rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Taylor 214ce DLX - Sunburst, Layered Rosewood back and sides Reviews

5.0 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the Taylor 214ce DLX - Sunburst, Layered Rosewood back and sides?

Questions about the Taylor 214ce DLX - Sunburst, Layered Rosewood back and sides?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Arizona June 21, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Solo Performer

    Simply Amazing

    This is my first Taylor, and my only regret is waiting so long to own one. First, the guitar is beautiful. Fit and finish are typical Taylor excellence. Not a flaw to be found. Now about the sound: Unplugged, it's fantastic. Deep bass, crystal highs, and that signature Taylor string balance. But the real magic for me is the ES2 pickup system. Every time I plug this thing in, I'm blown away. I've owned probably 15 electro-acoustic guitars of varying prices over the years, most with piezo systems, and a couple with add-on pickups such as the LR Baggs M1A - none of them can touch the tone of the ES2. I play the 214 through a Bose L1 Model II with the T1 ToneMatch mixer, and the sound is just amazing. I actually prefer the ToneMatch preset for the Taylor T5. The ES2 sounds so natural, I almost didn't like it at first! I was so used to "quacky" piezo systems that the tone from the Taylor was a bit foreign to me. But once I found the T5 preset, I was hooked. Even without the ToneMatch, the 214 sounds incredible - particularly the bass strings. They ring like a bell with an almost piano-like quality. I also do quite a bit of live-looping, and use a technique of "thumping" the bridge with my hand to create a kick-drum sound. The Taylor actually sounds like a kick drum - I kid you not. Taylor quality, with an ES2 pickup system, gloss finish, beautiful details (such as the small diamond fretboard inlays), and a Taylor hard case at this price point is just a no-brainer. Don't be swayed by the layered sides/back or the fact that it's made in Mexico; this thing is a true Taylor guitar. My first Taylor will definitely not be my last, and I can't wait to pick up another.

  • from Coeur d Alene idaho April 13, 2017Music Background:
    Worship leader

    Awesome

    Such a great piece of craftsmanship from Taylor. Now granted we're dealing with a mid level priced guitar and definitely a lower level priced guitar from Taylor but such a great sound.. I am a worship leader and play almost entirely through a PA system with only a touch of reverb so 95% of all the sound of the guitar comes out.. have a Teton dreadnaught as well as a gs mini from Taylor and both have done nothing compared to the sound this guitar carries.. amazing looks but for a musician of over ten years it's way more about the sound and the sound is for this kind of price range.. truly the perfect model for a little smaller looking and feeing than a dreadnaught yet able to handle some rigorous strumming given the circumstances.. truly a beautiful guitar a must buy

  • from WA February 1, 2017Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Gigging Musician

    Great Guitar

    I have owned several high end Taylors since 2000. This guitar caught my eye at my Taylor dealer the other day and was shocked to see it was a 200 series with such a beautiful sunburst finish on it. Then I played it. HOLY COW is this a great sounding and playing guitar at this price point! If you are worried that is doesn't measure up to the other Taylors in the line up, don't be. It is an excellent guitar.

  • from Michigan December 31, 2016Music Background:
    campfire player

    Taylor 214ce Deux

    It's an amazing guitar. great sound, tone and playability. Everything that i was looking for. Looks great too with the sunburst color.

  • from Nashville December 7, 2016

    Perfect acoustic

    For the money it doesn't get any better. For the picks, it doesn't get any better. For the neck feel, it doesn't get any better. The only thing, and I mean only thing that I would spend any more money for is to have the solid wood body that would ring out more while not plugged in, but still I would have to spend another $1000 for a 414ce to get that. Plugged in this is just as good as any 414 to 914 because of the ES2 pickups on the 2016 model deluxe only, not on a 2015.

  • from Naperville, IL November 9, 2016Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 52 years / former traveling pro

    Super Taylor

    The quality is top notch and the price was unbelievable.

  • from September 7, 2016

    Highly recommend

    Love this instrument!! very well made and the tone is amazing.

  • from Michigan May 21, 2016

    A Great Guitar

    When I took it out of the case, I thought, this guitar is beautiful. The tone is wonderful, the highs are very bright and the bass is very nice. I can't seem to put this guitar down. Every time I walk into my music room I have to pick it up and play it a little at least. The action is very good and it seems to fit me better, size wise. I am very happy with this instrument.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK April 8, 2016Music Background:
    just a man

    Holy Cow Batman Now I have a Great Acoustic Guitar!

    I just opened it up. I haven't stopped playing till now. I cannot tell you how great this guitar is. That being said the electronics kind of are not too great but its better to use a ribbon and condenser mics to mic your acoustic guitar - it sounds better. IMHO. But yeah I love this it beats my 200 dollar fender any day. If you want a high quality guitar but do not want to break the proverbial bank, then I highly suggest this guitar. I got it in sunburst as I love that color but whatever color it comes in just get this guitar you will not undergo "buyers remorse" LOL as I have with gear in the past. Cheers dudes. And remember keep playing and writing music.

  • from Tooele, UT January 24, 2016Music Background:
    Still learning...working hard!

    So, so nice...

    This guitar is everything I expected. Right out of the box this guitar sounds great. I watched a YouTube video on how Taylor makes the guitar and was reassured about the quality that goes into a Taylor. As for the fact that the 214 models (as well as the 114's) are made in Mexico and have layered back and sides (rosewood) instead of one piece solid wood, this guitar sounds great. The Mexico factory is about 40 miles from the USA factory and the standards are exactly the same as seen to by the owner who makes frequent trips between the two. This guitar is awesome and a pleasure to play...

    I think one of the other very important points to mention is the service you get from SweetWater. Brock (and when Brock was unavailable), Patrick helped me so much in finding the right guitar for me. It's nice to have someone who is knowledgable that can help you find your way. I trust SweetWater and their great customer service. For my music needs I will always look to SweetWater first... Great job, great company...

  • from Gainesville, Fl January 3, 2016

    Awesome Guitar

    This Taylor 214ce Deluxe is an outstanding guitar! If you're considering getting one, do it! You won't regret it. It looks beautiful, sounds amazing and is so comfortable to play. I love it!
    This is my third guitar from Sweetwater and as always the customer service is outstanding. Thanks Bret and all the rest of the staff.

  • from December 27, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    The Budget 714ce!!

    This guitar is absolutely fantastic! For just under $1300, this guitar is an amazing bargain. The tone unplugged is great. And even plugged in, the ES2 pickup does a great job in staying true to the acoustic's tone. I dial the bass up a bit because the guitar is on the brighter side. It stays in tune very well, like extremely well. I did notice that the truss rod cover was a bit lose and rattled around when I first got it, but just tighten that down and you're good. Let's talk about the looks. Wow!! The sunburst is gorgeous! It looks like a dark almost black edge in low light, but when put under stage lights it almost transforms into a absolutely beautiful burst. The edges become lighter and the entire finish looks fantastic. The back and sides are gorgeous as well. The all gloss finish looks awesome, but can be a pain to keep clean. Fingerprints and smudges are extremely different to keep off so make sure you get some cleaner and a microfiber cloth to wipe it down. The one complaint I have about this guitar is the strap buttons. The one on the neck is great and fits a strap well, but the one with the output is very small. It's a bit challenging for me to get a strap completely on. Also, this button is kind of plastic material, so you might want to be a bit careful. All in all, this guitar is absolutely amazing and a great buy!

  • from NJ December 23, 2015Music Background:
    semi pro

    Go to guitar

    Taylor guitars are kind of an addiction, we afflicted tend to have some high end models that sad to say are too nice for many a situation. Here is the beauty of the 200 deluxe...now with the ES2 it is the perfect gigging guitar. I'm also a fan of the 1.68 nut width found on the 200s. Sound and feel are pure Taylor and all gloss finish gives it a certain extra durability. If this is your first or fifth Taylor you cannot go wrong.

  • from MN November 24, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Taylor 214CE awesome

    This is an excellent buy. Great workmanship, great sound, great looks.

  • from Gilbert, AZ October 22, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer/Guitarist/Vocalist of 13 years

    Outstanding

    The boys there at Sweetwater are anazing! Great service, excellent follow up... I absolutely love my new Taylor 214ce! The thing wven came all the way from Fort Wayne, IN to Gilbert, AZ IN TUNE!! Wow man. DEFINITELY delivered on their promise and commitment to excellence! Thanks guys!

  • from Smithfield NC September 10, 2015

    Happy

    Very Nice Guitar :) received mine in mail and loving it !!!!!... Sweetwater # 1

  • from August 3, 2015

    A great guitar.

    Everything about this guitar is great. Sound, appearance, exceptionally comfortable neck. It came with 12's. I changed to 10's since I like bending strings. Thank you Sweetwater and Jon Krempel for excellence in customer service. Sweetwater is great place to buy musical equipment.

  • from Halls, TN May 17, 2015Music Background:
    28 years

    Great!

    I knew I ordered a great instrument, however the quality and sound of this guitar blows my mind every time I play it. The ES2 is extremely natural sounding. The neck and setup are perfect. Tone is brilliant.
    If they had a 12 string of this model, it would be ordered immediatly.

  • from Bruce Crossing, Mi March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Local Coffee shops, playing for friends

    Buying a guitar online from Sweetwater

    OK, So we are all a little worried about buying a guitar online from anyone, especially when you cant hold it in your hands and see how it feels and performs, but let me assure you, at Sweetwater, your worries are over, these guys know what they are doing, This guitar was set up better than I could ever do myself, dont hesitate for a minute, you will be very happy..The techs and customer service are beyond what you could expect.Thanks Guys

  • from Cleveland, Ohio October 7, 2014Music Background:
    20+ years of casual playing and ever the student

    Beautiful Tone to go with beautiful finish

    I just purchased this guitar, replacing a a Taylor 114ce I'd purchased a few years ago. With the 114ce, I loved the action of the fret board, the quality and detail of the construction for the price range, and it's overall playability. I've always loved the sunburst application Taylor applies to the 700 series, so when I came across the 214ce deluxe I was highly intrigued! It appeared to be everything I loved about my 114, and a whole lot more!

    For those of you considering this guitar, but reluctant to pull the trigger due to the laminated sides and back; don't be one bit concerned! I was a skeptic initially too, but my 114ce got me over that quickly. I was also uncertain that I'd really be able to tell the difference between the sapele layers on the 114 from the rosewood layers of the 214 because of the laminate process, but the true sound of those respective woods really shines through. The rosewood truly presents that deeper, warmer bass that you'd expect from this species of wood! The full gloss finish, the upgraded electronics and the beautiful sunburst application borrowered from the 700 series is well worth the upgrade from the 114ce.

    As an owner of a higher end Taylor model as well, I can promise you that you are going to get the true, open, full, resonating sound that you expect from a Taylor! Don't be fooled by the other brands selling solid wood guitars in this price range. This guitar blows them away! You have nothing to lose by Taylor's layered construction and everything to gain from its sound, durability and quality construction.

    I also can't write a review with out complimenting the fantastic service you'll receive from Sweetwater! Tom Koch, my sales technician, is extremely knowledgeable, responsive and goes above and beyond to be sure I'm completely satisfied with my experience.

  • from Perú August 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Absolutely amazing!!!

    My friend brought this guitar for me from your store to Perú. I had never played a Taylor before but I everything I read about this guitar was positive so I made my decision. Every penny I spent on this guitar was worth it. I absolutely love this guitar. The sound, the looks, the playability, the finish and any kind of feature you can imagine is simply great. It sounds perfect live and in the studio. Don't waste your money trying to save some dollars in one medium/low quality guitar. Gor for a Taylor and you will have a great instrument for the rest of your life.

  • from Quinton, AL April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Guitar player for 35+ yrs. Singer/Songwriter

    More Than Awesome

    To qualify myself to review the Taylor 214ce Deleluxe - Sunburst, I've been a guitarist for more than 35 yrs. Now, this is the first Taylor I've owned. I've been a Martin guy for many years, but this guitar has changed my mind. Once I received it I had a professional setup done with 12 80/20 Martin strings. This thing plays like butter. I love it. This guitar has now become my main performance guitar, highly recommend. Play-On-People! - Michael Jones

  • from Pennsylvania December 1, 2016

    Long overdue Review.

    First I must say I didn't get a lot of playing time with this guitar,3 days after I received my new guitar I had surgery on my right bicep.(Tore tendon) So for that reason alone am I giving 41/2 stars. Like I said this is a long long overdue Review. I own a good amount of gear and guitars all of which I bought from Sweetwater. I could not possibly be more satisfied. I'm a disabled veteran and a chaplain for the V.F.W., American Legion and the D.A.V. and I always tell young people that no matter what you do in life or want to do, do it to the best of your ability.(Thats Sweetwater) what they do,they do better than any other company out there. Back to my Taylor 214ce. I've been wanting a Taylor for a long time and thanks to my dear wife I finally have one, the timing could have been better, but that's o.k. God can redeem the time and I have something to look forward to. As soon as I'm back leading worship at church I will be playing my Taylor 214ce Grand Auditorium. By the way, deep in my heart I know it's deserving of 5stars. Thanks to Sweetwater for leading the way and setting the standard. Your Co. is the epitome of professional. And a special thanks to my sales rep. David. God bless you all, Gil.

  • from Fairhope, AL August 22, 2016

    Outstanding.

    Sounds great plugged/unplugged. ES2 electronics seem a little bass-heavy in the "12 o'clock" position, but you can back it off easily enough. I get compliments on this every time I use it - people always think it's one of the higher-dollar models - even people with other higher-end Taylors are surprised at how good it sounds! It's a great work-horse; I usually play a T5, but use this one for about 1/3 of the stuff I do (run them both thru A/B pedal thru a Fishman Loudbox Mini into the PA - awesome combo!). For the money, you really can't go wrong with this. I own "nicer" Taylors, but I use this one more because I don't worry as much about it getting damaged at gigs (you gigging musicians will understand - don't see many 914s in bars!). The only thing I don't like about it, which is the same with all the Taylor acoustics, is the gargantuan-sized end jack on it that no strap ever made in the history of man will fit correctly. I have to dedicate a strap to each Taylor, because taking them off/on that huge jack stretches them and they will eventually fall off. First world problems, I know, but it's irritating nonetheless.

Questions about the Taylor 214ce DLX - Sunburst, Layered Rosewood back and sides?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway