0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Taylor 310ce Dreadnought - Cutaway, Electronics, Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Methuen, MA June 21, 2013Music Background:
    Home recordist, performer

    Taylor - tonal magic!

    The 300 series is the lowest price solid wood guitars from Taylor, and definitely worth the extra cost from the laminated 100 and 200 series, the sound is much smoother and richer, both acoustically and plugged-in.
    Last year when I was trying out guitars at all price levels, I was surprised that there was little difference in feel and tone between $300 and $700 price range guitars - just enough that I could pick the one I wanted best (at the time) for the money I had. This guitar, on the other hand blows away anything at half the price. I prefer the Taylor sound to that of Martins in this price range, and their exclusive electric sound beats the standard piezo pickup sound of most guitars.
    Looking forward to years of good playing on this baby!
    Out of the box it was set up perfectly, intonation perfect. Have to get used to the medium gauge (Taylor recommended) strings, and making sure it stays humidified, but that goes for any high end guitar

  • from Ashland,KY June 2, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Excellent Guitar

    Was looking to buy a new acoustic/electric and it was between Martin or Taylor. Talked to Jason and told him what I was expecting and he recommended the Taylor for easier playing on the fingerboard. He was right. The neck is absolutely the best I have played and easy to play. When it arrived it was more than I expected. It sounds great unplugged and even better plugged in through an LR Baggs venue DI and Fishman amp. The pickup is smooth and easy to get a good sound through the amp. The guitar is beautiful, sounds beautiful and is fun to play. I have switched from Takamine and have not been disappointed. I would highly recommend this Taylor guitar.

  • from Mayslick KY February 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician(semi retired) Music Producer, Engineer, Instructor

    Big Guitar, Big Voice

    This is my third Taylor that I own and by far the best. I have a Baby Taylor for travel and my wife got me a 114ce for Christmas last year. I bought this on the recomendation from my sales engineer, Andy Bitler, and he was right on the money. You see, I was looking for the traditional dreadnaught sound: big and bold and full spectrum. With the solid stitka spruce top and the mahogany back and sides, this Taylor delivers the goods. I teach guitar in a small town in northern KY and sometimes play out at acoustic settings where I need an acoustic guitar that can cut through the other acoustic instruments. This guitar has no problem with doing that at all. Combine the construction of this guitar (which is amazing) and a lively strum hand and it can sound as loud as a cannon going off, only much more pleasant. LOL

    If you are looking for a modestly priced american made guitar that will last a lifetime, look no further then a Taylor. Be it the 310ce or any other Taylor guitar and you will not be dissapointed. Thanks Andy for the advice. I love this guitar.

  • from Naples, FL April 27, 2012Music Background:
    Novice

    Sound is just Amazing!

    Just learning to play so I'm not a professional by any means but this thing sounds absolutely amazing. I can't talk about the strings, frets and pickups since I don't know anything about that but on sound alone it will blow you away.

  • from Fairfield, CA May 14, 2010Music Background:
    Full-time Worship Leader

    Professional Quality - Right Outta Da Box

    Taylor's new ad in Acoustic Guitar Magazine says, "The kind of age-old craftsmanship than can only come from an age-old craftsman. And his helper robot." I love that. I had no reservations about ordering a Taylor from an online retailer without ever having played it. I'd played enough of them in several stores to know they're consistency. Right outta da box...tone, tone, and more tone. Per the serial number, the particular guitar I received was built just over two months ago. I CANNOT WAIT to hear what it sounds like over the years as it opens up and gains character. Clear highs, pronounced mids, and little bit of boom. I love it. I'm so thankful I bought this. I gave it a 4.5 on features only because it would be nice to have perhaps a abalone rosette, like on the 500 series. The concentric rings are a little plain, but any serious guitarist knows that looks ALWAYS take a back seat to tone. Put this "workhorse" to work for you today.

  • from Los Angeles, CA USA January 10, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Worth taking a long hard look at...Taylor 310CE

    This was the first decent guitar I ever got (in 1999!) It has aged nicely, it looks perfect and sounds incredible. It's got a sound and feel all of it's own. There is a time and place to use it though. That said, I do still reach for it often.

    It records very nicely. But like I just said; it has it's place. It's just a little more mellow sounding than the 'average' acoustic (not bassy, just less shimmery, softer midrange.) Almost like a .25 or thumb instead of a 1.0 pick, but it's not that simple to explain hah. Obviously string choice will make a big difference towards whatever tone you're going for..

    Overall...I definitely love mine and recommend it to anyone. Go play one for yourself and you'll see why I took the time to write this.

  • from Sunnyvale, CA USA February 11, 2009Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    A pretty special guitar

    This is a lot of guitar, that's for sure. Strumming and picking from different positions varies the tone widely. This can be a frustrating guitar for a beginner.
    The intonation is dead nuts on. Jaw dropping. Once you've heard it you can never go back to a "beater" guitar. It does have a very shimmery high end, especially when strung with the Nanowebs. It does strike a pretty good middle ground between finger picking and strumming but if you really want a good finger picking rig take a look at the 214.
    The ES system is not the best thing since sliced bread, despite marketing claims to the contrary. For club performing it is probably just fine (for boosting the low end ES is the bomb) but for recording you'll need to be careful. It is noisy, which surprised me coming from Rupert Neve. What it will give when paired with a good mic is just about any sound you might want to go for.
    I'm still dialing in the action on mine but I'm getting there. As I wrote, it's a deep guitar. You'll probably need to dial it in if you have specific needs. The good news is that truss rod adjustments are easy and it holds its intonation very nicely. String choice is also critical, as another reviewer mentioned. Try this guitar out before you buy one to know what you're getting into.

  • from Chardon, Ohio October 5, 2006Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Nice Taylor, but.....

    This Taylor guitar is really nice! Mahogany back and sides, Sitka spruce top. The tuners are top notch, and the fit and finish of this instrument is what you'd expect from Taylor. My partner in our band plays this one. Comes with a great hardshelled case. This guitar is rather quiet though, I guess to be expected with the mahogany body. Not a very big bottom end. Somewhat thin top end. What makes up for this is the built-in pickup and preamp. You can dial in just about any sound you'd like, and this makes up for it's shortcomings. If you're looking for something more open acoustically, I'd look around. But a great value nontheless.

Questions about the Taylor 310ce Dreadnought - Cutaway, Electronics, Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway