0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Pro Tools MIDI set-up

True_Music85

I'm new to setting up MIDI in pro tools 8, I just bought an Oxygen 49 midi controller keyboard and I have it connected via USB and I also have the midi connections. I'm not sure what the right I/O settings have to be at, but I'm not getting any sound into PT. My iMac is compatible with the keyboard and PT.
How do I get sound from the keyboard and how do I set-up the MIDI in PT?
July 29, 2009 @08:21pm
mellodge

Open an instrument track in Pro Tools. Add a VST instrument (such as the mini grand or the xpand2) into an insert on the channel, to get sound, make the channel record ready. There aren't really any ins and outs to worry about, but if your still having trouble make sure the input on THE INSTRUMENT CHANNEL at the very top of the channel strip says 'all' the output should state which ever vsti you chose. To expand it right click the mouse over 'A-E' and check 'instrument', this will then show you the vsti channel strip, the meter will also show if the keyboard is sending MIDI messages. You do not need both MIDI and USB connected, its one or the other, Ideally connect via MIDI.