0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Sequencing for a Live Band

haashole

I'm researching the possibility of adding some sequencing to my band, for live situations. Not too extensive, just things like signature keyboard parts that leave a glaring hole when not present.
Can someone please enlighten me as to what a good "minimalist" type setup might be - what I would need? I'm trying to determine if it would be worth the cost/effort.
Thanks!
-John
August 21, 2008 @03:54pm
bobbymars

John I've been sequencing my bands missing parts for twenty years (drummers and bass players kept jumping ship and moving on and I got tired of working in new players . . over the years I have used several synth workstations along side a Roland MC500mkll sequencer and all have served me well . Bringing a lap top to the gig is one avenue . . the real issue is syncing up the sequencer enabling the band to play comfortably in real time . . you must realize that a sequencer becomes the leader and players must adjust . Real train wrecks occur if the band deviates from the sequenced tempo . . so careful attention to the tempo track must be the first and foremost priority . Second , I sequence the drums so following the sequence is less of an issue but for a live drummer to follow the sequencer steps must be taken to insure the drummer can easily follow the sequence . . i.e. some sort of click trk . . count off of songs . .also retards ,time signature changes can be tricky . .also the arrangement becomes fixed so extending or adding measures in solos becomes a thing of the past . . adding the sequenced parts can be very satisfiing in regards to the overall arrangement . . and mixing