0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Roland vs korg vs yamaha

aaron

Hi guys,
I'm only an amateur keyboard player and I need some advice. I am looking for a new keyboard like the korg pa50, roland gw7 or gw8 or the yamaha psr-2100.
I am interested in good quality of tones and sounds especially pianos, strings and organs. I'm not very particular about number of features.
It would be used only for live playing in my church.
I would like to know which keyboard would give the best quality sounds (less distortion etc). I want it to sound good during live performance.
Thanks.
February 20, 2010 @09:33am
Synthologist

Will you be playing along with other musicians?
Are there any pro music stores nearby where you can audition these (and other) keyboards?
February 20, 2010 @03:49pm
aaron

Yes, I will be playing along with drums and a bass guitar.
Unfortunately there are no pro audio stores in my town for me to hear the boards for myself and decide.
I have to decide and order the keyboard directly.
That's why I would like your advice on this matter.
February 21, 2010 @03:49pm
Synthologist

Have you considered something like the Yamaha S70 XS? It's a more professional unit with 76 weighted keys.
Depending on the distance, it would be well worth it for you to drive an hour or two to audition a keyboard. You really want to buy something you feel comfortable with...
By the way--a few of the keyboards you listed have been discontinued, so unless you prefer buying used, they would no longer be available.
February 22, 2010 @07:31pm
miket156