0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Microphone Month 4

Jazz Journalists Association Announces 2014 Jazz Award Winners

Herbie Hancock and Wayne Shorter were among the winners of the 18th-annual Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards for Music and Recording. The Jazz Awards are given in recognition of achievements by musicians, groups, and recordings during 2013. Keyboardist/composer Herbie Hancock was given the Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Award, while saxophonist/composer Wayne Shorter was recognized as Musician of the Year. Shorter also earned Record of the Year for Without A Net, and Midsize Ensemble of the Year for his Wayne Shorter Quartet. Awards for each instrument, various ensembles, new artists, and more were all announced. The actual awards will be presented to each winner during one of their performances. A complete list of the award winners is at the JJA Jazz Awards site.

The JJA Jazz Awards are voted on by professional journalist members of the Jazz Journalists Association. More information on the JJA, the Jazz Awards for Musical Achievement, the Jazz Awards for Journalism and Media, and the 24 JJA Jazz Heroes for 2014 can be found at the JJA Jazz Awards site.

Share this Article