0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Microphone Month

Voting for Jazz Hall of Fame Opens to Fans

Photo credit: http://jalc.org/external/halloffame/

Since its founding in 2004, a panel consisting of 72 music critics and musicians selected the annual inductees for the Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame. This year, for the first time, fans will be allowed to vote online to select the Jazz Hall of Fame inductees. A panel of experts selected 10 nominees and votes may be placed through March 31 at JALC’s website. After registering an e-mail address, you can vote for up to four nominees from the following list:

  • Art Blakey (drums)
  • Jimmie Blanton (bass)
  • Kenny Clarke (drums)
  • Lionel Hampton (vibes)
  • Roy Haynes (drums)
  • James P. Johnson (piano)
  • Don Redman (bandleader)
  • Clark Terryb(trumpet)
  • Ben Webster (tenor saxophone)
  • Teddy Wilson (piano)

The Jazz Hall of Fame 2013 inductions will be announced April 2.

Share this Article