rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

best keyboard for beat making-hip-hop

jadetheartist

Hello,
I am an aspiring musician interested in buying a high-quality keyboard for making demo quality tracks in hip-hop music.
I have a m-audio axiom 25 keyboard, but i feel that it is not producing the quality. I am using it with programs like reason and pro tools.
Any suggestions?
August 21, 2008 @09:48pm
mac

Can you be more specific about what you don't like about the Axiom? If you're not happy with the sound of your tracks, the Axiom isn't going to help or hurt since it's just a controller.
-mac
August 21, 2008 @09:53pm
jadetheartist

thanks mac for the reply,
I want to be able to sample, loop, and choose vsts from the keyboard.
Also, Theres somethings i don't know how to do on it, (for example), could i transfer synths/and vsts from reason into its program or controller pad of the Axiom 25 keyboard?
I am new to the midi controller/keyboard so any advice on where to start would be helpful.
August 22, 2008 @05:03pm
mac

It sounds like you are looking for an actual sampler/keyboard.
The Axiom, along with other MIDI controllers, is a set of keys, pads, knobs and faders that transmit MIDI information to a synth or, in your case, virtual instrument. It's purpose is to allow you to play your soft synths and samplers like a physical instrument. All of the processing, sounds and effects reside in the computer. The controller itself has no way to store sounds, etc.