0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

"New" approach to Stereo Backing Tracks, is my idea even possible?

thebladeslastkiss

Ok so I've got alot of good advice on this site just reading, but this is my first time posting.
Ive been doing live backing tracks for my band by splitting a stereo signal, click track left, synth track right, left to drummer headphones, right to foh/pa system. Foolproof setup except the synth track is mono. I've been tossing around ideas to get stereo: one by using 3 channels of a surround sound sequence and splitting the outputs in a similar way, another by getting a multi out soundcard and routing the tracks via software.... but another much less expensive idea came to me just now on the crapper and I want to know if you guys think its possible.
What if I take the stereo track, apply a violent comb-filter style eq to each side (one side the inverse eq settings of the other), them mix the stereo tracks to mono. During playback of the MONO source live, could I run the track through two equalizers with the exact same (inverse) settings i first used, pan the eq'd tracks left and right, thereby "extracting" the L and R from the mono?
Am i crazy?
July 30, 2010 @06:29pm
TimOBrien

You can try it, but my first reaction is to answer: Yes.
The KISS principle is: Keep It Simple, Stupid.
Not a slam but the less you do the least problems you'll have.
FOH only needs mono. Keep your click on a separate channel and stay with stereo files.
Last thing you want your audiences doing is getting some weird feed, going "what the HECK is that?" and walking out on you forever....
July 30, 2010 @06:35pm
DAS