We Love Gear Sale
Sweetwater Forums

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Tube amp advice

kidfixer

Decided I wanted to jump into the world of tube amplification, and I really want a head (versus a combo) so I can experiment with different cabinet configurations...however, I'm not a performing musician so I dont need anything large enough to gig with.
I mainly play 80's rock (Judas Priest, Scorpions, Van Halen, etc), but want something that has a sweet clean (i.e. David Gilmour) sound as well.
Here are some amps I found in my price range, would really like some feedback from anyone who has some experience with these and may be able to steer me in the right direction.
Orange Amplifiers DA15H Dark Terror 15
Hughes & Kettner Tubemeister 18
Marshall Haze MHZ15
Hayden Mini-MoFo
Egnater Tweaker 15W
Jet City JCA22H
Ibanez TSA15H Tube Screamer
Unfortunately, the local music shop only had one of the seven listed (the H&K) which I liked very much (they also had the "Tiny Terror", but not sure if it sounds different from the Dark).
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
March 31, 2012 @09:53am
Burtonibanez9