0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Yamaha 01V96i 40-channel Digital Mixer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha 01V96i 40-channel Digital Mixer?

Questions about the Yamaha 01V96i 40-channel Digital Mixer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from November 2, 2014Music Background:
    Recording/live sound engineer

    Amazing

    We use this for our marching band, and it has quickly become the marching band industry standard, we have along side it 2 presonus digimax d8's contected witch ADAT. Quality effects, flying faders, and programability.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA October 3, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, mastering engineer

    Wow

    This this is pretty incredible, especially for the price. I shouldn't have waited so long to get one.

  • from Orlando, FL October 27, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Arts, Full Sail University; Recording Engineer, Mixer, Sound Designer

    And then some...

    This mixer is the best bang for you buck!!! It sounds awesome!!! My monitors are Yamaha too.(HS8) Look no further!!!!!! It has so many uses. Very versatile mixer! Buy it now!

  • from Northern New Jersey June 29, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Drummer, Singer, Student, etc.

    Best Decision Ever!

    I bought this board after my first board crapped out on me. I was tired of horrible quality when doing sound and am a person who is always out to get the best sound possible. This board made that possible. The combination between my Electro Voice tops/subs and this board sound incredible. I also love how simple it is to connect to Pro tools 10 and can now offer live recording as an option for bands I do sound for. I did a lot of research before purchasing and I also had some hands on time with the version before this and loved the way it felt. I like having the analogue feel of the gain control, but then having many layers of faders to mix with. this is the best purchase I have ever made, and could not be any happier! Also quick shout out to Brain VanDekeere for helping me out with this purchase! I couldn't be happier!! Thanks Sweetwater, You're the best!!

  • from New York, NY February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Film and TV Composer, Producer, Performer

    Dream Machine

    I've owned a number of mixers that I've used for combination of audio post production, live gigs and album recording including the predecessors the Yamaha 02R and Yamaha 01V96 with mlan. When Yamaha abandoned mlan I was so mad I switched to the new Presonus mixer and was quite disappointed with the onboard fx. Meanwhile Yamaha came out with the 01V96i with an even better chipset and built in premium eq and fx, not to mention 16 channels of digital i/o via usb that worked flawlessly. Studio manager software also installed easily and was immediately recognized by my mac running Lion and I'm a happy camper. This is a very solid, musical sounding box with huge bang for the buck which IMHO eclipses everything else in its class.

  • from Pakistan December 17, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Enginer (Folk Studio)

    Awsome Mixer

    Itz a Awseome mixer i glad to see Usb 16I/O Mixer
    My experience of this hardware is so good and i refered this mixer to a recording studio special

  • from CA USA April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    What I Needed, And Then Some

    This console does what I need and then some. It replaced all of my analog gear, making the load to transport 4 cases lighter. Having the ability to program routing, channel parameters and scenes via computer saves a lot of time, cutting my setup time in half. Not being able to program the HA is not a big deal as there can be some ways around that as long as it doesn't distort. It's a challenge that keeps me entertained. Be sure to practice navigating between functions and it'll be a piece of cake overtime.

    8 Banks of user-defined keys helps a lot especially if wanting to do mute groups or other functions. My suggestion would be to program 1 and 2 to scroll between banks and know each bank you programmed like the back of your hand. (Know your gear inside and out.)

    The ability to program custom layers via "Remote" layer helps make mixing easier as well. One custom layer in particular I use is having all of my vocal mics (about 8 for one mixing job), their buses to STEREO (3), and the band buses (4) all on the same layer. Once you get your band mix dialed in, it's not often you have to go to that layer, at least not for me.

    16 by 16 I/O via USB was a nice touch for this model which can be routed in all sorts of ways. For one remote broadcast event, I was handling PA, broadcast backhaul, and recording. Being able to route the buses used to the USB outs saves the frustration of burning an auxiliary, and then recording 2 different versions. One version is with all elements (Talent and music), and the second version (Talent with no music/dry audio). That works great for talents who may take their segments to broadcast on other stations and they have a clean cut of audio.

    In addition to the reasons above why I chose this console over the Presonus StudioLive is because I don't have time to be setting faders via "Fader Locate" when recalling a scene or after using my ipad making remote adjustments, and then returning to the console to sync it manually with what was adjusted remotely. The 16.4.2 may be cheaper, but it does not suit the functionality I need for live applications.

  • from Torrance, CA August 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    It ain't heavy, but it's my brother

    Having experience with digital consoles made it easy to navigate through the features of this just right fit for the occasion and then some device. First live gig with the O1V96i left an indelible impression with my client. Fully mic'd drum set, keyboard, bass and lead guitar as well as 6 vocalists. On the surface it looked like I didn't have enough inputs, however with the Adat optical connection I was able to add more inputs to the console. Oh, and yes 16 simultaneous tracks to record to my DAW worked perfectly. Onboard comp and gating definitely helpful. Was hesitant at first, but glad I made the investment. It may be a small format device with some compacted features, but without a doubt very pleased.

  • from Hickory, NC March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Bass instructor and pro musician.

    Perferct for my home studio.

    Awesome board for my home studio. Our band is currently using this to track everything for our first EP. Only reason I did not give it a 5 is it has a good learning curve. My friend has a Studio Live and it is easier to use but he and I both agree this one sounds better and has more features. It is USB 16 channel in and out. Once you learn this thing you won't need anything else.

  • from Seattle, WA USA March 20, 2012

    Nice blend of live vs. DAW support

    Very happy with the purchase and its value.

    Only a couple of items would have made it even better:
    upgrade display screen, color & higher res.
    scribble strip displays above each track (linkage to DAW tracks)
    more encoders for DAW/plug-in support
    better track level meter display (live support)
    dedicated DAW transport controls vs. 8 user defined keys (I want both)

  • from United States August 12, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer, Musician.

    Powerful but not user friendly

    The OV1 is a mixed blessing. On one hand, it feels a lot like an analog board with channel specific controls like input gain for each channel. Many digital boards have abandoned this and require you to select the channel and use one set of knobs so you can only tweak one channel at a time. This feature is one of the things I like. It also offers up the select option and a quick access to a multi band eq knobs for a quick adjustment. This I also like.

    So what is costing this mixer 2 stars in my review? The digital interface!!! The digital side of this board feels very clunky and antiquated. Pages and pages of menu's hide within the small LCD screen and Yamaha seems to have gone for power over a user friendly interface and ease of use. Throw in a lack of Yamaha based iPad application and this thing really feels old compared to the recent digital boards (Roland M series, Soundcraft, Berhinger, etc.)

    The board sounds good, has powerful features but it's hard to use. I'm not the only one with this opinion. While producing a football game, the audio tech from a certain major sports network popped into the booth and expressed his dislike for this board for the very same reasons I list above.

    If you love technical manuals and crawling through pages of menu's to figure things out, then you will love this board. On the other hand, if you need a board that is intuitive and easy to use out of the box, look elsewhere.

Questions about the Yamaha 01V96i 40-channel Digital Mixer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway