0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Martin 000-28 Eric Clapton Signature Model - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin 000-28 Eric Clapton Signature Model - Natural?

Questions about the Martin 000-28 Eric Clapton Signature Model - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Asheville, NC September 15, 2016Music Background:
    Christian Praise & Worship

    My go to everyday playing guitar

    I've read that JD Powers car reviews aren't all that reliable because they review cars after two or three months of ownership. That's not enough time to truly evaluate your car. Everyone still is in the honeymoon phase and buyer's remorse hasn't set in yet. On the other hand Consumer Reports reviews owners after two years of ownership. Now, we're talking!

    So what's my point? My OOO-28EC is #1167 bought in July of 1997. So I've had mine 19 years! It's still the guitar I play most, and I've got seven guitars, including 2 Guilds, 1 McAlister, 1 PRS, 1 Giannini, and a Martin dreadnought.

    My sole, sole caution is that if you like to play in lowered tunings a good bit, as perhaps you have a baritone voice and/or just prefer most songs tuned down a half to whole step, you might not want this to be your first guitar. The is a short scale 24.9 inch scale guitar as opposed to a 25.4 or 25.5 inch scale guitar, which means it plays easy as butter, but when you tune it down a bit the strings get floppy faster.

    I play in church a lot. Praise and worship music tends to prefer a lot of sustain and second chords, as C2, G2, D2, A2, etc. To make this guitar sound really great I use Newtone Light gauge Double Wound strings and brass bridge pins. This would not be your first choice for flat picking but is a great choice for finger picking and chord strumming

    I've also updated mine with Waverly tuners, a bone nut and a Baggs Dual Source pickup system. Still in love, even more so, after 19 years.

    By the way with this set up I've had numerous friends, some recording artists, who say it's the best playing guitar they've ever played.

  • from July 19, 2016

    Not To Worry

    I had been researching for my next guitar for many months and recently moved to within an easy drive to the Sweetwater location. I was looking for a "couch guitar", acoustic, and with some kind of vintage, or Sunburst finish. I already have a Gibson Songwriter in natural with the cutaway I purchased in 2002 (also an amazing guitar I cannot recommend enough).

    I wanted something a little smaller than the Songwriter and had never owned a Martin. The 000 size seemed just right. I was leaning toward the 28ec as I already have the Fender custom shop Clapton signature Blackie Strat (received as a retirement gift). I am one fortunate 67, year old.

    They just had one 000-28ec in stock when I got there this past Sunday and it was over at first sight as it was on display and was gleaming the display wall. I was not sure how much I would like the Sunburst. It is much better looking than the pictures and that is mostly where my Not To Worry review title came from for those pondering the Sunburst finish option.

    I just read all of the reviews over again for the first time since I bought mine and they are all very accurate and well written. Notes and chords hang on forever, and it is easy to play (I have small hands) and very forgiving.

    If you are concerned about spending this much on a guitar, again, not to worry as you are also purchasing a work of art. It is very easy to just sit and look at it as everything is beautiful and perfect.

    This guitar is as amazing in appearance and performance as everyone says.

    Finally, the Sweetwater experience was just terrific. Kody was my sales engineer and was friendly and very helpful.

    I hope this helps.

  • from Long Beach, CA February 8, 2016

    Everything I Expected From a Martin and More!

    I have been wanting a nice Martin for some time. I've been playing a Guild and a Fender acoustic and decided it was time to step up to something better. I did a lot of research and I played dozens of guitars before deciding on the 000-28EC. When I played this guitar everything just clicked, it was perfect for me. The 1 3/4 nut, the short scale and the modified V-neck was just what I was looking for.

    After putting this guitar through it's paces I can say it is the best acoustic I've ever played. It just sounds incredible! I sit and pluck the strings and just listen to it resonate inside the body! The notes are all crisp and clear and it has plenty of projection. It works great for finger picking, but is also a nice when strummed. The sustain is unbelievable.

    As for build quality what can I say, it's perfect. Not a flaw on the guitar. The nut is the nicest factory cut I've ever seen. And I just love the dark ebony fret board. It came perfectly set up from Sweetwater and just needed a quick tune and I was playing. The action is very low and not one bit of fret buzz on any string at any fret. No need to spend more on a set up with this beauty!

  • from usa July 12, 2015Music Background:
    collector/player

    martin eric clapton

    this guitar is very much the same guitar as the now discontinued om28v,except for a few cosmetic differences.they are both great guitars with the ooo-28 probably being the most popular martin ever made.i really love the guitar and the ease of playing it,plus the tone is great too.great for blues or any finger style music.thanks to chris lewis for a really nice purchase!

  • from Newton, Ma April 2, 2015

    Finger-picking Machine

    I've had this guitar for about 2 years now. This is without a doubt the best guitar I've played for finger-style guitar. It's very touch sensitive, warm, and expressive.

    I would say that if you don't finger pick at all, you may want to spend the cash in another direction. The sensitivity of the guitar is great for finger work, but if you try to jam out with a flatpick it seems to squelch out a bit ( not a lot, but a this price point you shouldn't get this baby if all you do is flatpick).

    That said, just a beautiful, comfortable, and easy guitar to play.

  • from Baltimore, MD July 19, 2014Music Background:
    Advanced guitarist, recording engineer

    The Perfect Acoustic

    I've played for about 15 years and have been looking for an acoustic that would stop my search for a better sounding/playing acoustic. This is it - hands down. Can't make excuses for my equipment anymore!

  • from June 8, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner Hobbyist

    It's almost human

    I've had my 00-28ec for about 18 months now I bought it new because there were simply none of these guitars available for purchase second hand. Once you own one, it's easy to see why. The more you play this guitar the more it opens up. I've been taking weekly lessons since I bought this guitar, and it gets played about 10 12 hours a week. The tone is continually developing more depth. I love this guitar the way a man loves a best friend.

  • from May 26, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Feels like no other guitar

    Owned two prior Martins before this including an HD28 and both of them felt like good acoustic guitars. This guitar is different, the tone and the feel of the neck is unlike any other guitar I've ever played. It took the joy of playing guitar to another level. I don't know what makes this guitar special but it becomes clear every time I pick it up.

  • from January 24, 2014

    love it

    This is an amazing guitar. It sounds wonderful and is easy to play. Sweetwater gave me a great deal. Highly recommend Martin and sweetwater.

  • from April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Bluesman, Student, general all rounder

    martin 000-28ec

    For years since really getting into the guitar, from any guitar i could even dream of owning, this blew them all away. When I finally made the big step and spent my savings on it, I have never looked back.
    This guitar just sings, plain and simple! Beautiful tone, amazing feel, it really is a work of art. I am so proud to say I own one of these and can't recommend enough for people who are interested to just go and get one, you will not be dissapointed

  • from Buffalo, NY USA March 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Enthusiast

    It's what is missing in your life! (well at least mine anyway)

    I waited for too many years to own a triple O, every time I thought about taking the plunge and bringing one home, I thought of 10 reasons I should save my money. Thanks to Sweetwater, I finely did it. Ryan Murphy, my girlfriend is really mad at you...and its gonna cost me a trip to the jewelry store but it was so worth it. Thanks for the great advice and service. This guitar plays great, sounds better. The neck is a perfect match for both finger style, and flat picking. It reminds me of an old Martin I had a chance to play back in the early seventys. Makes you play different. The 00028EC's tone and volume is balanced and smooth on its own, I put a Fishman Matrix Infinity pick-up in it, the tone dial is magic it gets loud and still sounds acoustic, and still no feedback. Get one and dig in. You wont be disappointed. I spent the last four days recording with my band and Im doing some overdubs with my triple O 28ecI hear how it sounds in my headphones and I smile.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN March 11, 2012Music Background:
    amateur guitar player, hobbyist

    Great Guitar!!

    This guitar has a very good sound. This particular one has a very open to already and projects almost as well as my D-18. The short scale is ideal for my smaller hands, even though the neck is a little wider than what I am used to.
    I love the smaller size body - it is much more comfortable to play than the dreadnought.

  • from Goleta, Ca December 14, 2011Music Background:
    coffee house player and hobbyist

    Amazing Acustics!

    This is one of the finest finger picking guitars I owne. Sound is crisp and full, everything you expect out of a ooo-martin. I felt the action for finger picking, slide and melodies was just perfect. Even the unusual neck shape fits well between your thumb and index finger and I find it to be more comfortable and ergonomic than clasic 50-60's style necks. This is the only finger picking gutar you will ever need. The appointments are a fine addition to martins 000 series. Great guitar for pros and the rest of us that love acustic blues.

  • from Huntington Beach, Ca November 21, 2011Music Background:
    Worship leader, Hobbyist,

    Simply the best of the best

    I have owned 2 Laravees, 2Martins, 6Taylors, 2 Washburns, and several over $2,000 Classical guitars. I played classical for several years and now play acoustic. Normally I am not attracted to signature guitars, but when I played this one it had something special. Presently I have a Taylor GC8 and a Martin OMC Aura that I also like for different reasons. I didn't think I'd like the modified V neck on the EC, but as I get used to it I'm thinking it does feel right. I have small hands so this guitar is perfect plus the 1 3/4 inch width at the nut makes fingerstyle easier. At first I didn't like the tuners, but they work very smoothly and hold the strings in tune. Compared to the Taylor GC8 the Martin has a richer sound while retaining good clarity and separation. It does sound a lot like my OMC Aura, but I like the bass better. The short scale works well for me as I have small hands. Now let me say this. This guitar compares to any at any price that I have played. I have never played a better sounding guitar at even over $5,000 dollars. Always play a guitar first or get a return policy as every guitar sounds a little different from each other. I am very satisfied with this model in every way.

  • from Washington DC April 13, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Simply the Best

    I'm one of these guys that owns about 15-20 guitars and this is the one I play everyday. I've only owned it for two years but yet it has this deep, beautiful tone that feels like an instrument with 30 years of age. Very easy playability and great sound all the way up the neck (I did get the action lowered about a year ago and that made a big difference). Obviously a great fingerstyle guitar but also really good for blues picking. Thanks Martin and EC.

  • from U.S.A. January 20, 2009Music Background:
    Singer-songwriter, recording engineer

    I Love My Martin

    My wife bought my Martin 000-28EC as an early birthday gift. I had just broken my foot off my ankle and, as expected, my 28EC helped me pass the time and heal much quicker while laid up. Like my wife, my Martin is a gem. I have to confess that I haven't even used a pick on this guitar yet, because she is such a consummate prize. I’ve only finger-pick my way through recordings, using both my Mojave Audio MA-200 vacuum tube condenser and AKG C-451-B cardioid condenser mics, both of which I purchased through Sweetwater, too! Thanks, Bill Lewis! Even finger-picking this baby is huge with just vocal-guitar treatment and two mics. MY Martin was flawless and perfectly set up out of the box. I replaced the strings with Elixir Nanoweb Lights 12-53's and my Martin rings from here to the Himalayas – simply unparalleled action and sound. I guess one day I’ll get around to using a pick, but for now finger-picking is all I prefer on my recordings – she is simply that special...just like my wife.

  • from Stella, MO USA January 1, 2009Music Background:
    gigging pro

    Wowed Every time!!!!!!!!

    I love my Martin 000-28ec! I have never played a guitar that reached out and grabbed me the way this beautiful piece of art does. It feels like an extension of my soul. When i go somewhere... she goes too. i love her. i even played her against the stupid expensive Martin 000-28ECB with Brazilian Rosewood... I still preferred my martin over her 10,000 dollar sister model. Clapton and Martin got it right on this one. Pick one up and I assure your crossroad blues, all my love is in vain, and phonagraph blues will come soaring out! It is the unplugged album tone on the money!

  • from Baltimore, Maryland December 28, 2008Music Background:
    my hobby

    Can't put it down

    The ring of of fine guitar thrills me. My fingers are throbbing...this thing inspires me. I keep going back to it after just putting it to rest,,, like an addict! Its an expensive high, but the sound, like a fine wine, well balanced. The action is low no buzz...amazing. It has a beautifully snug fitting well padded heavy case. I'm in love again! LOL

  • from Kalamazoo Michigan January 21, 2008Music Background:
    Play Guitar for fun and relaxation and Friends

    Great Sound and Action

    This Martin is Great. The tone and Fret action is all you would ever want ina Guitar. I have owned mine for 2 years and I am still in Awe of it's quality. It is worth the money.

Questions about the Martin 000-28 Eric Clapton Signature Model - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close