We Love Gear Sale
Sweetwater Forums

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Switching to tube amps

Lawgeenoo

Hello guys. :)
I'm new here.
I'm looking to switch from solid state to tube amps. I was never much of a gear guy so i don't know much of tube amps except for their big, fat sound. My experience with these is minimal. I've only used them a few times in some reharsal rooms. I remember a Peavey head(don't know which model) hooked up into an Engl cab, killer tone. Not being a gear nerd, i had few pedal effects(which i've sold anyways, didn't use them). I've been playing for 8 years and a half, all this time I had my guitar plugged straight in to the amp and that's about it.
My current gear:
-Ibanez RG7321 (SD-SH8B pickup in bridge) -old guitar but it plays nicely, no need to change.
-Randall RX30D - old too, fairly good tone, but never let me down.
-Hardwire TL-2 - distortion pedal.
-Line 6 audio interface, for recording stuff.
That's it.
I'm in a band now. My trusty Randall is alright for reharsal, but live is out of the question. (low power, not enough bottom end, etc.)
So, i need(want) a tube amp. I know the good ones are (very) expensive. The cheaper(i.e. Marshall MA50, Peavey Valveking 100) are .... well, not worth it. If i'm still going to invest a fairly large sum of money(for me, at least), i want something on the medium, higher-end side, so i'd go for used ones. I've found a used Blackstar HT100 Head for ~550 $ in my area, which is a good price, i think.
Problem is, i don't know how and what to test and check on them before buying. How do i check if the tubes are in good condition? How do i know when a tube needs to be changed? What else is there i should know? Head + cabinet or combo?