0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Gallien-Krueger 1001RB-II 700+50-Watt Compact Bass Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Gallien-Krueger 1001RB-II 700+50-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger 1001RB-II 700+50-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Makaha,Hawaii February 10, 2017Music Background:
    Been doing the music thing for over fifty five years plus.

    The Killer Head....

    Just purchased this GK Bass Head...,1001 RB ll...can't wait to get it home. "To be continued "

  • from Indianapolis November 19, 2016Music Background:
    Gospel

    Buy it!!!!

    I've played with just about every brand of bass head you can think of. I've owned a Eden, Ampeg, and Hartke and I have to say this is the best amp head I've ever played great bottom I can't think of one bad thing to say. #GK4LIFE

  • from Ontario, Canada May 3, 2016

    This head is a MONSTER!

    I picked up the 1001 RB-ll in December of 2015 as a xmas gift to myself :P I originally had the Ampeg SVT 3 PRO head, which was completely fine at doing its job, but I have always been curious about GK and started to dive into some research behind these heads. MAN I am glad I did. This monster packs a serious punch of over 700 watts, has a ton of room to find your preferred tone, and is solid state!!! When I first got into music, I thought it was tube amps or bust... which I quickly learned (mostly because I am a broke musician looking for the cheapest option) that was not true. This head proves it, and I can honestly never see myself buying another tube amp again. And for those scared about losing that tube tone, I also run this head with a Sans Amp GT2 tube amp emulator pedal which just brings the whole picture together.

    If you are looking for a reliable, powerful, and affordable bass head, buy this. You will not regret it.

  • from June 27, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist and guitarist

    it's THE sound

    Absolutely love this amp!! Compared to Markbass and Ampeg, the GK, hands down, was the best. It has a unique sound. It's very versatile as well. It can be growly or clean or whatever you please. The EQ is easy to dial in all the way across the board. The DI sounds amazing through a mixer and makes recording insanely easy. Just plugged it in and used my amps eq. Didn't have to adjust anything on the pc but the volume. I am a die hard GK owner. I play metal all the way to jazz/fusion to electronic. I have the neo 212 and an Ibanez 405qm. Best combo in my opinion. But I'm sure you won't be disappointed either!

  • from Tulsa, OK March 23, 2015Music Background:
    metal, reggae, jazz and gospel

    exactly what I needed

    I did a lot of research on amplifiers put out by the big names (markbass, eden, tc electronic, ampeg) and all companies were nice. I needed the versatility of being able to play anything from gospel to metal and I found that and more. While trying out different amplifiers I would look at which one paired well with various cabs. After hours of testing out cabs my top two were the eden and my gallien kruger amp. BUT... the factor that sent me to the gk side was the two twelve cabs ability to bi-amp. This high end crispness sent me over the edge... it was exactly the tone I heard in my head and I couldn't be happier.

    I have never had any electrical issues and I just keep turning it up and it keeps putting out power. The only down side to this amp is that it's kind of heavy... that didn't bother me in the least so I bought it. Although it is overkill im going to end up buying the 115 neo because... well who doesn't want a well rounded bottom on a bass. Great job gk. Great job Sweetwater... till next time...

  • from August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro musician

    Wow

    Incredible sound it is more than I expected, but the services of Sweetwater is Incredible !!!

  • from Saint Helens, OR November 5, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Yep..........you better get one!

    I've had a bunch of different heads over 30 years........and I'm glad that I settled with this one. It had been many years since I treated myself to a new head. I bought a Peavey Tour 700, because over the decades, I found Peavey gear to be road worthy with a decent sound. Unfortunately, like many others, I got into a rut of trusting gear that I have known and was comfortable with. The Tour 700 SUCKED! Don't even get me started! I took it back and got a 1001 RB. Holy Moses! THIS is what I've been looking for! It's definitely made FOR bass players, BY bass players. It doesn't have a bunch of unnecessary bells and whistles. It DOES have, however, everything that you need to dial in a great, powerful sound. I love it! I play a Heartfield (Fender) 5 string through a Hartke 410 and a Peavey 18 sub. BOOM. RIch tone with plenty of headroom...........all.............night..........long.

  • from United States March 6, 2014

    SERIOUS Volume !!

    Got this mainly as a backup to my SWR Pro 750... the real deal not the X model. I have been able to dial in almost to a tee the tone of the SWR, not quite as warm since the GK is not a tube but no one noticed when I switched heads during rehearsal. The GK has MASSIVE headroom and you will not get lost in the mix ! Not alot of bells and whistles, just straight up in your face bass... as much as you will ever need ! I play mainly Classic Rock and this head coupled with the GK 4X12 flat out kicks some major tail and I would not hesitate to use this head in place of the SWR if need be... possible I may even make this my main head as I am liking it more and more. Highly recommended !

  • from Mayfield Heights, Ohio October 22, 2012Music Background:
    Local Musician - semipro weekend warrior

    GK 1001-RB-II

    I just picked this head up to go along with my GK 4x10 Neo I purchased last fall. The combined units brough out a clarity and brightness to my sound that I was lacking. I am playing a Fender Jazz bass and Ibanez ATK 300 - this amp really brings out each bass' unique sound. I am very pleased with the results of this purchase.

  • from Missouri February 7, 2012Music Background:
    15 years of bass playing

    Expect everything,...but drive

    I have this head coupled with the 410 Neo cabinet, and there is no lack of power and volume. Using an Ibanez SR600, the tonal possabilities are crazy. Any tone is attainable. Multi-effects sound great through it, but don't expect to get any kind of usable drive or distortion. This has the G.I.V.E. technology, which is the boost knob, however, it acts like a volume before the master instead a growling Gate Induced Valve Effect. No distortion, snort, buzz or fuzz, even using higher input levels. This is to be expected with solid-state amplifiers. A trade of tone for price that can be fixed with an OD pedal. No regrets, just sterilizing power and face melting tone.

Questions about the Gallien-Krueger 1001RB-II 700+50-Watt Compact Bass Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway