0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Ideal Metal/Rock Setup

Dejadude

I'm new to this forum so I'll just say hello to everyone here and you sound like you know your stuff pretty well. I'm a beginning guitarist but have a little money to spend and would rather not want to change the equipment I invest my money in in a year or two. So, here comes the question : I have an Ibanez Jem 77. But I need a great amp and effects rack unit or floor unit. My direction is Steve Vai-ish... but I want to be able to get that deep dark crunchy over-driven sound, too. My ideas are : Marshall combo putting out around 100 watts, 2 X 12... linked up to an Eventide Eclipse. Alternatively... a Line 6 AX2 linked with a Roland BOSS GT-5 or GT-6. I want versatility and a killer sound on stage as well as something I can use at home. I would appreciate any opinions.
August 4, 2001 @11:15am
xigaa

A buddy of mine had a carvin stack that had killer distortion. It worked great for a heavy sounding guitar live and in the studio. Otherwise, I think a roland jc-120 with the boss amp modelers or one of the line 6 amp modelers would be a diverse set up.
rock on
August 4, 2001 @01:49pm
R Whittington

Hi Dejadude,