0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Do all Gibson and/or Epiphone Les Paul guitars sound the same?

electricbluezebra

I'm just starting out and am looking for an inexpensive Les Paul guitar (which I can only seem to find over the web), but I've been told all guitars sound different.
I can't find any inexpensive lefty Les Paul guitars that I can hear what they sound like (because of course, it's over the web and I've yet to find a site that will play an example of what I'm looking at)
Honestly, I just want a lefty guitar that sounds just like the guitar Mick Ronson played in Slaughter on 10th Avenue which I think was a Gibson Les Paul...
So yeah, is it the brands that make the sound differ or..?
I wanna know what my guitar is gonna sound like before I decide to buy it over the web...
March 18, 2008 @01:13am
jervin

You really, really, really need to play the guitar in order to determine if it right for you. I have bought guitars "in the blind" and I will NEVER do it again. Surely, somewhere near you is a Guitar Center or other similar venue in which you can go to and play some different guitars. If you like a crap shoot, then buy one without playing it.