rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Marshall 1987X 50-watt Plexi Tube Head with FX Loop Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Marshall 1987X 50-watt Plexi Tube Head with FX Loop?

Questions about the Marshall 1987X 50-watt Plexi Tube Head with FX Loop?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Sahan Ulgen
    from Istanbul December 29, 2016Music Background:
    Audio engineer

    Simply vintage

    After being played many great amps for the last 20 years I became very choosy and spoiled. At first I decided to sell it but luckily no one bought it until I understood what a mistake it was. This amp can not do the high gain modern stuff, it is frustrating to see that you need pedals in front to push it for that but when you push it does a very unique throaty and vintage type hi gain that no other amp can do. However it nails every other amp in crunch. Just max the two channels, gang them and you'd get in heaven. For clean stuff it is indispensable for country style or any type of clean sound that cuts through any dense mix without a touch of eq. The eq controls are totally useless because they seem like boosting or cutting a few dbs even at maximums but I tell you, no need for them, the amp itself sounds very unique. Another important thing is, this amp sounds dull with v30s, you need to put it through a g12h75 30 watt, then you will know what I'm talking about. I deleted the add I put for selling it after actually changing the speaker. I also highly recommend a hi output pickup since classic seymour duncan 59s are just the worst choice for this amp (dimarzio's super dist pups made me a happy man!).

  • Heath
    from Illinois November 19, 2016

    Marshall 1987x

    I have owned many different Marshall amps over the years some to loud and can't play many places and some just not loud enough to get the tone I'm looking for but the Marshall 1987x is the way to go for me. This amp is still very loud and it takes a few days to dial it in but this baby has got the British bite of its big brother the 1959 super lead for sure ( I have one of them to) This amp is loud at 1 to 3 then it just gets dirty dirty I like it. But that is still the perfect sound for me at studio level and most gigs with out a PA on my cabs. This amp does not have any head room it's all gain if you want a little clean you'll have to roll the old volume knobs down on your Paul's. I have not modded this and never will it's perfect some people change the Brite cap to give more head room and more clean at lower volume but why do that just get a different and because this amp was made to grind rite out of the box

  • Ty Carney
    from United States January 18, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Best amp on the market.

    I bought this amp about a month ago, it has always been my dream amp and I finally ordered one after all the years of debate. At first I was nervous because I've played Orange amps all my life and honestly didn't think anything could stack up to the AD30. I couldn't have been more wrong, this amp is amazing! Very versatile, great for blues, classic rock, jazz and even country. The only thing I would say is that this amp is EXTREMELY LOUD!!!! & by that I mean knock the walls down, blow your ear drums out type loud. An attenuator is a must for this amp unless you live alone and your nearest neighbor is a good distance away. Other then that it's perfect... we play mostly originals but do cover some Led Zeppelin, Eric Clapton, Fleetwood Mac, etc,etc. & this amp covers all those signature tones perfectly. Especially that of Jimmy Page. If you're in the market for a beautiful tube amp, this is ( in my opinion) the only way to go. I give this amp a 20 outta 10.

  • bo
    from Pueblo, Co March 22, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/dj/Hobbyist

    If your looking for that classic crunch this is it!

    Great amp! Sounds good no matter what you have the settings on! However it is very very loud, and there is only one way to run it which is cranked. I'm sure if you are looking into purchasing one you know that already, this is not a bedroom amp! I would highly recommend a good attenuator to tame this beast. Overall this is a killer amp for blues/classic rock if that's what you're looking for. This thing rocks, super articulate, clear and the distortion is just creamy goodness!! The 4 inputs are great as you can easily find a tone that suits you with bridging the different inputs and what not. It also has an fx loop which is a great feature as original plexi's did not have this feature but it is not intrusive at all. I've been running it with a noise supressor/wah/bbe green screamer if i just need a little more gain and i also use and eq pedal for a nice cleans boost and this thing just sings. It is very natural sounding and not overly processed like most amps today. I switched out the preamp tubes to some NOS Rca 12ax7a's and those made it even more creamy and a little less bright which i think made this thing just about perfect. If your looking for that classic crunch and the sound that made rock this is it, you won't be dissappointed!!!

  • Greg
    from North Carolina January 28, 2015Music Background:
    Blues Rock artist & gear freak

    Great Vintage Tone

    Everything you would expect from a legendary amp. It really comes alive when channel 1 & 2 are bridged together. The channels separately are not great unless bass & treble is adjusted in front of the amp with effects. Amp came came classic Winged C el34 tubes...unbelievable bass & really bright treble. Tubes were biased a little hot. Overall great vintage tone & sustain during breakup...Luv the Plexi 50 watt!

  • Patrick
    from Illinois May 10, 2017Music Background:
    Touring cover band

    Great Amp

    This amp is excellent - I tour with a 1975 Marshall Super Lead and use this as a back up - our engineer loves the time of both

  • jim
    from June 19, 2017

    dead in the water

    Received my plexi, plugged in, hissing was incredible, switching to stand by , a loud pop,switched main off loud pop accompanied by a fireworks type whistle,Mat from tech support sent me a pre amp stage tube to try to replace pres. in case that was it, nope, called tech support again they are shipping me a replacement.
    Sweetwater rocks

  • Jeff
    from RI July 29, 2015Music Background:
    Studio Pro

    Owned the first 1987x (no effects loop)

    I owned the very first 1987x reissue 50 watt head which didn't include the tone draining effects loop they put in 2nd generation...My amp had to be played loud to get over the unwanted white hum the amp had from just being idled or playing soft with volume low.

    I eventually changed out the power tubes which only gave the amp a sharper bite instead in the head room and lost some of the fat saggy tone I was getting which to me sounded better from the power tubes being broken in...Changing the pre-amp and power tubes didn't remove the unwanted white noise I heard when the amp was switched on and not on stand-by ready to play.

    I thought I got a bad amp till I read this on a message board which confirmed to me I wasn't the only person with the noise issue.

    Some amp tech posted on a Geek Amp message board that Marshall used an improper unshielded wire on one of the grid caps which was the culprit of the noise in the 1987x...They may have corrected it latter making the 2nd generation with effects loop but I am not sure cause I owned the first run reissue without effects loop...Marshall never agreed to recall or at least compensate owners for the repair needed to get this amp to sound quieter.

    This is what was POSTED on a Geek Amp Marshall forum; "Regarding the ever present hum in the 1987x", it is caused in part by the 68k grid resistor being mounted on the board and the Marshall factory not using a shielded wire...They should be right on the valve socket pins 2 & 6 using shielded wire with a shield grounded at the pot bus only...
    Using shielded wire from the volume and tone potentiometers in a similar manner will help in reducing noise....
    To get closer to the 69' specifications (1987x is modeled after) Specification change R1 to 2.7Ki and add a .68uf cap across R11.

    I hope this helps if your amp is producing the same unwanted noise mine produced...

Questions about the Marshall 1987X 50-watt Plexi Tube Head with FX Loop?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway