0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Martin 000C Nylon - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin 000C Nylon - Natural?

Questions about the Martin 000C Nylon - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Spencer, NY December 17, 2016Music Background:
    Music Enthusiast

    Martin 000C Nylon - Excellent Value

    I have a 40 year old Alvarez Yairi classical guitar and I wanted a nylon acoustic-electric guitar with access to the upper frets. I started by buying a Taylor 814ce-N since I had already extensively played a Taylor 814ce-steel and it was a fabulous guitar. Unfortunately I had to return the 814ce-N as the sustain on the treble strings was very poor. My Sweetwater Rep (John Short) suggested this guitar as a replacement, and, as I already have a Martin D-41 (an amazing instrument), I gave the 000C Nylon a try. I am extremely happy with this guitar and it is an absolute joy to play (for hours on end). This is simply a good, solid, basic instrument that sounds great, plays great, and looks great. The intonation is very good over the whole fretboard and the guitar is a breeze to play and has the sustain I like. I was mildly concerned after reading a few reviews that the guitar might be slightly disappointing when plugged in, but I was very pleased with the sound when amplified. There are more expensive guitars (like the Taylor nylon), but if you want great value for a very playable instrument, look no further than the 000C Nylon.

    (By the way, Sweetwater took back the 814ce-N that I didn't like and I swapped it for an 814ce-steel, which I love. I remain a loyal Sweetwater customer - as of the date of this review I have bought 8 guitars from Sweetwater [with two more on order] and they are all outstanding instruments. I highly recommend Sweetwater and its team).

  • from McKinn July 21, 2016

    Great Nylon Crossover

    I was looking for something that sounded great (CHECK), I could play unplugged or plug (CHECK), and looked good (CHECK). This guitar exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend it. I own 8 guitars and this is my new go to every time. I love it! Jason Koons is my salesman and he knows his stuff.

  • from Chicago, Illinois March 6, 2016

    Martin 000C Nylon

    I own several very nice guitars including some high end stuff ( over 6k), but I just love this guitar. Easy to play and it's mellow sound and easy action make it one of my favorites. My first Martin which has me wondering what was I thinking . if you want to expand your picking horizons ID really recommend adding this guitar to your collect. Fit and finish is great and I truely believe it's made me a better player.

  • from Hamerly November 20, 2015

    Fantastic Guitar :)

    I have played guitar for the past 56 years and have owned a Martin OO -18C since 1966. I never really considered an electric until recently. Bought the guitar with a Fishman sa220 amp. I have never in my life
    experienced this kind of sound. The neck is very slightly narrower than a classic but the playability and action are the same as my 00-18C. The built in tuner is a very nice feature. This guitar is a keeper.

    I am a first time customer of Sweetwater and would recommend them to anybody. Their customer service and and followup is the best.

  • from Alabama June 1, 2015

    Excellent guitar

    Martin did not disappoint....although I was a little concerned prior to the puchase, this guitar offers alot for the money and i am glad that i make the call to Nick at Sweetwater. He was helpful and Informative. The Martin is well built, has attractive features, good Martin tone and is a great value. I own other expensive classical and steel string guitars and i wish Martin had made this guitar sooner and hope they continue to make others like it.

  • from Spring, Texas September 19, 2015Music Background:
    50 years of playing piano, guitar, mandolin

    MARTIN 000C Nylon - 12 Fret

    I would have preferred the Cordoba Hauser Natural but I wasn't willing to spend the money. My research settled on the Martin 000C Nylon and it was well worth the investment. I also play a Martin HD-28 and the transition between guitars is easier than the wider neck Cordoba.

    The electronics makes the instrument a little heavier and not as balanced as I would like but, then again it has not effect on playability thus I'm probably nit-picking a little here. The only downside I can consider is that the strings that came on the instrument aren't worth a hill of beans.

    However, considering I'm going to change the saddle and nut, adjust the saddle for a faster action and experiment with strings then it's not really an issue. I very much like this guitar and would highly recommend it to anyone.

    After all, besides Martin, the only other guitars I would ever own would be a Gibson followed by a Gretsch.

  • from Eastern Oregon hinterlandd June 8, 2015Music Background:
    serious non professional

    very positive!

    I have been playing for 35 years and enjoy finger picking and strumming. This guitar is great for both. It has great sound and I have not (and may not) use the electronics. Intonation is perfect. The D string buzzes when I press away from the fret + play loud. I will wait to make buz adjustments after guitar gets used to climate here and after I replace the factory strings with my favorite nylon strings D'Addario EJ 45 LP. I love this guitar. It is easier for my old fingers for finger picking and has good volume balance when I switch from finger picking to strumming in sequence for the same song.

  • from California July 21, 2014

    All-around-perfect

    Amazing. Simply amazing. I am a long time Sweetwater customer. I keep coming back because of the customer service and prices. So don't be looking on any other sites for the gear you want.

    As far as this guitar, what a perfect balance of playability, tone, retro, and current. Martin really created an amazing machine for the price. Go ahead, spend 3x more. But if you are the type that wants ( or HAS TO) maximize TONE PER $ SPENT, this is one of those guitars you cannot pass up.

Questions about the Martin 000C Nylon - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway