0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

N00b here - which DAW software is right for me?

woodman

Hi everybody,
I'm a longtime musician / first time composer and I'm looking to purchase some recording / composition software. Basically what I intend to do is hook up my electronic keyboard to my PC and use the software to generate funky sounds & effects, lay down tracks, and generally put a piece of music together. I also plan on hooking up a mic or two to record vocal or instrumental tracks as well. I've never used any DAW software and I've been reading through these forums, but I don't recognize one from another and I'm as confused as ever.
Given what I intend to achieve (see above), and given that I'm a N00b at this, could you please provide your opinion as to which DAW I should be buying? Cubase? ProTools? Reaper? There seem to be a ton of them out there, and I have no idea what the merits / demerits are of each one. Thanks!!
July 22, 2009 @05:08pm
Andrew_Malloy

Yeah, there are tons of great options. Reaper is great because it is inexpensive, but it does really lack some heavy duty features that you may want later, but it is simple in form.
If you are really looking to compose and do sound design and not really record, take a good look at Reason. It has all of your traditional sounds, plus some crazy synthetic sounds plus all the sound design tools you could need. The downside is that it doesn't do recording in the traditional sense. They are releasing Record to be the companion piece for it that would cover that aspect if that is what you feel you need.