0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Universal Audio 2-610S Silverface Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Universal Audio 2-610S Silverface?

Questions about the Universal Audio 2-610S Silverface?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    The UA 610 is easily one of my favorite preamps for electric guitars and vocals. It has been used on countless records over the years and is still a go-to for many studio pros. There is a great Solo610 version for just the pre, but I prefer the 2-610 because you also get a nice EQ, and well, there's two of them.

  • from New Joisey November 30, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician.

    2-610 sounds great , looks great !

    Very happy with this preamp.
    Seems to be compatible with any sound source. Guitars , basses , mics, keyboards, whatever.
    Great analog vibe while still having the adaptability of a modern design team.
    Props to the UA folks.
    Now I have to ante up for the matching compressor !
    A great piece of gear.

  • from van nuys, ca. usa, planet earth December 6, 2011Music Background:
    analog recording minister of tone producer engineer musician

    excellent-get one!

    excellent on everything, outstanding audio quality.

  • from Japan September 12, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, Pro Musician, Composer

    Work the h*** out of it - it'll take it

    I use this on pretty much everything I can. Even after mixdown, I route everything back through it. These units are hand built with love, and it shows.

  • from NY July 29, 2011Music Background:
    World Style

    Great Sound

    This Mic preamp is a great Track inside your song and this choice was The opinion of my sales engineer Mr : brad every ...who advice me to go For it ....Thank you brad...
    It is true fat - clear - sweet sound Chanel
    I would give it 10 stars .....but 5 only the available choice

  • from Ypsilanti MI USA June 25, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Composer, Emcee, DJ

    Best... Pre... Ever.

    Everything I run through it just sounds better. Period.

  • from USA November 19, 2010Music Background:
    Engineer/Musician

    It's the best Preamp...

    I've been recording and engineering in various studio environments for the last 25 years, following in the footsteps of my father. I've seen and used a lot of equipment... and even tripped over it as a kid during the disco era. Writing reviews is not my thing, but this preamp calls for it. I've been using it for 5 years now (gray face version) and I find myself running EVERYTHING through it. It doesn't matter what other preamps are available... which seemingly are only used for rack decoration. I don't pay attention to specs, hype, or how many cup holders it has. It's the ease of use when you're working really fast and trying to capture the inspiration. The sound... it gets you where you want to be, in that sweet spot, consistently. Can you do that with some gear half this cost? Certainly, don't believe in all the hype, believe in your knowledge. But it's more than that. It's a solid long lasting piece of equipment. It'll be working hard for you 50+ years from now. Might need some new tubes and contact cleaner by then.

  • from kansas city September 22, 2008Music Background:
    recording engineer

    Awesome PreAmp

    This is a great pre, very versatile, turn the gain down all the way, with the output up and get a nice clean sound or crank the gain and get that warm tube sound...

  • from November 19, 2007

    This 2-610S Silverface is Awesome!!!

    This is the real deal here. This thing has been used on so many classics its no wonder why it is still being produced today. It has a warm fuzzy effect it adds to vocals, but it keeps them crisp as well. On guitar it will add that extra spice in the midrange. It fattens up bass guitar wonderfully also. Anyone with any style of music can benifit from a high end preamp like this one. Its certainly worth every penny. My only dissapointment was that it doesnt have a nice level indicator. but I dont know where a VU would go, and a LED would ruin the character of this baby.

Questions about the Universal Audio 2-610S Silverface?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close