0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Vintech 1272 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Edgewood, WA June 24, 2013Music Background:
    Studio and live engineer, producer and player.

    Vintage Monster

    I've had two of these in my preamp racks for 8 years now and if you want a truly vintage sounding preamp this will give you that. If I remember correctly the original wasn't a preamp but a line amp(?)- not a great choice for weak output mics. No matter, Vintech made it a preamp and it is so 70's you'll be looking for bell-bottoms...

  • from Saratoga Springs, NY February 9, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Sorry I waited so long!

    I have been eyeing this piece for some time and finally decided to pull the trigger. It sounds fantastic. Everything I run through it just sounds 'fuller'. You can drive the input transformer and balance the signal with the output control to add a natural compression to the signal which just sounds plain ole GOOD. The tracks sit better in the mix after they have been run through this unit.
    I also strapped it on the Stereo outs of my DM3200 per another review on this piece of gear and was pleasantly surprised at the width and clarity of my mixes now.
    Did it make me fall out of my chair on the 2 buss? No, but I noticed the difference and was very happy with the subtle way it effected my entire mix.
    I would highly recommend this as a mic preamp and also on a mix buss to add some transformer gooey-ness to the mixes.
    I'm no longer trying tube preamps to get that sound, just hitting some solid transformers now and I am very happy!!

  • from Orange County, CA April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Composer, Musician

    Thick and creamy..

    I've been using the Dual 72 everyday on almost every source imaginable for about the last 3 years. It and has never let me down. I tend to like things on the warmer side and the Dual 72 gets me there without inducing mud or a lack of articulation. It has a very pleasing low-mid glow that breathes life into almost everything I run through it (especially on acoustic guitars!). It's a great way to warm up the front end of your DAW and with the variable input sensitivity and output gain on each channel you can dial in a wide variety of tones.

  • from San Juan, Puerto Rico February 23, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, Musical Producer and Audio PostProduction for WAPA TV Station.

    2 buss preamp

    I'm recording with a Tascam DM-3200 digital mixer, but it's so transparent. I pass the console in the insert mode for 2 buss preamp to add color to the whole mix. Wow is fantastic. It's more deep, more space. Now the Dm-3200 sound like a big analog cosole ala NEVE. The transformer inside i thinks that are customs. Not Carhill or St.Ives (For me sound better). The best preamp for multitool mode.

  • from Parkland, FL January 7, 2010Music Background:
    Engineer, Pro-Musician, Producer, Songwriter

    Mulitipurpose tool

    It's amazing how incredible this thing is on so many sources. Even the most unlikely things, this preamp excels on. It is very thick and gooey. Bass just has an energy and excitement to it. Guitars are creamy and in your face. On room mic duty, squashed nicely with 1176's in British mode, your drums will never sound bigger. Then on vocals, with a simple and inexpensive mic such as a Studio Projects C1, you'd be hard pressed to acheive a more agressive yet refined vocal tone for rock music. Running your 2bus into 2 Countryman Type 85's going into this things reminds you of what a Neve really does to things. Keep the top in tact but rounds it up a bit. Can't afford an SSL bus comp, but still want glue to your mix, run it through this thing. The 1272 was in fact the original output section for many Neve consoles afterall so no wonder it sounds good on this duty. The possibilities are endless. Get ready for huge, punchy agressive...or tone down the gain and get more refined. The way the St. Ives trannies saturate is just to die for. I've never run into a situation where this thing didn't have enough gain(for those of you who are holding out for the horrible rumors about that regarding this unit). This probably comes from the fact that most other units who use an input gain and output trim design, they tend to showcase their most usable gain range around the middle. For this unit, it lives at -40 for me. On loud distotion guitars I hit those transformers hard at -50 and I love it!! I think anyone would enjoy this unit.

  • from Tacoma, WA February 13, 2007Music Background:
    Musician/Basement Recording Engineer

    Thick.

    I accidently got the "Back in Black" kick and snare sound by tracking drums with one of these. Used a D112 on the kick and an SM57 on the snare -- no EQ required! This preamp makes drums sound huge, yet controlled. They have a nice punchy thump that hits you in the chest with big speakers. They don't overload small speakers, and the kick is still nice and loud even on cheap clock/radios and boom boxes.

    It's kind of a one-trick pony though... If you don't want an incredibly HUGE and thick sound, you'll have to track through something else.

  • from California April 30, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer

    Dual 72

    I received what I wanted. How can you complain when you have a pre based upon the design of one of the best. Vintech makes a stellar product, this strip completes the task of providing plenty of thick tone. Whether used for tracking or mixing, this channel strip can dramatically improve your signals strength with old school vibes (think of jamming Hendrix or Stevie and hearing their strats fat tone hit where it counts). Don't buy this if you want a transparent signal path.

    Great buy for analogue or daw.

  • from St.Louis October 1, 2008Music Background:
    musician, engineer, producer

    Nice preamp, Nice price

    This is a great preamp, and a good way to get into the pro level of gear. It shines on electric guitars, makes eq seem unnecessary. I like it on vocals a lot too. Not my choice for acoustic guitar or overheads as much as some of my other pre's that are faster, but it is a good beefy sound that works well in a lot of applications. Not a ton of gain, so for quieter stuff you might need a pre with more gain. If nothing else, it is perfect for loud guitar amps.

  • from Los Angeles June 1, 2005

    Vintech Dual 72

    These preamps have taken my Digi 002 rig and lifted it to new heights of sonic supremacy. Drums absolutely fly out of the speakers now, guitars have more girth, vocals aren't sibilant, and bass is thick, thick, thick.
    I want more.
    Thanks Delvin!

Questions about the Vintech 1272?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway