0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Behringer Xenyx 1202FX Mixer with Effects Reviews

4.5 stars based on 42 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer Xenyx 1202FX Mixer with Effects?

Questions about the Behringer Xenyx 1202FX Mixer with Effects?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from November 15, 2016

    Perfect small mixer

    Perfect mixer for small venues or home practice studios

  • from Durango, Colorado March 9, 2016

    Simply Great!

    I have been using this little mixer with my Bose L1 Compact for several years now. It's easy, it's cheap and it's perfect for a solo or duo or trio with acoustic instruments. It is a perfect compliment for the Bose Compact for a fifth of the price of a Bose Tone Engine. With this and my Bose I am set up for a gig in 15 minutes. If it died on me I would buy the exact same one but it has never been a problem. Totally dead, stone silent and the vocal effects are fantastic. I have also used this for my saxophones effects when I sit it with other bands before going to their boards.

    P.S. Sweetwater is my favorite on-line music store. The fastest shipping and best customer service!

  • from abilene tx October 2, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    It is what it is!!!

    Just a small mixer that does exactly what it is supposed to do. Very quiet and layer out well. Nothing bad to say. Buy if ya need it. Don't if ya dont!

  • from September 14, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician worship leader

    Behringer1202fx

    Excellent little mixer, has very nice effects and good clean sound

  • from Palm Bay, FL March 24, 2015Music Background:
    novice/intermediate experience

    Better than expected !!!

    This small unit does everything as advertised, but with great ease of use. A great product at a great price!! Used along with a Fender P150 Amp system, and it all sounds awesome. No noticeable "bleed/noise from unit into amp, nor any deficiencies in the sound while making adjustments "on the fly". More than satisfied with it's quality and with the customer service from the SWEETWATER team, From order to delivery, and even post sales these guys are helpful with any question or concern!!!!

  • from Texas August 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome service and great product

    This is my first so not sure what to expect but this has really improved my sound and vocals, I really like using the headphone jacks also. I am very happy with this and makes me want to play more often. I really like how sweetwater calls every time I order,and the three payments is also cool !!! 5 stars

  • from Texas July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Works Great

    I didn't really expect much when I ordered this but it surprised me.
    I use it for a sub mixer, because I play guitar and keys and a lot of bands I gig with don't have enough channels to support me thanks to all you drummers out there .I do my own mixing and only use one channel on their system. So far it works great..

  • from Bourbon, MO May 24, 2014Music Background:
    Home recording

    Great service and products

    Honestly you don't find this kind of service much anymore the staff is friendly and willing to take the time to help you with what you purchase this board is just what I was looking for, something with a good selection of effects and easy to use this fit that bill perfectly.
    Thanks Sweetwater I will be back often!

  • from Clermont, FL March 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Work-horse!

    If you want a mixer that can do the job without busting your budget...then this mixer is for you! Thanks JK at Sweetwater for your help!

  • from Cookeville,Tennessee September 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Awesome Mixer

    This little mixer does it all and at a great price too!
    With it's effects and 3 band eq... WOW!...it gets the job done!
    I use it for smaller gigs and mix 2 vocals and acoustic guitar without a problem.

  • from Glens Falls, New York August 21, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-retired musician

    Get out the superlatives for this mic mixer

    Incredibly versatile, clean, great parametric eq, and compact, hell it's tiny. I use it for the band, for mixing recording , for practicing, with a looper, and if I ever need more mic inputs I'll probably just get another one and run them in series. Love it!

  • from Gastonia NC May 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby

    Behringer Xenyx 1202FX

    I have searched several music companies to do online karaoke. This is the swetest liitle machine I have ever used. Has all the features anyone would ever need. I would like to thank Jason at Sweetwater for all his help and follow up calls to make sure everything was working ok.

  • from Michigan May 20, 2016Music Background:
    Experienced Musician

    Great Value

    For the money this mixer is a tremendous value. The reverb is better than average and overall this unit pulls off everything it should at this price point.

  • from Delaware May 4, 2016Music Background:
    Solo recording artist/multi-instrumentalist/sound engineer

    Great Mixer!

    Very good mixer. Excellent effects. My only gripes are (A) it lacks the ability to compress signals, and (B) though the effect settings are spectacular--one effect fits all style. One can not assign separate effects settings per individual channel. One can, however, precisely control the level of the effect chosen in the mix. All told, great mixer. Behringer strikes again.

  • from TN March 14, 2016Music Background:
    Christian worship music/pro audio

    Used as headphone amp for IEM mix

    We just bought several of these and a couple other models of small Xenyx mixers to use as personal headphone amps for in ear monitor mixes. These are cheaper than most headphone amps, and they come with a few extra features as a bonus. We feed it from our StudioLive RM and it gives each band member a volume and quick EQ or extra reverb (the internal FX!) for a wired in ear feed. Sound quality is excellent and they seem to be reliable so far. The band can choose to sit them on the floor near their spot on stage, on a music stand, or on their amps for instance. We just use an 8th inch extender cable to wire the in ears to the phones output of of these mixers. The only thing I wish was different is the main mix knob also affects the phones level. One person used a powered wedge from the main output, in addition to ears from the phones output, so it would be nice if these worked independently. But it's no big deal, as she can get her in ears at the level she wants, then turn the volume of the powered wedge itself up or down.

  • from winston salem March 3, 2016

    So Light

    fairly easy to use, so light, my last system had a 35 pound amp to make it work,

  • from CT, USA November 11, 2015Music Background:
    Producer

    tidy yet mighty little mixer

    I use this mixer in a small studio where I've miked the room a' la Sam Phillips. Most of the productions are spoken word, and most of the speakers wander around the room while they're speaking. This mixer effortlessly picks up, blends & equalizes for a smooth, organic mix, with all controls & FX easily within reach & identifiable.

    My only complaint is that there's no power switch, so if you want to power off, you need to unplug. Therefore, be sure to remember to turn your gains down before plugging in again. It's tedious, but it's the only negative I found so far. All in all, it's well worth the price tag, and lasts for years. This is my second one, since I use it every day & some circuitry finally burned out. Highly recommended.

  • from KCMO March 23, 2015

    Behringer Xenyx 1202FX

    Works great! Farley easy to use the manual that came with it was very vague. Full manual can be found at Behringer website. If you are new to audio mixers then even the full manual may seem somewhat vague. But with a little time of working with it you will figure it out. I use a pc with a pro audio card and had to do some tweaking to balance the 1202FX and the audio card. You are going to love the effects presets. The unit is small making it perfect for gigs, smaller than a laptop and takes up little space for the home studio. I use a copy holder to stand it up at an angle to see the controls better. You will need an interface! I use a pro PCI sound card and I also have the Behringer USB model UCA222 interface for the laptop. Great mixer for the price more than I expected.

  • from United States February 17, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great. But Fragile, Handle with Care.

    Bought this around 2010 to replace a Mackie 1202. loved the Mackie but wanted built in effects,(Reverb to be exact). This Machine has exceeded my expectations.. I use it on all my venues, including a four piece band.
    Having used the Mack 1202 for many years in my single act, the rotary volume knobs were very comfortable to me. Behringers are Fragile, compared to my USA made 1202 Mack, but will hold up if you take care of them. The sliders are prone to bending and ultimately failing if not transported safely. As a result of TLC and a hard case,.I have used it about 4 years, no problem...Great footprint ,Reverb sounds good.(Plate) Price is right. There is nothing out there that can touch it for size / performance.

  • from August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro KJs

    Nice mixer, compact with lots of ability.

    We are KJ's doing weekly 'house gigs', also special events throughout the year. The 1202FX allows us to run three mics, laptop, karaoke machine, and occasionally someone's instruments. This is a very compact sized mixer which is important, for space on our table is at a premium. The EQ's allow us to adjust the highs, mids and lows on each singer to either enhance or take some of the 'harshness' off the singer's voices, along with the FX effects, ei: reverb, gets us comments on how great each singer sounds. Overall, the Behringer is a nice tool and Sweetwater has been a Great company to work with!

  • from North of Boston April 7, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro picker

    Good for the money

    I have had great luck with Behringer mixers. This is the second one I've bought and use it as part of a practice PA. The effects are natural and the mixer brings zero noise into the chain.

  • from s cal January 8, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician /DJ

    Behringer Xenyx 1202FX

    great little mixer with FX ,ALSO GREAT SERVICE FROM SWEETWATER

  • from South West Florida August 21, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Engineer, Producer

    Exellent tool!

    Unlike most users, I snagged this mixer to work out ideas, before heading into the home studio.
    Most every aspect, at this price point is way over the top, of note;

    The Xeneyx pre-amps are clean and add only the color you want.
    Easy layout and tiny learning curve.
    It does what its supposed to, period.

    The only downsides, the power supply connector, it requires a bit too much pressure to fully seat, that I don't see unplugging the power supply from the mixer, for fear of damage.
    During that learning curve, as it ships with a start up guide, full manual is on-line, but 20 plus pages, setting the effects chain levels is trial and error, and between the gain and levels, rather sensitive, watch your ears!
    Finally, there is no master list of the 100 effects, just groups, unless I missed it.

    This is composing for the lazy, as I'm using it, and it fills that need perfectly, for the money, it can't be beat!

  • from Pembroke Pines, FL USA January 2, 2012

    Excellent mixer for my own activities

    Not being an expert. This mixer works great for all my family events and get-togethers.

  • from February 19, 2017Music Background:
    Western Swing, Old Country, Cajun

    Excellent value - great small size

    Panel asy to read and understand. The mic pre's are quiet. I've only had it 3 weeks so I can't comment on long term performance.

    The reverb is decent - I've only used it for vocals and acoustic instruments, but it is adjustable enough. I like my reverb with a light touch - this achieves that objective just fine.

    I bought this on the advice of Rob at Sweetwater. I was concerned about the brand, frankly. I've had decent stuff from Behringer and super crappy stuff that I ended up returning. He allayed my concerns and I'm glad I saved the $$ over a Yamaha or Mackie, etc.

    I am primarily using this to add inputs to a Bose Compact L1. I've gigged with it and it's been great. I deducted a star because it doesn't have an on/off switch - That's irritating, but at this price...can't complain much.

    I use a TC Helicon VL3EX for my guitar and vocals - it accepts the line level just fine. I've plugged in Heil PR35 directly...sounds good. Also my Sennheiser e935 - also good. Easy to dial in sound on the mics. I've played music from an ipod through the CD inputs...sounded great.

    One thing to be careful about - the plug in for the power is not super robust. I am being really careful because it looks like an easy failure point.

    One more thing...the power supply is not a wall wart...it will only take up one space on a power strip, etc. There is a big brick about halfway through the length, but you don't have to waste unused spots on your surge protector, etc.

  • from November 18, 2016

    Great little mixer for the buck

    I can say this if you're recording with it it does have some background hiss that is a little annoying but for live performance it does really well. It has some solid sounding Reverb on it

  • from Texas September 23, 2015Music Background:
    country player

    tough cookie

    I have been gigging with this unit for going on three years now, a lot of small solo/duo stuff and some 4 piece band stuff. It has never failed me, though I'm still leery of the power connection. I much prefer just a standard power cord with built in wart and with an on off switch. the fx are fine but not much in monitor category. I plan to upgrade but still, this is a great unit for the price.

  • from Lake Monticello, Virginia December 8, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Vocalist

    It's Great

    This mixer is perfect for the size of gigs that I do. It is very light weight and easy to transport. I am a vocalist and the effects are exactly what I need to enhance my voice. I am also able to plug in my partner's piano and/or a guitar if needed.

    On the negative side (and this is very minor) 1. No on/off switch.
    2. I have to plug my iPod into one of the mic outputs in order to control the volume through the mixer. Using the RCA plugs only lets me control the volume through the iPod or the speakers.
    Generally, I am very happy with this piece of equipment.

  • from ATL December 1, 2014Music Background:
    recording engineer

    nice compact functional mixer

    I use this mixer for recording a live speaker on video.
    sometimes we have a panel discussion where I need 3-4 mics.
    I run the camera and mix audio at the same time. I usually just have 2 mics. one output goes to the camera and another to the house sound system.

  • from Silvis, IL U.S.A. April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Xenyx 1202FX by Behringer

    Great little mixer at a super price. I love the FX. They are very versatile and useful. There are more than enough to adapt to any particular room that you might be playing.(I use the FX for vocals only.) I used this mixer's little brother, the Xenyx 802 for more than 1200 gigs without a hiccup. The only negative for me is the rather fragile plug-in on the power supply. It's the same as the Xenyx 802, and I'm on my third power supply for that mixer.

  • from August 9, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Recording Engineer

    Great mixer!

    Great buy! With it's built in effects you can't go wrong!

  • from Nashville, IN USA March 13, 2013

    Great value

    I was in need of a small, lightweight mixer for stage use that would handle a duo or trio, had a decent bank of internal FX, and wouldn't set me back too much. My old Peavey 14-channel was doing a fine job, but is too large for the smaller combos, and I was tired of packing around more hardware than I needed. While this little Behringer is missing a few features that would have been handy (such as channel mute buttons and an input level control on the RCA tape-ins, which I use to play MP3s on breaks), overall it has everything I need. It's very compact and well-designed, and appears quite roadworthy despite being extremely lightweight. The sound is clean and clear, and the few FX I've tried (mostly gen-purpose verbs and delays) sound fine for live use. The external power supply, unlike many we see these days, uses heavy-gauge, well-supported cable, so I should not be having any breaks in the power feed. And at this price, it's simply an amazing deal. I'll be looking to Behringer again in the future, for sure.

  • from NC August 15, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/Church Sound Reinforcement Main

    Xenyx 1202FX-Great addition

    We got this unit for our church fellowship hall (needed something, not too extreme or fancy). This unit is more than enough for our needs, has FX's & plenty of inputs. Great headroom! Small footprint is awesome!

  • from Estero, Florida July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Pro

    Behringer Xenyx 1202FX

    Great Sound. Nice Preamps
    They could have put and aux send, and then I would give it 5 stars.

  • from Dallas June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Behringer Xenyx 1202FX

    I use this mixer to record a duet so that we can assess our playing.and I plan to use it for our performances at open mic nights.
    I've found that his is a great little mixer and meets my need exactly.
    It has 100 effects settings, most of which I'll never use.

  • from Tampa, Florida March 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Guitarist

    Behringer Xenyx 1202FX

    Great Mixer....Every feature is easy to use...exactly what I was needing and looking for. The only additional feature they could have added would be an additional stereo output...one is good, two would have been better.

  • from Pittsburgh, United States November 10, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Great Bang for the buck!

    I bought this for simple home mixing needs. The price was reasonable and the built-in fx make a nice addition. The fx sound great and the audio is crisp and clear. I have been very impressed with this compact little unit.

    The only thing to note is that only the first four channels have the three band eq. I somehow managed to overlook this and I was a little dissapointed. The last four channels are stereo, but no eq.

    I have incorporated this into a guitar pedal board to mix various processors and it has been great. No added noise and great sound, it does just what it says.

  • from sandusky,ohio November 21, 2016Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    Behringer Xenyx 1202fx

    I needed a small mixer to sub mix my td-15 drum set ,it was perfect .the mixer was easy to use,plenty of channels,and the price was right.In my option if you need a small mixer this is the one.The only negative i have is the mixer doesn't have a on-off switch.

  • from Florida March 30, 2017Music Background:
    Varied

    Up Grade requested

    I really like the mixer. It does everything I need. Although, would it make sense to add 2 x XLR stereo outputs? Perhaps on the back of the unit. Just a thought. Would be helpful for a recording interface, etc.

  • from September 30, 2016Music Background:
    20th Century Pop standards, Vocals, Acoustic guitar, ukulele

    Pot Crackle with one, too much buzz with a second

    This is a very handy mixer - has reverb options and a good number of inputs, great price.

    The first one I received had intermittent loud crackling from the monitor/control room, fader/level knob. One day it just mysteriously appeared after a couple weeks of very light use (one wedding reception and practice in my home). I returned it and Sweetwater sent me another one.

    What I just noticed on the second one - after a gig using 2 powered Behringer B115D Eurolive speakers (which have an acceptable level of light hum) - was an unacceptable amount of buzz/hum when the level on the amplified speaker was past 1-2 o'clock with the 1202FX fader(s) past halfway. Took it home and tested again. Didn't matter which input on the mixer or speaker that was used - a very large boost of buzz/hum was added as soon as the mixer was hooked up (at output past 1 o'clock on speaker). I tried moving all plugs to one outlet and even changed the three prong plug of the speaker to two prong (using adaptor) to break the wall ground - no change.

    The mixer adds too much buzz to the mix in my opinion. Will still use it. It is an issue I didn't notice at first but came to my attention after a few uses. Would the Mackie competitor mixer do the same?

  • from Hillsdale, MI November 11, 2014

    Pretty good mixer

    BOught this for my wife's karaoke system... sounds really good and FX channels are clean and responsive.
    Wish that it had a power on/off switch!!

  • from CA USA November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician and engineer

    Second time's the charm

    The first one came damaged. Sweetwater was very fast in getting me a new one. The second one seems to work fine. I use it for small gigs. It has no on/off switch so you have to be a little careful to have it on before you turn on your speakers. After 4 uses I am pleased with the sound. I'm running it through a pair of Mackie DLM 12's so the mixer has little else to do but relay the signal

Questions about the Behringer Xenyx 1202FX Mixer with Effects?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway