0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Help - need solution for guitar/amp/tracks control

Jasohara

Hi,
I'm a guitarist and a newbie to the world of melding computers with my guitar rig (other than for backing up my patches) but now have a real need which I believe can be handled by software but don't know where to begin. Given the obvious expertise in this forum, I'm hoping for some guidance...thanks in advance.
Here are my requirements:
- I play often with CD based backing tracks and I'm getting tired of having to manually insert CD's and cue tracks, so firstly I'd like to be able to rip (into a high quality sound format) to a PC (I'm assuming a MAC).
- Then be able to cue/play the tracks via whatever software and have the track play through PA or home stereo
- Also have the same software send midi messages to my amp(s), effects processor, etc to select the appropriate patches on my gear for that backing track
- Ability to control track playback volume for levelling.
- If I really dream, I'd like the same software to have the capability for me to "mark" the backing tracks at certain time points and then send out midi messages at those points to trigger different patches e.g. clean to lead, different effect, solo patch, etc without me having to trigger via my floor controller (I know, I'm getting real lazy now!).
- Maybe even go in reverse sequence i.e. manual floor controller signals software to cue/play backing track and start midi sequence for selecting patches
- Optionally, I'd like to record and mix what I'm playing (backing track plus guitar).