0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound - 2 days left

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Preamps: dbx v Avalon

bhunt

I am relatively new to the hard-disk world and am currently looking for a nice preamp to smooth out the goods heading into my MOTU 2408/Digital Performer system. It will be used for tracking vocals and all sorts of instruments.
I am wavering between the Avalon M5 and the dbx 586. The Avalon is no doubt the superior box, but is it worth the additional 500 bucks? Plus the dbx has some eq and limiting control?
Anyone out there have these units?
thanks
October 15, 2001 @04:56pm
David Klausner

Preamps (like mics and compressors and other gear) tend to be designed to be either very transparent, and impart no color of their own, or to have certain color or character. Depending on what you are doing, you may want one or the other (or both!).
The Avalon M5 is one of the cleanest, least colored pre's out there. It is incredibly detailed, and will get more out of your microphones than the vast majority of pre's out there.
The 586 is a piece designed to have a certain character to it. While it is a good unit for the money, it is not in the class of the Avalon. You are also getting 2 channels, 3 band EQ and a peak limiter for your money, but the raw pre of the Avalon is a different animal.
Which one is right for you will depend on a number of things - your budget, the gear you already own (mics, pre's, etc), the gear you plan to own (I always like to think of systems you can grow into, not grow out of), the kind of music you are doing, etc. Perhaps if you provide some more of this information, the folks on the forum can better provide their wisdom (and there is a lot of it out there).