0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Pro Tools vs. Digital Performer

wilyathule

I want to buy some DAW software but I'm having a hard time choosing between Digidesign's Pro Tools and MOTU's Digital Performer. Any advice? The plan is to do a lot of MIDI work as well as audio recording.
April 20, 2010 @03:41am
cmchamp

If you do a search on ProTools and Digital Performer, you'll find a number of previous discussions on this topic. I have been using Performer/Digital Performer for the past 24 years or so. In the work I do, which is arrangements for school band, multi-track ensemble recording, on-site recording, etc. I have found no reason to change. Vocal, Instrumental, orchestral, classical, jazz, folk, southern gospel are the types of work I do, and no complaints or reasons to change.
April 20, 2010 @10:41am
Andrew_Malloy

Honestly, there isn't a reason to not have or know both. They have their place, they operate differently, they have vastly different advantages.
That being said, what is important to you?
April 20, 2010 @01:25pm
joelsampson

Try Reaper, free to try for 30 days and only $60 for the license.
www.reaper.fm
May 1, 2010 @12:12am
LASERDOG