great little monitor while playing and also plugging directly into the board...awesome guitar...thanks to Sweetwater i was also able to pick the exact guitar by serial number and know exactly which guitar i was purchasing....you guys at Sweetwater ROCK!

  • from Edinburg, TX June 12, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    This is Good Wood!

    First of all, the instrument is top notch in quality and playability. I've always liked Martins and own a DX1 entry level model and that is my basis for comparison. I put an LR Baggs transducer in it and was ok with it. Now with this 314ce, the Taylor ES system is unbelievable in it's reproduction of my guitars tone. I paired this guitar with a Fishman Loudbox Mini and WOW! The other thing that is awesome about this is I got my order in 3 days with regular ground shipping. Ordered on the 6June and received it on the 9th. From Indiana to deeeeep south Texas in that time frame. Thanks Guys...you are going to be my goto when I need it fo sho!!

  • from Roseville, CA USA October 19, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician for 30 years, bands and freelance, keys, guitar, sax

    In The Key of C (onfidence)

    Taylors are great. This one is a no-brainer. The only thing it doesn't do is play itself. But I wanted to focus this review primarily on Sweetwater's customer service and my rep, Matt Masek. Unfortunately I do not live anywhere near the SW campus, and I had many reservations about buying an acoustic guitar (or any guitar), sight unseen, hands unused! That WAS a brainer! I thought I would have to visit a local store and pay more and receive less than what SW offers. But the reassurance I received from Matt, the ability to see the ACTUAL instrument I would buy, to order by serial number, the great price, fast shipping... it all added up to extreme satisfaction.

    I love playing the 314ce; the step up to the Expression System Electronics, the sound, and the feel make this guitar and Sweetwater the ultimate combination of musical heaven.

  • from England October 28, 2010Music Background:
    12+yrs Hobbyist/Audiophile

    Best Friend

    I'll keep this short and sweet: This model is just about perfect for strumming, fingerstyle, flatpicking - everything. It really is a 'jack-of-all-trades' guitar. As such, it does not do one thing exceptionally well, but it does many things, and better than just about every other acoustic/electric in this price range (and quite a few in the next couple tiers!). I use this guitar day in/day out, and it is VERY reliable - but note: as with any quality-made instrument, you must TAKE CARE OF IT, be sure to get some sort of humidification system to ensure it stays in tip top shape. There is truly no drawback to this guitar; You will not regret spending the money!

  • from Melbourne FL December 24, 2009Music Background:
    Worship Team

    I love this guitar !!

    After a lengthy but enjoyable experience of comparing many differnt guitars, I chose the Taylor 314ce primarily because it sounds awesome, but also for it's playability, feel, action, looks, quality, and electronics (wow!)... it has it all. I almost bought the 214ce because of it's price and great sound, but for me the 314ce was definitely worth the extra $600 because of it's more solid feel and better electronics.

  • from Long Island, NY USA March 25, 2014Music Background:
    Bass and Guitar player x 40 years.

    Taylor 314ce Grand Auditorium - Natural with Cutaway and ES Pickup

    I purchased the Taylor 314ce online from Sweetwater. I felt leery buying a guitar without playing it but a friend had purchased a guitar from Sweetwater and was a satisfied customer. The guitar arrived quickly and in perfect condition. This instrument has already made me play and sound better. The Taylor 314ce is beautifully made and feels better in my hands then The Martins I tried out before deciding to purchase the Taylor. I love this guitar. More importantly was the excellent customer service given. All my questions and concern were treated with professionalism and I was shown that my satisfaction was their number one concern. Thank you so much for making me very happy. I will continue to let Sweetwater be my number one choice for my music needs.

  • from United States October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician for 45 years

    The Taylor 314ce Grand Auditorium

    The guitar plays fantastic. I've played a martin for many years and recently I've been cramping up during a 3 hour show. Not anymore. I don't have any problems playing a 3 hour show with this guitar. What's great with the expression system is I have absolutely no feed back problems. I love the sound of the expression system, it has a more lively, almost miked sound. I would have given it a 5 star rating, but I just haven't had it long enough.

  • from July 2, 2013Music Background:
    Local gigs, pubs and bars.

    Great guitar

    Fantastic guitar, it took a while before I settled on his guitar but I don't regret my choice. It is my main stage guitar, the electronics and natural tone are amazing. I run it through a small stage rig and I have never been disappointed.

  • from Asheville, NC June 20, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist/Songwriter/Producer

    Great Sound.. Looks.. and Plays Great

    this is the best acoustic guitar I've ever had.. it definitely has the sound and playability I was looking for.. I gave it 4.5 stars because there are better Taylors out there and one day I may own one.. for now this guitar is great and exactly what I had hoped it would be: sweet sounding with awesome electronics.. great looking.. and super playable.

  • from colorado springs CO November 16, 2012Music Background:
    former semi-pro current hobbyist

    Taylor 314ce

    great playing neck, love the tone from top to bottom. Only thing that stops this from being a 5 is the nut and the hi E string. Can be a bit tricky at times to nail notes with pinky on extended chords. Based on rich tone new I am looking forward to how this guitar blooms as it matures. Quick shout to Andrew and how sweetwater handles the sales end. Great job guys!

  • from Neosho, MO July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Project Studio, Musician, Performer

    What Balance!

    I wanted to buy a guitar that would serve me for the rest of my life. I need good sound acoustically when playing with the circle of friends and when running direct for the stage. No small feat for one guitar. I played tons of guitars almost exclusively dreadnaughts. You can imagine the results - everything from great acoustic sound with poor electronics to average playability and decent electronics.
    Then I began researching Taylor. First and foremost, the brand holds its value. Then, the electronics are made by Taylor FOR Taylor acoustic guitars. And the results show it.
    The 314ce is light. It plays so well. It has a warm low end which matches Taylor's signature brightness perfectly which also means plenty of volume. The fact that all this comes in a Grand Auditorium size is a plus. Once I played the 314ce nothing else compared. It was a no brainer.
    From there the biggest issue was buying a guitar without actually playing it. But, I have had such excellent service from Sweetwater that they were my first choice. I called my Sweetwater Rep and he personally picked out a 314ce for me. Man, what a guitar.
    The 314ce is the guitar of a lifetime for me. I feel great knowing that I have a guitar that is fun to play, has great sound, can handle any situation and will hold it's value. Best of all, it is backed by my partner, Sweetwater Sound. It doesn't get better than this!

  • from visalia,ca. July 24, 2006Music Background:
    HOBBYIST WHO LOVES PLAYING AND WANTS THE BEST!

    really sweet , but im wondering if i shoulda played the 814ce before buying the314ce

    absolutely a sweet guitar. most would consider it the dream guitar or as good as it gets! it really is everything i wanted. i felt it was a dream guitar, i played the414ce the514ce and in my honest unbiased opinion it was for me bigger sounding,more projection, clearer note separation,mids and highs, tighter and deeper in the bottom end.to my ears.all due respect the 414ce didnt even compare,it sounded like nothing special.at all! the 514ce...well it was very sweet!!! but, unplugged i wanted more volume when im casually fingerpicking.the 514 is sweeter looking with its gloss & cedar, plugged in they were to my ears close but different both have somewhat distinctly different tones when strumed or flat picking, finger picked alone i give it to the514ce no problem.hairsplitting... they both sound very substantial, and you know your playing very special high quality guitars.awsome!my particular 314ce just kept sounding and feeling better,i wanted to like the514ce and was actually trying to find excuses to not buy the 314ce, after 1 straight hr and my two buds looking at my like what are thinking,it was obvious that i wanted a 514 but i loved and felyt better playing the 314ce. its mine know and i havent regreted it for a second. ,it just had it! just a little more sweet acoustic tone and made me feel that i was only getting the514 for gloss and bragging rights, i knew after i played it and my two friends played em back to back that this 314"s mahogony and spruce sounded bigger and more musical unplugged.plugged in they both were awsome.i saved the 1000.00 bucks and i do love my 314ce. the dealer didnt have an 814ce in stock so i bought my 314ce and i am going back tomorrow to decide once and for all if the 314ce is a family member for good! they brought me in an 814ce to demo,so after tomorrow 7/25/06 ill have my sweet 314ce or the prettier and well appointed 814ce....its all gonna be on what i feel makes me happier,as i listen while im playing it! they all sound awsome , but i want the best i can afford.i can afford the 8/7/6/5/4 or the 3 series, up till now i feel price hasnt been the factor i really feel the some of the 314's just sound as good or better than the some of the higher end taylors. to me, ill know in like30 seconds if im exchanging my 314 or not! :) honestly...i hope the814ce blows me away cause i love the looks and wite binding on the fretboard and the nice inlays. bottom line..if i think it plays , feels and sounds even bigger and sweeter..it be mine by 4pm on monday!

  • from Pittsburgh, PA March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist for over 45 years

    Taylor 314CE

    This guitar is awesome for the guitarist who plays a variety of music - classical, folk, soft rock, as well as hard rock. The frets are smooth, the cutaway helps reach those high notes, and the pickup is clean through my fender amp. Unplugged, the guitar accentuates the treble somewhat more than the base when compared to my Ovation. If desired, this is easily adjusted with amp settings, or simply changing out your strings to a thicker guage (it comes with light guage Elixer strings). This guitar will not disappoint.

  • from In. March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Nice Guitar

    This guitar has many great attributes. Very easy to play chords up and down the neck. For me the Grand Auditorium shape is the most comfortable to hold whether standing or sitting. Has a nice neck and fretboard although my preference would be to have a slightly thicker, fatter neck profile. It is a beautiful guitar that has begun to open up after playing it for about three months. Has a nice crisp jingle in the upper registers, but some of the bass notes I find to be slightly on the muddy side. This could be just the difference between the Sapele wood on this guitar, and the Rosewood, or Maple I am accustomed to on my other guitars. The tone is very balanced and I would think this guitar would record very well although I haven't tried it yet. Overall I am very happy with it. I think it is a very good professional level guitar in the mid level price range. Probably not as well defined as my Gibson acoustic, but it is easier on the fingers. Sweetwater does a great job of helping customers to find the guitar that fits them best.

  • from Normal, IL September 17, 2014Music Background:
    30 yr working musician (bars and clubs)

    not what I expected

    OK going against all the Taylor fans. A nice guitar. The dollars went into the electronics. Sounds like a box. low E doesn't tune properly with the 12 fret harmonics. I received this guitar new with a noticeable small indent on the neck near the 3d fret hardly worth complaining about but at this price ?
    in comparison with a lesser expensive Martin, No comparison the Martin sounds more full, with a better tone unplugged. The electronics in the Taylor are simply awesome, true acoustic tone plugged in. I haven't found Martins electronics to come anywhere near the sound of the Taylor plugged in. As far as the high end sizzle ? I feel it sounds like a vibration gone wrong. often irritating to my ears. and just wrong. If I play a guitar and have to ask myself if it sounds good, it doesn't. I would never buy a Taylor again. I wished I would have bought a Martin. There is a reason Martin has been around so long.

Reviews

  • Autumn Reynolds
    6-01-2009

    From the first moment, this guitar lay perfectly in my hands, exploding with colorful sounds as I took my first strum, and there was an immediate connection. It has been six years from that day and my Taylor 314ce and I have been inseparable through national tours, recording sessions, and campfire sing-a-longs.

    What strikes me the most about this guitar is the well-balanced tone that produces a full and solid sound. I can depend on this guitar to rise to the top when I am playing rhythm or when I need to fill a broad sonic space in the mix. It also gives me intelligibility whether I am finger picking or playing softly on the strings.

    Plugging this guitar in to a PA only adds to my amazement. The Taylor Expression System gives you the tools to shape the tone of your guitar to cut through a mix, create a sweet presence or a palette of other sounds. When playing live, I had no issues with feedback and I was never dry of compliments about the pleasing tone of this guitar.

    Through six years of constant wear and tear, dings and dents, drops and bumps, my Taylor 314ce is still performing at its fullest and never lacking in compliments.

    The Taylor 314ce is a performance workhorse that can truly "speak" for itself.

Questions about the Taylor 314ce Grand Auditorium - Natural with Cutaway and ES Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway