We Love Gear Sale
Sweetwater Forums

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

What does an "audioboxUsb" do?

mhagstad

I went to Sweetwater and told them I wanted to record my dp onto my computer to use as feedback, and maybe someday send recordings to family.
I'm a 63 yo dp beginner with virtually no saavy about computers.
The nice man said that what I really needed was an Audiobox usb (all I had intended to buy were some cables). So that's what I got.
I have been wrestling with this thing for a month or so now. I have no idea what its even supposed to do, so I have do idea if its doing it. There were no instructions other than a large diagram of various things to plug into it.
The software included(which seemed to be what the "nice man" was mostly enthusiastic about) is not the software that is advertized on the box nor that for which instructions were provided (its StudioOne instead of Cubase LE4).
So what does an AudioboxUsb actually do? Anything? I'm hoping its something really good, and related to recording using my computer. But I've found free software that lets me do that by hooking my board to the computer directly. I went to Radio Shack and got the cables I needed.
Incidentally, the very large StudioOne software package managed to earn me a "blue screen of death" twice so far when I was trying to figure out what it does. So I don't fool with that anymore. I suspect that my computer, like me, is too old to handle this stuff, given its specs.
Any suggestions (well, polite ones anyway) would be appreciated.
October 29, 2009 @04:12am
Justin

The AudioBox USB is an audio interface.