0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Recording a cello

olelion

I am pretty new to recording. I am a cellist and also a member of a string quartet. I am trying to figure out what a good combination of mics would be to record these types of instruments. I also have an interest in recording solid vocals. Currently I own the Rode NT4. It is a fantastic mic. I am wondering what you would recommend as a second mic to compliment it in order to meet the demands of acoustic instruments such as a cello. I am a big fan of Rode microphones but I am certainly open to other brands.
Thanks for your help!
-olelion
April 26, 2007 @05:27pm
Andrew_Malloy

This is really contingent on what you really are willing to spend on the mic. R121 would be heaven on a cello, but it is out of the range of some people.
April 26, 2007 @08:22pm
Son_Of_Kingu

The NT4 has small diaphrams right? You could try a large diaphram on the body and the nt4 on the neck. Might be interesting to mic in mono at the body and stereo at the neck. Never recorded a cello, and honestly my experiance with condensors has been limited to the mxl 770, but I'm getting ready for the rode nt1a, seems they are unrivaled at the price;^]
April 26, 2007 @09:14pm
xstatic