0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

On Stage Monitor mixing

rickkyb

I am new to live sound mixing and now I need help here is what I have
5 piece band everyone sings we need to have an individual monitor mix for each player. equipment is Yamaha MG166cx mixer Yamaha Power amp for FOH (2 15's with horns) and 2 powered subs there is plenty of power to everything. My biggest problem is not having enough sends to create seperate mix's but I do have groups on the board, that I have no clue on how to use Question is there a book that anyone can recommend that will teach and show how to hook this equipment up and show uses for the groups ?
at this point I use aux 1 for monitors aux 2 for the powered subs and aux 3 (effects)
unfortunately the manuals are terrible and I'm suffering from info overload from the net .
thanks for reading this
Rich
September 25, 2011 @12:10am
TimmyP1955

The feed from any channel to a group is post fade - not good for monitors. You need a mixer with 5 pre-fade auxes. Or just scale back your expectations (bands used to play with no monitors at all, then one monitor, then one mix on multiple monitors).
September 25, 2011 @09:28am
rickkyb

Thanks Tim thats kinda the answer I expected and If I can ask if the groups are post fade what is the best application for groups ?
Rich
September 25, 2011 @11:31pm
yeahforbes

Not only are groups post-fader, but only-fader. You have no opportunity to send different levels to the groups and main mix.