0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Recording death metal / metalcore

yeahforbes

I've got a band that wants to record in my studio and it's a genre that I have very little knowledge in: death metal, metalcore, collectively deathcore I suppose. I plan on asking for sample CDs that represent the type of sound they're trying to achieve, but I figured I may as well ask all you fine folks about particular techniques. I'm certain that the kick drum needs to be just right, so I'll have multiple types of microphones on it for low end, transient click, all that. Sound replacement might get the sound they want if the tracked sounds don't. Maybe a dynamic mic for vocals, but I'll figure that out through auditioning during the session. At this time I don't have a ribbon.
I have plenty of experience with other modern rock styles so I've got a lot of bases covered, but maybe there are tricks that have proven to be de-facto standards for achieving the sounds of today's deathcore, and I wouldn't know what they are.
Thanks for the help
December 17, 2008 @03:13am
Smithcok

For a lot of bands, be ready to bust out some distortion unit on the vocals (whether it is Sansamp, a tape sat, even re-amping through a guitar amp), especially if they have a screamer.
SM7B has always been a workhorse mic on metal bands for me.
Samples on drums (not necessarily replacing, but perhaps in addition to the normal drums) are a likely event. Get ready to edit hard core, even if the band is super tight. The status quo is often to have an extremely well timed groove.