0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Event 20/20BAS Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Fort Knox, KY August 27, 2015Music Background:
    Live Sound, Arranging, MIDI Orchestration

    Outstanding.

    Recently I have used the Yamaha HS8's and Focal CMS 65's at work. While I was satisfied with the performance of both, I decided to take a risk for my home studio and picked up a pair of 20/20BAS v3's without hearing them in action. The risk was well worth it as I've got a pair of home monitors that look and sound as professional as anything on the market at a very affordable price.

    Many people who make a comfortable living in the music business use these monitors. While "you get what you pay for" applies in some circumstances, there is diminishing returns to a point when it comes to studio monitors. While I really enjoy mixing on my CMS 65's at work, I see no difference in terms of quality when mixing at home on my 20/20's. Mixes translate very well to computer speakers, car audio and headphones. You will not regret this purchase!

  • from Monterrey, N.L. August 19, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Maybe don't be the

    A few opinions:

    1-Can sound Loud and Clear.
    2-Great Low End.
    3-Good depth and clarity.
    4-If you need to do some adjust depending of your room,this monitors have his LF and HF shelf and a general gain.
    5-Excellent price.

    For me the only Cons:
    1-Switch (on-off) is in the back.

  • from June 15, 2012

    Acoustic sound and strong

    Low frequency is very clear, mid and hi are nature and easy to mix. Sentivity is good and system is one strong! I really love it

  • from Usa March 21, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    A

    Its official loving em..!!! Thats all i got to say

  • from United States January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, producer, sound designer

    Better than ever!

    I bought the Event 20/20's in 1996 and have been completely satisfied with them. I have been thinking for a while about upgrading and have spent a lot of time listening to other speakers in this price range and always came back to the Event 20/20 I bought as reference. Then one of my Event speakers quit working (living in Hawaii that happens) so I decided to give the new Event 20/20BAS speakers a try. WOW!! Am I glad I did. They are even better that they were before. Absolutely love them!!

  • from Ossining, NY January 2, 2015Music Background:
    Career NYC sax & woodwind player

    Clear & Distinct

    I'm sure with all the very high priced monitors out in the market you would fine some sort of distinction to give it a "blown away" rating. My new Events are just as great as anything I've ever heard. You don't need to spend thousands. Very clear highs, good mids and soild bass without being obtrusive. Sending out sax tracks from my studio, I need make sure the track I've received to play on is sonically correct. Now, I have no worries. So worth it.

  • from Fresno, CA. March 15, 2012Music Background:
    TV executive

    These meet our needs and then some

    We needed a quality V.O.G. to fill our 900 square foot studio with honest sound and these speakers fill the bill very nicely

  • from USA November 14, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Audio Engineer, Sound Designer

    Fantastic sound, but a few issues

    First things first, if you're interested in the sound quality, it's top notch. I'd definitely give these speakers five stars for sound alone.

    My old speakers were Yamaha MSP 10 Studio speakers and they didn't sound nearly as clean and were missing a bit in the lows. For some reason the Yamaha's were way more expensive and felt like they were designed to require the sub woofer, which I had, but didn't always like using. After years of listening to these speakers that a friend of mine has, I decided to get rid of the Yamaha's and replace them with the new Event 20/20bas speakers.

    The biggest let down for me with these speakers is the fact that barely 3 months after purchasing them, one speaker simply stopped powering up. I checked everything I could (power cable, fuse, power source, etc) and contacted both Sweetwater and Event Audio to no avail. The speaker was dead and I needed a replacement. Since it was beyond 30-90 days, I was stuck paying shipping back to Event Audio for a replacement. Sweetwater was extremely helpful throughout the process, however, and in hindsight I wonder if I should have gone through them for the replacement. Event Audio took several weeks to get my replacement to me and when it arrived, it was slightly different. The new version of these speakers no longer includes the RCA input jack, so I have one speaker with an RCA in and one without. Other than that, they're identical, however.

    The build quality feels and looks fantastic, but it's obviously not without it's flaws. I really wanted to rate these speakers higher because they sound so great and the original model (which my friend has) seems to be of superior quality as they've lasted many, many years with heavy use, whereas the new model which I have has already needed replacement in less than a year with moderate use.

Questions about the Event 20/20BAS?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close