0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

SKB GB66 Electric Guitar Gig Bag - Black Reviews

4.0 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the SKB GB66 Electric Guitar Gig Bag - Black?

Questions about the SKB GB66 Electric Guitar Gig Bag - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Gary Walters
    from November 9, 2015

    Gig bag

    This gig bag fit my sons epiphone great and has lots of storage for extra stings,picks,boos.etc

  • Ben Thayer
    from Crozier, VA December 8, 2014Music Background:
    30+ yrs electric and acoustic semi-pro. Gigging, teaching, high end and medium (bar gig) gear.

    It Fits a Jazzmaster!

    Ditto to all the previous positive reviews, to which I'll add:

    1. The dimensions are as spec'd, unlike several other brands which seem to think that "outside" measurement means "inside" measurement.

    2. It fits my Fender AVRI Jazzmaster. This is very important because I can never remember which arm I last carried it in its hardshell case. So, if I did not give each arm equal time, then at the gigs one arm was always slightly longer than the other and it looked like I was either playing an upright bass or trying to scratch a persistent itch on my left shin.

    It also has the unadvertised bonus of two velco-latching pockets inside the medium pocket w/ pen holders and room for yet more toys.

    Most importantly, It Fits a Jazzmaster! Perfectly!

    Stop shopping around and just buy the thing now from Sweetwater.

  • Dizzy Gillespie
    from Dizz October 19, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Muscian

    SKB 1SKB-GB66

    Every SKB Cases I get is more than i could expect, everything is what i want and more.
    Why pay more for a case when theses have all i want.alll my guitars go in SKB and Always will

  • Todd Gilbert
    from Tyler, TX May 22, 2014Music Background:
    Church worship leader & music director

    Great product for the money!

    This bag definitely delivers more than I was expecting. It appears to be well made and the padding is thicker than I thought it would be. Here are a few features or details that I don't think were in the product description.

    1) The backpack straps on the back are easily removable if you don't want to use them. My old gig bag had a strap that just hung there and got in the way because I just use the handle.

    2) The largest pocket (there are 3 on the front!) will hold a 1 1/2" 3-ring binder with charts OR several cables and/or stomp boxes...or for you young folks...your iPAD or laptop.

    3) The medium-sized pocket has 3 smaller pockets inside that are good for things like tools, picks, capos, slides, E-bows and the like. And then you can still get strings or cables into the medium pocket.

    4) The third front pocket is also good for a cable or some strings and miscellaneous small stuff.

    5) The inside is reinforced where the headstock will be (both front and back) as well as where the bridge will be. This should work much better than my last gig bag which got shredded on the inside where the cut-off string ends snagged the light nylon.

    This bag fits both my Strat and my Les Paul pretty well. There's a little wiggle room, but not much. While it isn't rigid or a hard case, if it is standing up and falls over with a guitar inside, I think the guitar would be fine.

    I own other SKB gear and it has held up well. When a handle came off of a case after 10 + years of heavy use, they were great and sent me a replacement with no hassle. I'll be using this bag at least once a week and I expect it to do well. I highly recommend it.

  • George Wrigley
    from United States February 24, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Mucisian

    Excellent Guitar Bag

    This is an excellent bag as it is well padded really protects. It has wonderful straps and handles so it can be carried many different ways.
    I love all the pockets to store your guitar gear. A great value.

  • Anthony
    from Chicago Il. May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar pkayer

    Ya good deal

    Ya was really surprised the Gita came in great shape and the candy did not expect that all got the next day free so that was really cool.

  • Ed Schaefer
    from Austin, Tx February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Musician / luthier

    1SKB-GB66

    Best little gig bag for solid bodies money can buy and you get them almost instantly!

  • Dave
    from The 'burbs of Chicago. July 20, 2016Music Background:
    Professional* guitar player. (I may not be famous, but according to the IRS I've been making my whole living from guitar and music for over 20 years now). :)

    Great bag for the money!

    The only reason I haven't given a 5-star review is that I only have had the bag for a little while now. Everything about it is great. The only thing is that although the lining is fine for the guitar, we all know that the tuning pegs (and their notorious string ends that poke out) always eat up the inside linings of guitar gig bags. Even though this bag is an inexpensive model, it would've been nice for it to have at least some little extra protection from the tuning peg issue. But again, the bag is great, the deal was great, but the free shipping and customer service that comes along with the deal from Sweetwater is awesome!

  • Customer
    from March 18, 2016

    Solid Bag

    Great bag for the price, fit my hofner ct club perfectly

  • Charlie
    from Oakdale, MN March 21, 2015

    Great Value

    Bought this for an inexpensive guitar. For the price, this was much better than I expected and fit my needs perfectly.

  • Gene Yeager
    from Naples, FL February 23, 2015Music Background:
    Working Pro of 40 years

    SKB 1SKB-GB66 Padded Electric Guitar Gig bag

    Great Product for price!

  • joseph martin
    from United States December 12, 2013Music Background:
    amateur musican

    oh my achking arm!

    after carrying my strat in the original hard case my arm became so weak i could no longer take it out of the house!

    after seeing all the kids with their guitars in gig bags like a napsake i called my rep at Sweetwater Phil Schwan and aked about the SKB gig bag and he said it offers the same protection as an original gig bag !

    i got it and now can tote my strat anywhere with this gig napsack , super padded and the zipper pockets make it so useful holding all my gear neat and easy to find , even holds full size music books a definate plus ! love it and would recommend it to anyone tired of lugging that original hard case! Great Product!!!!!!!

  • Tim
    from Bentonville, Arkansas October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Product for the $$

    I ordered this gig bag for my Schecter. Of couse, Sweetwaters service was top notch and I received the order within 3 days. The Gig Bag has plenty of padding and seems very durable to keep your axe protected. It has plenty of pockets for cables/picks/etc. For the price..its a great investment to keep your guitar properly protected.

  • Kent Urbine
    from Avondale, Arizona August 15, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and Home Studio (Presonus & Creation Station)owner.

    SKB Electric GIG bag

    An Excellent, almost must Have, Item for a player doing local type Gigs! Very well made and much easier on doors & fenders when transporting your own AXE!!

  • Ken Landis
    from Gap, PA June 21, 2013Music Background:
    started playing in 1963 (Beatles) write, record,play 60's and 70's now in a worship band and growing both musically and spiritually!

    Great gig bag! ! !

    Well padded. tight fitting which is great , case itself is more than nice.

    Only one disappointment, wish they would have used metal zipper pulls because I had the small bag pull break off the day I got it!

  • jon castile
    from California December 30, 2016

    nice

    I love these bags. That's why I bought 3

  • Mark
    from Kansas City Mo May 8, 2015

    nice bag

    better than I expected, decent padding and lots of pockets for storage.
    seems like it is made very well.

  • Steve
    from Florida June 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician.

    SKB gig bag

    Great bag. Well appointed and padded. I didn't give it a 5 because I don't know how long it'll hold up.

  • KENNETH HERPIN
    from United States October 18, 2013Music Background:
    BEEN PLAYING SINCE 1960

    NO PROBLEMS

    THIS BAG DOES EXACTLY WHAT IT'S SUPPOSED TO- - PROTECT! PLENTY OF STORAGE AND EASY TO CARRY. OUTSTANDING WORKMANSHIP AND QUALITY MATERIALS. THE SERVICE IS FAST AND EFFICIENT. NO COMPLAINTS HERE

  • Customer
    from Missouri December 22, 2015

    SKB 1skb-gb66 Gig Bag

    First gig bag I've bought, so I wasn't sure what to expect at the price paid for this inexpensive gig bag. It gets some big plus marks for the amount of storage compartments. It will hold a Stratocaster or a Les Paul. The zipper goes fully across the top end and about half way across the bottom end, so it does not open to lie flat and the guitar must be slide into the bag. That is not a negative, just something that I didn't expect. There are no molded in sides within the padding. The carry straps are good if you want to carry your guitar like a back pack. There is a carry handle on the side and another handle on the back near the top that may be used to hang it up. I wouldn't recommend this for a $1000 guitar, but it will provide some pretty good protection from small bumps when carrying a guitar around. I may give this to my granddaughter for carrying her guitar to lessons and get a little higher end gig bag or continue to use hard cases for carrying my guitars places. For the price, this is a pretty good item that is probably quite functional.

  • Steve R.
    from United States January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Musician / Producer

    Really good for the price

    Overall, this is a good quality gig-bag for the money. It was a purchase for my son's Ibanez - and it was a step-up (in both pockets and protection) from the plain gig-bag he was using before. From the photos, however, I was almost expecting it to be more like the higher-quality of another G&L gig bag I have - which looks very similar in design. The SKB, however, has a substantially thinner padding - and the interior is a lighter nylon material (as opposed to the thick padding and cloth interior of the G&L bag). The SKB bag is floppy without the guitar inside - and while I wouldn't trust it for any serious protection - it's a good light bag for carrying a sturdy guitar around. Again, for the price, a good deal.

  • Ron
    from Canton Ga December 26, 2016

    Not as good as I thought

    The bag is just average, the padding is very light and is not what I thought it would be. The plastic strap attachments and even zipper to me are just not high quality. It will not even stay up by itself. I have seen much better, stronger and heavier padding than this bag. I have a USA CASE that I have had over 20 years, solid and it is still like new.

  • Mike
    from Silicon Valley August 24, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    A little light on padding

    Not a bad looking gig bag, but I didn't care for the lightweight padding. They could put more without adding much to the price. It otherwise seems well made, not for heavy use. I'm sending it back.

  • Craig
    from Brooklyn, NY April 7, 2016

    You get what you pay for.

    The price of this bag is low for a reason. Padding is good. Carry handle is good. A couple of the zipper pulls broke off during first or second use. I figured I could still use the compartments with a little more effort minus the zipper pull. Then, right at one year of what I would consider gentle use (not used for touring, or long distance travelling) the plastic shoulder strap connectors began to break. I'm carrying a guitar that weighs 7.6 lbs on a 25 minute round trip walk once a week. It's ok. I can use some stronger caribbean clips with the woven eyelets. Then, the plastic strap adjustment clips break. Ugh! I called SKB and Sweetwater to see if there was anything they could do but because a year had passed, nothing. I understand. Nothing lasts forever. I kept using it until the seams started coming apart and foam padding was coming out. Absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE Sweetwater. Always a positive experience. Zero love for SKB and this bag. It's probably a good bag for storing a guitar you never use in a closet somewhere. I have several guitars in all kinds of cases. Even some hardshell SKB cases that I'm thinking of getting rid of. The free gig bags I have with shop logos on them are way more reliable and cheaper (FREE!)

  • dbr
    from Weston, CT December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist gigging for fun

    Not durable

    This could be the solution for Les Paul owners, but alas, the quality is terrible. I have gone through three of these cases in under a year; the zipper keeps breaking making it impossible to use.

    Too bad, could have been the one.

Questions about the SKB GB66 Electric Guitar Gig Bag - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close