rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Taylor 150e - Dreadnought 12 String Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from Michigan November 25, 2015Music Background:
    Church worship leader

    Couldn't be happier

    I was reluctant to buy a guitar at this price because I didn't think I could get a quality 12 string under $1000 - but I'm blown away by the 150e. It plays and sounds to my ear like the $2000+ Taylor 12s. The positives: shimmering, sparkling highs, rich low, spot on set up, Taylor fit and finish, very easy action. It's a cannon - huge sound.

    The minuses: Gig bag (a nice one) as opposed to hard shell case.

    I haven't heard it through a sound system yet, but because it has the Expression system used in the high end Taylor I expect it to sounds great.

    You can't go wrong buying this guitar.

  • from kalamazoo michigan 49004 November 12, 2015Music Background:
    playing for 20 years

    taylor 150 e 12 string

    love the sound, good action, very impressed on how nice this guitar is and the service was outstanding would highly recommend this company to anyone in the market for their musical needs.

  • from kalamazoo michigan 49004 November 12, 2015Music Background:
    playing for 20 years

    taylor 150 e 12 string

    love the sound good action great job setting up the guitar play easy thanks

  • from Rives, Tennessee USA September 12, 2015Music Background:
    Church Musician/Hobbyist

    This Taylor 12-String Rocks!!!

    Even though I bought my Taylor 150e 12-string from Sweetwater six months ago, I waited until now to write a review.

    I sing and play mostly at church services and nursing homes. I've been playing guitar for over ten years, but did not really get into 12-strings until three years ago. The Chinese-made 12-string I previously owned started to hurt my shoulder when I played it, so I started looking for a replacement.

    I became interested in the Taylor 150e when it came out last year and all the guitar magazines were raving about it. I listened to a few user reviews on YouTube and like how the guitar sounded; which led me to order one from Sweetwater.

    This Taylor is not only the most playable 12-string acoustic guitar I've ever own; it is the most playable acoustic guitar I've ever own PERIOD! It plays like a dream and I can play for a long time without it ever hurting me. It also sounds like a dream; both unplugged and plugged. I get a lot of compliments on how it sounds. Even though Taylor recommends 80/20 strings for this guitar, I 've found that phosphor bronze strings really give it more"jangle." I played it nearly everyday and the guitar has really opened up in the past few months.

    The only thing I can see wrong with the whole package is the Taylor Gig Bag that came with it; it doesn't have any neck support in it at all and it appears to be barely long enough. Fortunately, I had a tweed Musician's Gear that the guitar fit in like a glove and was long enough and deep enough for the head stock. A piece of advice: The head stock for the Taylor 150e is at a sharper angle than some 12-strings so take care in choosing a case or gig bag for it. Make sure the case is long enough and deep enough to accomodate the head stock without it touching anywhere.

    All in All, the Taylor 150e has become my "go to" guitar. Don't be afraid to buy one.

  • from Apple Valley, MN August 29, 2015

    Great 12 String!

    It had been years since I had played a 12 string and once I decided I wanted one, deciding on a Taylor was pretty much automatic. I own a Taylor 310ce and love it. So I was expecting the same playability and quality. I wasn't disappointed. I did get a chance to play a 150e at a local retail store, but held off purchasing so I could order it from Sweetwater. I had bought a few small items from them in the past and was pleased with the service and they were a bit cheaper on this 150e. Sweetwater was super in getting my new 150e to me - played great out of the box. I did take it to a trusted luthier, but it only needed some very minor tweaks. So thanks Sweetwater for a great well priced quality Taylor.

  • from May 30, 2015Music Background:
    Music enthusiast

    Absolute superiority!!!

    The playability of this instrument is incredible. The grouping of the strings are absolutely spot on economically. The action is atomically placed. The voicing is clean and sharp it almost chimes. The neck is Taylor (nuff said). The finish is gorgeous and natural looking. You WILL NOT find a better playing 12 string in my opinion. Buying from Sweetwater is a no brainier for me. These guys are pros.

  • from Columbus Ohio April 24, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced

    Taylor 15e - 12 string

    Exceptional tone for a mid-level price. Intonation spot-on. Frets polished and action low from factory. Excellent projection unamplified, phenomenal plugged in. Electronics superb. Even the soft-shell case was high quality. Played many 12's, but nothing comes close to this. Service top-notch also. Highly recommended.

  • from April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Acoustic guitar player

    Taylor 150e 12-String

    Taylor Guitar makes the Best! Had to get this 12-string,most affordable ,still beats the others that cost much more.Great sound,playability,and the ES pick up produces the best natural acoustic sound.Love my Taylor's.Thanks Patrick for giving me another great deal.

  • from Hurst, TX July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Armchair player for 45 years.

    A Great guitar at a great price.

    The introduction of this guitar was an answer to my wish. I had been looking for a 12 String guitar and everything on the market was either too expensive for the high end guitars or lacked good sound quality with the inexpensive ones. This guitar nails that need. Taylor makes exceptional sounding guitars and this one met my price range and sound expectations. This one's a keeper.

  • from Atlanta, GA June 16, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    first Taylor 12-string and 100 series

    I'm very impressed with the instrument. I know what I expect from Taylor guitars so I had very high expectations. I was not disappointed.

    Appearance: Very stock. Black binding, black pick guard, plastic bridge pins, no gloss. Very much what you'd come to expect from a 100 series, mini, or baby Taylor.
    Playability: The action and speed of the Taylor neck is hard to beat and the 150e is no exception. Super smooth and easy to play from top to bottom of the fretboard. No buzzing despite very low action at the 12th and light gauge strings. Absolutely a ball to play. This is my third 12-string and hands down the best sounding one to date.

    I made a few quick mods right out of the box. 1st I changed out the plastic bridge pins for ebony pins with pearl dots. 2nd I removed the pick guard. I love the natural look of an acoustic and because my 150e is less than 30 days old and case kept since leaving the factory, I had zero sun tan marks. Looks fantastic!

    Overall I'd say I am very very satisfied with my purchase. I'd looked, played, and considered buying a Taylor 12-sting for years and years. Price was always a factor. I could never justify spending $2000 on a secondary guitar. $700 is an entirely different story. When my Taylor Magazine arrived on Tuesday I discovered they were manufacturing a 100 series 12-string. By Wednesday morning my Sweetwater order was in.
    If you're looking for a quality sounding 12-string under a $1000 look no further.

  • from March 24, 2015

    No brainer!

    Very happy with this purchase. Took a chance and didnt try one out but I thought, Its a Taylor, its Sweetwater...cant go wrong...and it didnt.
    If you are in the market for a 12-string, this is a great acoustic and the higher end Taylor Expression electronics translates it all nicely to my PA/DAW.
    Even received free professional photos of my guitar...nice touch!

  • from August 12, 2015

    Wanted to love it

    I read all the rave reviews, finally had the chance to play one locally. Action was low and it sounded great, so I took the plunge. Ordered one, and when it showed up I was disappointed to see that it was not of the same caliber as the one at the store. The action at the nut was so high that an F chord was impossible to play. The sound was thin and tinny. The bridge was discolored. I just got the feeling of very poor quality. I sent it back. I notice that the lower star reviews get put to the bottom, so you may not get a chance to read this, sorry, I'm just being real.

Questions about the Taylor 150e - Dreadnought 12 String?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway