0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

About to buy a digital board and snake.

IvanJones

Hey guys this is my first time around these forums and i have a great icebreaker here for us. I have just landed a gig doing FOH for a moderately drawing touring band. I have done about 6 shows for them thus far and have been beleaguered by a host of things from venue to venue from snakes with broken/missing channels feeding other snakes with wires that are crossed to the second show in a newly built room without the guy who built it. Needless to say i am looking to purchase a rig to eliminate some of those variables. The input count is about 21 and I will be doing about 180-200 shows a year.
With that said i have been researching some options and have come to some ideas as to what i think i will do but i want to get the opinion of some others based on what i require which is: the rig must be able to have a digital snake on stage sending to personal in ear mixers (such as avioms) as well as an interface to take a multitrack recording of the show on my DAW of choice.
Based on my previous experience with Yamaha, Soundcraft, PreSonus, Behringer, Mackie, and Avid digital consoles; I like the workflow of the Soundcraft boards the most, and they also deliver the most bang for the buck in the budget I am working with which is $10,000. I am most considering the Soundcraft Performer 1 with the 32 channel digi snake and either a dante or madi multitracker and either the dbx or aviom personal mixers.
What do you guys think?
February 3, 2014 @10:25am
TimmyP1955

X32 family, A&H, or Soundcraft.
February 12, 2014 @04:24am
pauperpa