rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Cordoba 20TM-CE 20 Series Tenor Cutaway-Electric Ukulele Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Cordoba 20TM-CE 20 Series Tenor Cutaway-Electric Ukulele?

Questions about the Cordoba 20TM-CE 20 Series Tenor Cutaway-Electric Ukulele?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 6, 2017Music Background:
    String Musician

    Well worth the money

    I've been a musician for years and own a few guitars, a cello and an amazing mandolin, but I've almost exclusively played this little dynamo since I got it months ago. I haven't had any issues with it falling out of tune, sometimes going weeks without needing much adjustment. After testing many uke's, ranging from $100-500, this one stood out well above the rest. The sound was pristine compared to the other ukes I tested; I can't find a fault in the tonality I would alter. Not only was it acoustic electric (and through my amps it sounds great), but it came as my preferred cutaway. I've been very happy with cordoba's guitars and their ukes are just as good. Mine may be an exeptional specimen, but, knowing CĂłrdoba, every instrument will be high quality. In my opinion, this is the best tenor ukulele for the money; I highly recommend it!

  • from February 6, 2017

    Cordoba 20TM-CE Seroes Tenor cutaway-electric ukulele

    Ir has a great sound with or without amplifier. I restrung it with the low g string. The finish is great. I am impressed with everything about it. I have a lot of compliments on it.

  • from San Rafael January 2, 2017

    Great ukulele and a super value

    I have been playing a ukulele for just 6 months, and have recently purchased the Cordoba mahogany acoustic/electric tenor model. I am impressed with its craftsmanship, sound and quality. I have a small amplifier, and it sounds as mellow and rich amplified as it sounds warm and full in acoustic mode. Cordoba is my brand for future ukuleles!

  • from Indiana December 31, 2016

    It sounds good

    I'm kinda new to ukuleles, but it sounds really good and plays well. Easy to carry and travel with. Fun to play. I would recommend.

  • from Virginia December 28, 2016

    Nice Tenor

    Just love my new ukulele. Great sound and after adding the low g string it sounds fantastic. Sounds good plugged in or not. I'm just a beginner on the ukulele, but it has quickly become the instrument I pick up first thing in the morning and right before before.

  • from Chicago, IL November 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fearfully & Wonderfully Made!

    This is my 7th guitar and but my first Ukulele. I fell in love by how much care they put into making this guitar just by the look and feel of this beauty! I didn't even play it right away out of the box! All I did the first 5 minutes was to run my fingers and hands all over this guitar because it so darn perfect! Then i started strumming (learning my first Ukulele chords) and I did not put it down for 4 hours!

    Before I decided on this purchase I tried around 20 Uke's within $100-$250 price range. This stood out the best. In tone and workmanship! Good job Cordoba!

  • from El Paso, TX USA September 28, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A High-End Uke Without the High-End Price

    The Cordoba 20TM-CE 4-string tenor ukulele is a beautiful little instrument! With the natural, medium-dark mahogany wood (semi-gloss finish), this uke is is nice to see as it is to hear! The volume and sustained resonance of its tones nearly rival that of a full-sized acoustic guitar, plus its option to plug into an amp allows for performance on an even larger scale. To those of you who have considered learning the ukulele but haven't tried one yet, I say, GO FOR IT! It's simple, fun, and lightweight, and there may be no better model with which to begin and/or continue than the 20TM-CE. The "tenor" classification means that it is just a bit bigger than a "soprano" and possessive of a slightly deeper, richer resonance (even though the notes are exactly the same, the lowest open string being Middle C). I have played other ukes within this reasonable price range, but none has matched the look and sound of this Spanish-made Cordoba. This is the one!

  • from August 29, 2015

    GREAT UKE

    This ukulele is very high quality. It has a very nice sound to it. It's also very well crafted. The only problem I had was that the packaging wasn't very protective, but the ukulele did arrive to my house safely and without any damages. :)

  • from Jefferson City, MO February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician and University Music Teacher.

    Great little axe!

    Nothing but good things to say about the tone, fit and finish of this nice tenor uke. It has plenty of rich acoustic sound, and the transducer sounds quite good - much more convenient than worrying about a mike. I'm currently writing a piece (a Tango) for uke and string orchestra, and I may seriously consider using the built in pickup for the performance. While I haven't heard the Cordoba models with more expensive tonewood tops, I think most musicians would agree that mahogany has a very pleasing sound, and at this price, it's hard to beat.

  • from United States August 17, 2013Music Background:
    musician, recording, hobbyist

    Solid

    Feels solid when i play it. Makes me want to play it more Excellent pickup sound. I'm a newbie to ukulele but been playing guitar for over 20 years.

  • from Eastern Washington May 2, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter

    Well worth the money!

    After playing this instrument at two gigs this last weekend and rehearsals in between, I’d like to offer my initial opinions.

    It is advertised as being handmade, and definitely appears well made: all the joints are smoothly fitted and polished. There is not a poor joining to be found anywhere. The neck fits well onto the body, with the seam between the heel and the back of the body nearly indistinguishable by feel. The fretboard is smooth and fast — there are no sharp fret edges anywhere to hang up your fingers. In short, this is a sturdy instrument. It does not feel flimsy or poorly built in any way. Plus, it’s got a beautiful light/dark wood inlay around the soundhole and across the tie-bar on the bridge.

    Surprise of all surprises, however: upon close inspection, it appears this little Cordoba has been made with a SOLID top! Wow! If mine eyes are not mistaken, the top of this lovely little uke is indeed a solid piece of mahogany. Which, for those of you not in the know, is a very good thing. Solid tops sound better with age, whereas laminates sound exactly the same twenty or thirty years down the road as they did when you bought them (great, if you buy a good quality laminate, poor if you buy one that sounds lackluster). And this little Cordoba is rocking the solid mahogany: it is leagues above my old Lanikai LU-21 series tenor in terms of sound and resonance. I strung it today with a low wound G string (my preferred ukulele tuning) and it really hums. Rich like an alto voice, but not dark in any way. This is still an ukulele, and it keeps the sprightly sound in the treble end.

    Speaking of strings and sound, this instrument comes from the factory with Aquilas (again, my preferred type of nylon string, and the new ukulele industry standard). The intonation is about as “on” as you can get with a fretted stringed instrument. The action is just right, too. Many ukuleles come with high actions (the distance the strings sit above the frets) — many of them sky-high — but this one appears to have been fine tuned from the factory. It plays like a much more expensive instrument.

    If I could pick on anything, it would be the electronic pickup. It’s a fairly standard under-saddle “active” setup (requiring a 9v battery) with bass, treble, and volume controls. Very reliable and nothing too exciting. The drawback is that on a poor amplification system, it makes the ukulele sound very thin and “plinky.” On a better PA system, you can get an amplified sound very similar to the actual sound of the instrument, which is fine if you own said better system… but if you’re dealing with whatever your venue hands you, it can definitely be a mixed bag. The amazing part of it is, this Cordoba loses none of its resonance to the unit and associated cords inside the body. Typically, the rule of thumb is that if you wire an instrument for amplification, you are going to lose much of the natural resonance of the body cavity — and the smaller the instrument, the worse this loss becomes. Not so with this little uke. Somehow, it maintains its rounded sound despite the loss of space!

    It is very obvious that Cordoba is committed to excellence. They’ve been a top name in nylon-strung and classical guitars for ages, only recently adding ukuleles to their line of products. Their experience with nylon strung guitars really shows in this “miniature:” the 20TM-CE is a polished work of art from its hand-inlayed soundhole and bridge to the resonance it carries. The only drawback is the less than state of the art electronic system. I give it a firm 4 and 1/2 stars because it is well worth the money.

  • from Mid-South USA June 26, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist - retired

    Cordoba 20TM-CE

    This replaced a Lanikai Tenor Koa AE uke that was returned to the manufacturer 3 months after I bought it. Poor customer service with Lanikai meant I looked at other brands; the Cordoba came out tops - cost was 2/3rds of the Lanakai, and quality of fit and finish was much, much better. Sound it excellent, and I think I prefer the mahogany over koa, but that's a personal preference. My next uke will most likely be another Cordoba, maybe a baritone

  • from Canton, OH May 13, 2012Music Background:
    Full-Time Worship Leader

    Love It!

    This is my first ukulele and I couldn't be happier! The tone is great unplugged and the ukulele looks beautiful (love the feel of the satin finish). It sounds great plugged in as well. I play regularly at a large church and our sound engineer loved the sound of this thing out front. In addition, the gig bag is really really nice. My only complaint is that it does go flat in between days playing it, but from what I know this is common with ukuleles (and doesn't impact how I feel about it overall). From the research I did before purchasing this instrument, and having it now, I'd say that this uke can't be beaten it it's price range.

  • from Yauco April 17, 2017

    Good ukulele

    Sound good feel good to pro or amateur.litle heavy but not to bad. Sound great

  • from April 15, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Drummer

    My First Ukulele

    I am a professional drummer and only began playing ukulele about eight months ago. The tone and quality of the Cordoba 20TM-CE, in my opinion, is as good or better than some that are in the $2K range. I've checked it over very closely and can find no flaws what so ever. Not that I can play most of the chords I really enjoy this instrument and my musician friends say wow!, a drummer that knows chords. I highly recommend this Uke. You will not be disappointed.

  • from Eugene, OR June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Director and Producer

    Excellent Addition to the Guitarist's Arsenal

    This is a lovely little instrument, great for the gigging guitarist looking to add a bit of character to songs and arrangements. It holds its tune well, the action is solid, and the tone is bright and sweet.

  • from September 5, 2014

    Well made

    Well made instrument. Excellent finish, gears nice and smooth, just not enamored with the sound. Doesn't carry nearly as well as I had hoped. This is my first Tenor and maybe my expectations were a little higher than they should have been. I did not have an opportunity to test drive a Cordoba or compare with others before I purchased. That being said, even tho I am a bit disappointed I am not sure if it was my expectations or the instrument,as this is obviously a quality Ukulele. I am thinking seriously about a second tenor and will do some more investigating before investing. If so, given the opportunity, I may want to revise this review afterwords.

  • from July 25, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar, drums, keyboards, ukulele?

    You better like to work on things

    This thing is totally unplayable. It sounds good but the action is horrible. I would have to spend a half a day getting it right and then I might mess it up. Anyway I should not have to rebuild it after paying good money for it. If anyone decides to try it pleasa do not buy it for a kid. I have been playing guitar for years and my fingers were screaming after a short time with it. This sucker is on it's way back before I el ka bong it over my fence post.

Questions about the Cordoba 20TM-CE 20 Series Tenor Cutaway-Electric Ukulele?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway