0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Good electric keyboards for beginner piano students

pianocat

I am a piano teacher who has always taught on upright or grand pianos. Lately I have received calls from prospective students who want to buy an electric keyboard before they invest in an acoustic instruments. Any suggestions for good electric keyboards?
November 18, 2008 @12:26am
MoodyBluesKeys

I don't know your location (which would be of interest only in that some products are not available everywhere), but:
I am a piano student who uses an electronic keyboard. For that matter, my instructor (who is a concert pianist) now has both an acoustic and electronic in his studio. He uses an electronic at home - since he is single, living in an apartment, and it is impossible for him to play an acoutic without complaint from others in the apartment building. I helped him in obtaining the instrument he uses, which is a Yamaha Nocturne. His comment is that it is not ideal, he still needs to go to a local church and use their Steinway for the last preparation, but it is good enough to carry him 90% of the way.