0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Best Live Male Vocal Mic?

mkharvey11

What's the best rock male vocal mic for live sound applications?
DETAILS:
I own a small studio and have a decent collection of studio mics, but I have limited experience with live sound. I have recently started my own band where I am the lead vocalist for the first time. We practice and record in the studio with everything miked and getting an awesome wireless in-ear monitor mix from my portable rig which I intend on taking with us live:
This is a rack case with an O1V, MOTU 896 going to an iBook and 3 Shure PSM200 wireless in-ear monitor transmitters. The band is a trio: Me on vocal and guitar, a drummer/backup vocal, and a bass/backup vocal. (my main studio rig is a G4, O1V96, and a 2408) I set up a preset in the O1V for us, so every mic has its dynamics and EQ set, there's a perfect reverb and slapback delay. So far, everything sounds great, but when we record live, the vocals are a little weak.
When I record overdubbed studio vocals I generally use a Neumann TLM103 with a Focusrite ISA430 channelstrip/AtoD. That sounds super realistic, my rap and RNB clients love it, but for my sound, I wouldn't mind something dirtier. It beats the hell out of what I'm getting in our live recordings though.