0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Not SHURE how to do this

AetherKnight

I'm planning on buying a Shure 55SH Series II, but have never used a non PC-Centric Mic before. I'm loving the Shure due to it's iconic look. (I know, silly me!)
I'm needing to hook it up to a computer with on-board sound card only.
Do I need to pick up any additional hardware like converters or such?
I'll admit I'm a noob at this. So, can anybody please help me out?
February 1, 2011 @08:58pm
TimmyP1955

You need a mic preamp or mixer with a USB output.
I would not buy that mic. Its sound is very mediocre.
February 2, 2011 @04:32am
AetherKnight

In that case, are there any mics with a similar look that have a half way decent sound for less than $300? Mostly going to be running the vocals through phasers and flanges, but would be nice to not sound like a methed out chipmunk to start off with . . . lol.
It's rough trying to start out on a limited budget, AND keep the wife happy with her aesthetics.
February 2, 2011 @05:23am
TimmyP1955

Heil has the Heritage and The Fin. Used Heils often sell for a good price on eBay. http://www.heilsound.com/pro/products/deco.php
On occasion you can find a 55 or a clone that has been retrofitted with a better capsule. It won't sound the same as the mic the capsule came from, but should be better than a 55.
February 2, 2011 @11:30pm
AetherKnight

Thanks, the Heritage seems to be right up her ally, looks wise. (she has this whole Elvis obsession thing going on)
February 3, 2011 @12:24am
Justin

To get it into the computer, you can use this, or a similar USB audio interface with XLR inputs. http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/X2u/