0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

dbx 231s Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the dbx 231s?

Questions about the dbx 231s?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Jake Osborn
    from New Mexico April 30, 2017

    Solid EQ.

    I'd heard these were very clean, and that's definitely the case. With this much control, it's easy to dial out problems (and my tiny, tiny bedroom studio has many) and shape a killer sound. I just used this in conjunction with a Presonus Channel Strip and my Fender P and it was just as good as any sound I ever got out of my Ampeg.

    I'm doing all my bass recording straight into my computer through this guy from now on.

  • Poinzy
    from Southeast Michigan December 9, 2016Music Background:
    Audio restoration.

    Fine performance.

    First of all, I checked this unit for noise issues. I connected it to a 100% balanced audio path via the XLR jacks, set the gain to my normal levels, then began manipulating the faders at the +/- 12 dB scale. No hiss, nada. The EQ was perfectly quiet.

    My dbx 231s replaced an ancient dual-15-band Samson EQ which obviously wasn't giving me enough control in my desktop system. Thus far, I really like the results.

  • Customer
    from May 13, 2016

    Fantastic

    Awesome!!!

  • Hermes
    from Arizona May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Tech

    Church Sound Management

    Very clean easy to use, cable jacks as needed.

  • J. Dennis Weidler
    from Nome, Alaska February 15, 2016Music Background:
    Recording studio owner, audio consultant, radio station General Manager

    Sounds great

    I received the unit promptly...which is not typical here in bush Alaska. I installed it and balanced the church sanctuary in about half an hour. Greatly increased intelligibility and greater gain before feedback. The best $200.00 I ever spent.

  • John Poniatowski
    from Thunder Bay, Ontario November 7, 2016Music Background:
    Symphony/ Jazz Trombone major who has always played guitar and bass, Freelanced with Las Vegas stars, New York cast of Fiddler on the Roof, The Temptations, and others. Currently working with Liv Dietrich composing Praise and Worship music.

    dbx 231s purchase

    I discovered the magic of the Wish List. I put the dbx 231s on the wish list and didn't think anything would come of it. I recall that I also did the same with a dbx stereo compressor, (and though it wasn't wish-listed, a Roland GR-55). Then my fairy godperson, the Sweetwater Wizard, Ryan Murray emails me that these items are on sale as demo units. The price was too good, but, it was true! So I acted immediately and picked up a couple great pieces of gear for a good discount. Now my tunes are clean, slightly compressed into luxurious sonic sumptuousness, and the EQ of Planet Earth is more heavenly than it was. The End.

  • Bob
    from St. Louis, Mo. July 16, 2014Music Background:
    Working musician and engineer

    DBX 231

    It's not an Ashly but it does the job very nicely, especially for the price range. Of the other EQs under $200 it is by far the best.

  • Carl Rowley
    from February 13, 2014Music Background:
    semi-Pro musican

    dbx 231s

    I bought this for my monitors and it did exactly what I hoped it would, I was able to get a great deal more volume out the the monitors before feedback (I use it to ring out the monitors). Very good value

  • B. Barth
    from New Orleans January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Artist / Studio Owner 45 years

    Best Bang For The Buck

    Bought this to EQ large monitors in the studio, you can by better, but not any close to this price point.

  • Jeff
    from Flint MI April 28, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, producer, professional musician

    Hissy

    Mine had a lot of hiss in the signal. It did it's job, but there sure was a lot of extra noise.

  • carfixr
    from Wichita, KS January 22, 2014Music Background:
    A little guitar

    Worthless for my church.

    User Manual doesn't help at all. If the 231S was a car, The manual would say the wipers clean the window but not how to turn them on; there are headlights (brights and dimmers) but not how to operate them; other features but not how to operate anything. It's probably a great unit, but not if there are ni instructions.

Questions about the dbx 231s?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway