0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Taylor 114e Grand Auditorium - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
  • from Shreveport, Louisiana Area November 20, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician 40+ Years, Sound Tech

    114e Taylor

    Outstanding guitar for the money. Fit and finish are excellent. Great sound acoustic or plugged in, easy to play. Do yourself a favor and check these out.

  • from Toledo, OH July 8, 2015Music Background:
    Music teacher and performer for 40+ years. Also an amp builder in Toledo, OH. Zuercher Amplification.

    Taylor 114e Guitar

    I haven't owned an acoustic guitar even and I have been playing since 1966. I decided to investigate the Taylor mid budget guitars to see if they had that big ringing sound that the more expensive Taylors and aged Martin's have. A visit to Sweetwater's new showroom a few days before Gearfest found me looking at all that was there (there were many choices!)
    I tried the Baby Taylor, too small, The Big Baby, still not quite, then the 114e. Just right! I needed a smaller than Dreadnought sized guitar and this one fits comfortably, but the sound! One strum of a chord and I went WOW! Big bright sound, clear as a bell. Sounds like its 20 years old already!

  • from February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Actress

    Taylor 114e Grand Auditorium

    After some time, having that excellent instrument on my hands, I have to admit that I spend way more hours, playing the guitar, than I used to.
    It is slightly heavy , especially the arm, BUT that turns out to indicate that you're having a well respected guitar, ready to run a marathon, without even have to try a lot! The sound is so freaking amazing, unplugged, that I 'm just wondering how much better it would be when I am about to plug it, on my next performance!!! Well done Paul and Sweetwater team!! I would definetely choose you for my next purchase!! Take care!
    Eleni.

  • from Charlottesville, VA January 31, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner

    As good I hoped it would be

    As a newbie, I was looking for a guitar that was easy on my fingers, would stay in tune, had a low action and great tone. The 114e does all this and looks and sounds great. The size is a perfect fit for me, 5'7" and with small hands. I'm getting a much fuller and richer tone than from the guitar it replaced. I'm a fan.

  • from August 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awsome performance, awsome price

    Been looking for a similar guitar for some time, tried several on a store, when I got to this one I was sold, impressive sound and feel. Better deal for a lesser price

  • from August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, producer, engineer

    Tay;or 114e winner!

    Was debating between the ce or the e and clearly I made the right choice! Why paying $200 more for the ce was not a factor, the non-cutaway was just a better sound and exactly what I was looking for. Good overall balanced sound and worth the money! The fretboard molds right to my playing style.

  • from Bybee, TN USA August 7, 2014Music Background:
    Worship band, youth worship leader

    Great Guitar!

    This is a wonderful guitar! I've always wanted a Taylor and this guitar doesn't disappoint. I use it for worship with our youth group and in a medium room I don't even need a sound system! The tone and sound are great!

  • from South Central PA August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, educator

    Great Entry Level Taylor!

    I got this guitar when I decided to get serious about playing guitar a few years ago. Love this instrument. Sounds like guitars costing twice as much. One of the things that amazes me about this instrument is how much sound it puts out for a smaller body. It's a great guitar for leading group worship songs. Nice balanced sound, very playable.

  • from Buffalo, NY May 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist beginner

    Awesome guitar. Great price.

    Matt at sweetwater was awesome to work with. This guitar is so sweet. Smooth and easy to play. Great sound. I've been playing for a few years. Still think of myself as learning. This Taylor makes me want to play even more than I used to. Out of the box it was ready to play. Set up great. Love this guitar. You will not be disappointed. Read the reviews and they're spot on.

  • from Buffalo, NY April 15, 2014Music Background:
    student

    Taylor 114e Grand Auditorium guitar

    This is a great playing guitar. My son who plays picked it up and couldn't stop raving over what a great guitar it was.

  • from Alabama April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hottest teen country band

    Amazing, perfect for traveling bands

    Absolutely fantastic guitar! Pick-ups are amazing and work great through a sound board and perfect for traveling with a band

  • from Molokai, Hawaii USA March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    What an amazing guitar, even greater than I expected

    A big difference from the old, "ratty" guitar that I had for years. The sound, workmanship on my new Taylor is over-the-top. Thank you Sweetwater, your customer service is A+

  • from New Hampshire, USA December 16, 2009Music Background:
    Little bit 'o everything

    Nothing competes at this price...NOTHING

    I've literally played hundreds of guitars. Great playability! I've had mine about a year now, and I love it still. It seems to be "opening up" tone-wise. It was a bit lacking in bottom end at first, but seems to be coming into its own. The thing almost plays itself. I can finger pick, and get into some moderate rhythm when needed. I routinely record with it, and play live as well. The electronics are clean, quiet, and full sounding, so I don't really have to mic it at all. Buy it...it won't disappoint.

  • from Rockford, IL February 17, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Others not as good at twice the price

    Bought this guitar for my daughter as her first "good" guitar. The sound is full, and the finish is very clean. Great for finger picking, and light to medium strumming. Gig bag is high quality, with thick padding which protects the instrument well. I've sat down in stores and played a variety of instrument and always go back to the Taylor's. This instrument pays better than other brands at twice the price. We use Elixir Phosphor Bronze light gauge strings on the 114e.

  • from Elgin, Tx USA September 18, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, Singer, Live Sound Engineer

    The Best-Value Taylor on the Market!

    I started playing guitar about two years ago. My first guitar was one of those "As seen on TV" guitars. Yeah... Anyways, I played a 114e ONE TIME and was completely sold on it. The price you pay for this Taylor acoustic/electric is miniscule compared to the value that you recieve! It has a solid-spruce top and all of the beauty that makes Taylor guitars what they are! Have I mentioned the sound??? This thing pumps out a substantial amount of volume... unplugged! Then you add the fact that it can be plugged into an amp for even more sound! I can't imagine a better investment at the price these are offered for! Of course... if you have a "little" extra cash... I'd personally go for the 914ce! But that's what I'm saying... you can get a great sound for a fraction of the price of a high-end acoustic/electric!!! I personally think my 114e sounds better than any a/e Martin I've played! And believe me... I've played my share of Martins! So, yeah! Buy this guitar, you won't be disappointed!

  • from Hartville, Oh September 23, 2014Music Background:
    gigging musician 35 years

    Very good acoustic

    I've had my 114 for 3 years and it just keeps getting better with age. Definitely sounds best with Elixer strings. There are no real flaws with this guitar except the pickup could produce a more natural tone. It's not bad though and workable. Acoustically it sounds great and has really good action up and down the board. Well made and stays in tune. Perfect for gigging or church worship, campfires, anything except the most professional situations.

  • from Chicago, IL October 23, 2014Music Background:
    Studio Owner, Recording Engineer, Musician

    Plays very nice

    I was looking for a good all-around player, one that sounded good on my couch, live, and in the studio. It fits the job nicely. I was afraid it would sound too bright (as I think many Taylors do). But it sounds good and well rounded--much fuller than I expected considering the size and shape. Very easy to record with.

    I must say I was thoroughly disappointed with the on-board electronics. I am not sure if I just got the worst of the bunch, or if my saddle is just a bit uneven, I haven't had time to check...but in any event it doesn't sound like it's coming from the same guitar. Basically very thin and flat. In fact my $300 campfire Ibanez sounds much better plugged in, and that's a real shame, as there is no question this Taylor is a superior instrument in every other way. If I had to do it again, I would buy one without electronics, and put in a different pickup system.

  • from Columbus, GA September 5, 2014Music Background:
    30 years playing and performing

    Consistent Taylor Quality

    I have owned several Taylor guitars over the past 30 years and one thing has always been true. Every single one was consistent high quality from the least expensive (my son's Baby Taylor) to owning one of the high end guitars. I am a huge fan of Taylor's top quality craftmanship.

  • from Santa Fe, NM USA August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great for the money

    Awesome guitar, sounds real nice. The action on mine was a tad high for my liking but obviously that probably cant be said about all of this series. It has a real meaty, full-bass sound. Acoustic blues sound wonderful on this, the bass line will always cut through really cleanly. I don't usually play it plugged in, but the few times I have it sounds decent. I'd highly recommend this for people who want to go a step above the entry level guitars they started on.

  • from Durham, NC USA October 30, 2007Music Background:
    Writer, worship leader and recording artist

    ECSTATIC!!!!

    I spent months trying to find a new acoustic and I finally found everything I was looking for in the Taylor 114e. Even though I was planning to spend more money, I didn't have to. From playability to tone and electronics it's clean, neat and sweet. I have played several other Taylor guitars goofing off in the shop and this even sounds better than the $2000.00 guitars I've played. It is well built and just absolutely sings. It came perfect and needed no adjustment in the action and it sits right beside my desk so when I'm not playing it I can just look at it. If you're looking for a solid instrument that is easier to play with that unmistakable Taylor tone I can promise that you won't beat this deal. And I would never buy from anyone else but Sweetwater regardless of the cost. Their customer service is second to none.

  • from Pennsylvania January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good guitar----Cheap gig bag!

    Guitar arrived with outer box dented and holes ripped in top of box. Thankfully the guitar was double boxed. That saved the day. Without the double box I believe there would have been damage. When I ordered the guitar I asked a sales rep if it would be double boxed when shipped. He said NO. I am glad he was wrong. ( Doesn't say much for the knowledge of that sales rep????)
    After unboxing I inspected the guitar and it looked a little different than the photo. It had some blemishes on the lower bout that could not be seen in the photo's of the guitar on their web site. Maybe they took the photo's in such a way so those blemishes could not be seen. I don't know. But it does not effect the tone. I let that error slide.
    Everything worked: the built-in electronics, knobs, turners.
    Nice tone and good volume. Guitar was nice for the caliber of Taylor it was.
    MY biggest complaint is the gig bag. This guitar deserves a case. The gig bag is cheap and thin. OK to store guitar in your house. BUT NEVER take it outside, (to a gig, or practice) in this cheap bag. It will not survive the bangs, bumps or knocks of being loaded and unloaded. And being so thin, weather will effect the guitar also.
    My advise: If you are going to buy a Taylor get a HSC to store, carry, haul, load etc. It doesn't have to be a Taylor HSC. Any good stout HSC will suffice. The guitar is worth 3 stars. The gig bag 1 star.

Questions about the Taylor 114e Grand Auditorium - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway