rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Martin 000-17SM Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from Chicago January 5, 2016

    000-17SM

    Plain but wonderful instrument with magnificent, warm and crystal clear sound.
    Great help of Will from Sweetwater through the entire proces.

  • from December 7, 2015

    Astonishing value for money

    I've been playing a 1972 Martin D35 since it was new, and I've got a Breedlove Oregon Concert, but I was looking for a 000 size 12-fret guitar with a spruce top and mahogany back and sides. After looking at high priced boutique makers I took the plunge on this one because of the rave reviews, and I'm so glad I did. This is just a beautiful instrument. It's rich and warm but crystal clear. The action is the best I have ever found on an acoustic guitar, and the 1 3/4" nut really suits my hands. The neck is not skinny, but it's much thinner than my dreadnought and much more comfortable. I didn't like the sunburst finish at first, but it's grown on me and now I wouldn't change it. This has to be one of the best bargains around; I would expect to pay three or four thousand for a guitar of this quality. I bet the price goes up!

  • from West Virginia November 17, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Semi-Professional

    UnReal!!

    This is my 3rd Martin, and by far my favorite!! I fell for the old school blues vibe it has. It looks like the old Gibson that Robert Johnson played. But the real clincher is the one-two punch of great playability and deep rich tone! This may sound like blasphemy to some Martin fans, but I like this guitar way better than my D-28. The fact that it's hundreds less in price is icing on the cake!!

  • from April 10, 2015

    My New Favorite

    Just had this incredible guitar delivered from the awesome folks at sweetwater. I was blown away when I first picked up this sweet 12 fret 000 guitair. The comfortable feel in your hands, the detail and beautiful appointments, sloted head stock with vintage ivonoid tuners, the tortise binding, and the beautiful gloss shaded top combined with the satin mahogany back and sides make for a vintage, pristine handmade work of art. Deep tones and yet so bright and clear add to the joy of playing this little treasure. I think if I had purchased this guitar first, I would probably have only one guitar now, instead of......Sorry Classified!

    Would recommend anyone looking for a real work of art and and great fingerpicker and strummer check this one out. Thanks Jared!

  • from Table Rock Lake, Missouri April 2, 2015Music Background:
    Everyday picker!

    Another Great Martin!

    I've had my eyes on this guitar for some time and I'm very happy to finally get my hands on one. It's a very well balanced small bodied guitar. The neck, the 1 3/4" nut size, and the 12 fret size makes it a dream to play. This guitar sounds great and looks great as well. I want to personally thank Nick LaMendola, my Sweetwater Rep, who made this process purchasing a guitar a breeze. This is my second Martin purchased from Sweetwater and all I had to do was to get a hold of Nick and he took care of everything. Really easy process and I will definitely contact Nick when I'm ready for my next guitar.

  • from Los Angeles, CA September 13, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist and Teacher for over 25 years

    Exceptional Guitar and Service

    This Martin 000-17SM is quite an exceptional instrument. The smaller body and light weight makes it perfect for me as I teach between 4 to 7 hours a day. The playability makes it easy on my hands and the tone is remarkable; very even with balanced bass and treble. Perfect for just about any style of acoustic guitar music. Great definition when fingerpicking and reasonably loud when strumming. Can't say enough good things about this guitar or Drew Foster, the Sweetwater rep who provided me with great customer service. Big Thanks, Drew.

  • from Denver, CO USA June 13, 2014

    Martin 000-17sm is my new #1

    I had read the reviews before decided to purchase the 000-17sm and take them with a grain of salt. But I didn't realize how true they were until I received and played mine. Strummed chords ring out loud and clear. Fingerpicked tunes sound great with excellent clarity from string to string.

    I have several other great guitars - 2014 Taylor 816ce, Gibson Advanced Jumbo, Taylor 522 - and this Martin holds its own or surpasses them in the tone department. I'm really impressed.

  • from Brattleboro, VT March 31, 2014Music Background:
    Couch picker

    Loving this guitar

    I never write reviews. I have owned perhaps 20 guitars including a fairly high end OM "boutique" model but this OOO17SM just keeps calling me back. Great size, wonderful bass response, fantastic neck - so easy to play. I Iove the 12 fret size. I think it is starting to really open up now (bought in January from Sweetwater). Oh did I mention it is gorgeous to look at? An unusual and unique finish. I did have my luthier set it up after I got it and wow, for an extra $100 that REALLY bumped things up.

  • from Texas February 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/ occasional gigger

    Wow!

    I've owned many expensive guitars, Martin/Taylor's etc, and this one exceeds them all in tone and sheer liveliness. For its size, it is very loud approaching the volume of my HD28. Also significant is the bottom end on this guitar, which surpasses my Om21 and other OMs/OOOs I've played. It is amazingly light and very touch sensitive, yet responds very well to heavy strumming and doesn't breakup or sound harsh. Did I mention its loud? The 1 3/4 inch neck is great! The 2 5/16 string spacing takes a little while to get used to if you are unfamiliar with it, but is great for learning and playi g finger style. The tone and looks of this guitar scream vintage, folk, and blues. My favorite guitar to date.

  • from Bethlehem, PA December 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It sounds good, it feels good, it even smells good.

    I have only been playing for a few years and I was a bit hesitant to buy a guitar this expensive, because frankly I'm not that good. I'm not worthy. :) I mostly play finger style and after owning two dreads, this is a dream to play. I won't say that this guitar makes me a better player, but since I enjoy playing it so much I've been practicing more and hence, playing better. Also - I live in Bethlehem, PA which is a stones throw from Nazareth where this was made. No one locally had one in stock. Sweetwater had this delivered to my door in two days. So by way of Indiana I bought an awesome guitar handmade by people who potentially live in my neighborhood. The Irony!

  • from Saratoga Springs, NY USA February 20, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Music Educator/Performer (40 years)

    Great small-bodied, 12 fret guitar

    I've had my eye on this model for some time now and am not disappointed. This guitar is perfect for my style of playing: both fingerstyle and flat-picked tunes. It has a wonderful tone, especially for a 000 size instrument. Martin has done a great job on this guitar: I love the shaded spruce top, satin mahogany sides/back, slot head, tuning machines and all the other understated, classy appointments. This guitar is very, very easy to play. It was set up perfectly right out of the box. For me, it is more comfortable to play than my dreadnought model guitar. I find myself reaching for it all the time. The instrument was just about "perfect" cosmetically. I could only find a few small blemishes in the satin finish. So I'd rate it a 99/100. Sweetwater's sales staff and service is exceptional.

  • from Chubbuck ID. USA October 22, 2014Music Background:
    I'm just an old country boy (66) who loves to play the guitar

    A great guitar, fingerpicking special

    This is a beautiful guitar for the price and simply wonderful tone. 12-frets the body has a spruce top, mahogany back and sides. Slot headstock, there's truly nothing about the tone or appearance wise to want for. For a small body guitar the tone on this one is hard to match and it projects well in a large room. Last words are this is one great fingerpicking guitar.

  • from Austin, TX October 7, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Engineer, Guitar, Bass, Vox, Sax player

    Surprisingly Loud

    For the small body size, this guitar has a surprising amount of projection. It is well balanced and very comfortable to play. The neck feels a bit thicker than I expected with the 1 3/4" nut size, but my hands adjusted quickly and it makes fingerpicking so much easier.

Questions about the Martin 000-17SM?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway