rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

How to trigger other midi devices??

steingra

Hi
I have one final question that I have been dying to get an answer to, and now that I found this forum, I am hoping someone might know : )
What I would like to do is this:
I have a Yamaha DTXpress II eDrum kit, I would like to find out if (1) can I program one of the pads on this drumkit, to play another MIDI device that is hooked up to it. (I guess something like a sound module, or even a MIDI keyboard for that matter)
And if so, how would I do it?
My very basic understanding of MIDI, tells me I can do stuff like this, but I have no experience with it. If I can somehow tell the edrum pad to send a MIDI note to another device, on a certain channel/track, and then have that device respond by playing its associated 'note/sound'
That sounds like fun to me : )
Or what if I had 2 other devices hooked/chained together via MIDI cables.
Thanks for any input on this subject.
June 21, 2003 @12:55pm
mpcpro

Originally posted by steingra
Hi
I have one final question that I have been dying to get an answer to, and now that I found this forum, I am hoping someone might know : )
What I would like to do is this:
I have a Yamaha DTXpress II eDrum kit, I would like to find out if (1) can I program one of the pads on this drumkit, to play another MIDI device that is hooked up to it. (I guess something like a sound module, or even a MIDI keyboard for that matter)
And if so, how would I do it?